14 Reviews

Super easy and really good. The kids all ate and enjoyed this, too. I used a 26 oz. jar of sauce, 1 lb 6 oz. of leftover homemade meatballs, and omitted the peppers and onions. Used gemelli pasta, the shape of which I figured was close enough to what the recipe called for. This was in the oven in less than 15 minutes and I was out the door to run carpool for a couple of kids' activities. With the time bake feature on my oven, we came home to dinner hot and waiting for us. Definitely a do-over at my house. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama May 08, 2011

This was great. Super easy and my family loved it. I used broken lasagna noodles as I couldnt find the mini ones. Added fresh green pepper and onion. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oster71 September 28, 2009

This is really good!! I read the recipe as stating that I could add the meatballs while they were still in their frozen state. When I went to add the cheese at the 45 minute mark and realized that the center of the casserole was warm-ish at best, I cranked the heat up to 450 and put it back in or 20 minutes. Added the cheese and put the heat back down to 350. Pulled it out when it looked perfect and let it set for 10 minutes. It came out great! I used bowtie pasta (like most of the other reviewers) and italian turkey meatballs. Next time I'll thaw the meatballs (and maybe quarter them as well), but I can't say enough about how satisfyingly EASY this recipe is. When I am rushed or just feeling lazy that extra step of cooking the pasta before assembling the casserole and cooking it again just drives me nuts. Thanks for posting this!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa and Her Pants March 29, 2009

Definitely a keeper! This was so easy and was so good! I had frozen (thawed) homemade meatballs, used a half box of bow tie pasta, home canned sauce, and just chopped up some peppers and onions to throw in. I didn't need as much water because my homemade sauce isn't as thick as commercially made stuff. Thumbs up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Ed January 21, 2009

This was wonderfully easy. I also could not find that malfada noodles, so I used bowties instead. I stirred the noodles into the spagetti sauce/water mixture and then topped that with the meatballs and pepper/onion mix. I let that bake covered for 30 minutes, then stirred everything together to cook 15 minutes more. I only used 1 cup of the mozz cheese and just a sprinkling of parmesan. A great, simple dinner. Next time I will use a more flavorful spagetti sauce, as the one I chose was a bit bland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nickeletta November 24, 2008

This was super yummy. Except for the homemade meatballs & sautéing fresh onions/peppers, I followed the recipe exactly. Family loved it...YaY for a new family favorite. Would be wonderful to serve at a potluck also. Thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cynjen January 15, 2015

How could it get any easier?? And approved by all. even the super picky one (DS). I used broken up lasagne noodles, a veggie pasta sauce, and left out the peppers and onions for the before mentioned picky son. Took like 4 minutes and it was in the oven. Love it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueRidgeMama November 14, 2011

I haven't tried it yet but I must say it looked and smelled delicious. I didn't add the frozen veggies I added fresh. As well, I added about 1/4 cup of sour cream to the sauce and italian seasoning and I didn't have lasagna noodles so I just used spiral noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelB-KY October 06, 2009

This is a really good, simple dish. I had to change a couple of things but don't think that it would have changed the taste outcome at all. I couldn't find the mafalda pasta, so broke up some standard lasagna noodles instead. Since my oven was broken, I did boil the noodles on the stovetop and then put the casserole together in individual serving dishes and microwaved it on the sensor-cook setting until it was hot and bubbly, then added the cheese and let it melt. Thanks Bonnette for a quick and tasty meal. Made for Zaar Stars tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme September 11, 2008

Yum! Great variation on the pasta and meatballs theme. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. February 18, 2008
Meatball Casserole