103 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After reading all the talk about these "pancakes" not turning out right, when in fact that's how they were supposed to be, I had to give them a try. But, I had the advantage of knowing that is how they should be. It was so much fun to watch! The cake rose so high in the oven and then as soon as I took it out, it collapsed in the middle. The crunchy sides stood higher than the middle, which was almost completely flat. I served mine with maple syrup and a sqeeze of lime and it was wonderful. I will be fixing these again because I am imagining the sunken center being filled with berries and then sprinkled with powdered sugar for a beautiful brunch!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphne2002 March 05, 2003

my jaw is on the floor. the only place i've seen dutch babies is the menu @ Minnies in seattle. i've always wanted to make these, thanks for posting the recipe!! btw, these come out like overblown pancakes with a custard middle. very rich and delicious!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melany * December 10, 2002

These are almost identical to a recipe for Oven-baked Pancakes that I've been making for years, but didn't include as many options. I chose the option of honey rather than sugar and baked in a cast-iron skillet, topped with maple syrup. They are fun to watch as they bake. They seem to be trying to 'climb' out of the skillet--rose a good two inches above the edge. The outside turned out slightly crispy (golden brown) and the inside is almost souffle-like. We've always used powdered sugar to top, but I learned I much prefer the maple syrup! DH definitely agreed with me 'cause he went back for seconds, therefore we only had enough for 3 people rather than 4. Thank you for sharing this recipe and the included ideas Mean Chef!!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn February 05, 2003

delicious!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cullinaryjudge March 17, 2003

This is my breakfast of choice in one of my favorite resturants!I usually have to drive 45 minutes for one of these, but no more. It is served with fresh strawberies ,blueberries, bananas, strawberry syrup and whipped cream in one version. The other is served with veggies and cheese filling the center and a little sour cream on the side. I never thought that it would be so easy to make. I had mine with fresh strawberies and alittle strawberry jam. Fantasic!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Earlie862 April 19, 2003

Followed the directions to the letter---PERFECT! Such a nice change from traditional pancakes & very easy to do. Also the topping chices are endless. These make a pretty presentation too.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iron Bloomers March 09, 2003

I must say this is a WOW...Great Mark loves Dutch Babies... Get him eating this and he sure will gain some weight...Thank You so very much. We are still playing with the toppings...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda July 11, 2003

I have been making German pancakes/oven pancakes for years. My husband told me about a recipe his grandmother used to make, "Dutch Babies". His mom gave me a recipe once and it got lost in a move from Seattle to Boise. So one day about 6 months ago i looked up Dutch Babies on Recipezaar to surprise my husband and found that they were my "German pancake". I made this recipe anyway and we loved it! I've been making it ever since and meaning to review but haven't gotten to it til now. The up-side to that is we've tried this recipe with everything from just butter and powdered suger or maple syrup, to blueberry/raspberry syrup. Our favorite is the blueberry/raspberry that i make for my "Very Berry French Toast", posted on this site. Thanks for posting this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** May 26, 2003

Yummy! Easy and fast. I cooked mine in a 12" cast iron skillet. Used about 1.5 tablespoon of butter. Cooked for 20 minutes. It was puffed, brown and ready. Had mine with powder sugar and lime. Also had the maple syrup option. Fresh raspberries went on top. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 October 12, 2013

I'm surprised I haven't reviewed this recipe yet. I have made it several times. I'd never had Dutch Babies before. But my girls and I love them! Just fixed it this morning for my mom who is visiting and she said it's better than regular pancakes. I bake in a cast iron skillet for about 22 minutes. We like it with powdered sugar, berries and real maple syrup on top. Unfortunately, no berries today - out of season. But still great anyway!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 December 28, 2012
Mean's Dutch Babies