Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean's Dutch Babies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean's Dutch Babies

    Average Rating:

    103 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 103

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2003

      After reading all the talk about these "pancakes" not turning out right, when in fact that's how they were supposed to be, I had to give them a try. But, I had the advantage of knowing that is how they should be. It was so much fun to watch! The cake rose so high in the oven and then as soon as I took it out, it collapsed in the middle. The crunchy sides stood higher than the middle, which was almost completely flat. I served mine with maple syrup and a sqeeze of lime and it was wonderful. I will be fixing these again because I am imagining the sunken center being filled with berries and then sprinkled with powdered sugar for a beautiful brunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2002

      my jaw is on the floor. the only place i've seen dutch babies is the menu @ Minnies in seattle. i've always wanted to make these, thanks for posting the recipe!! btw, these come out like overblown pancakes with a custard middle. very rich and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      These are almost identical to a recipe for Oven-baked Pancakes that I've been making for years, but didn't include as many options. I chose the option of honey rather than sugar and baked in a cast-iron skillet, topped with maple syrup. They are fun to watch as they bake. They seem to be trying to 'climb' out of the skillet--rose a good two inches above the edge. The outside turned out slightly crispy (golden brown) and the inside is almost souffle-like. We've always used powdered sugar to top, but I learned I much prefer the maple syrup! DH definitely agreed with me 'cause he went back for seconds, therefore we only had enough for 3 people rather than 4. Thank you for sharing this recipe and the included ideas Mean Chef!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      This is my breakfast of choice in one of my favorite resturants!I usually have to drive 45 minutes for one of these, but no more. It is served with fresh strawberies ,blueberries, bananas, strawberry syrup and whipped cream in one version. The other is served with veggies and cheese filling the center and a little sour cream on the side. I never thought that it would be so easy to make. I had mine with fresh strawberies and alittle strawberry jam. Fantasic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      Followed the directions to the letter---PERFECT! Such a nice change from traditional pancakes & very easy to do. Also the topping chices are endless. These make a pretty presentation too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2003

      I must say this is a WOW...Great Mark loves Dutch Babies... Get him eating this and he sure will gain some weight...Thank You so very much. We are still playing with the toppings...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      I have been making German pancakes/oven pancakes for years. My husband told me about a recipe his grandmother used to make, "Dutch Babies". His mom gave me a recipe once and it got lost in a move from Seattle to Boise. So one day about 6 months ago i looked up Dutch Babies on Recipezaar to surprise my husband and found that they were my "German pancake". I made this recipe anyway and we loved it! I've been making it ever since and meaning to review but haven't gotten to it til now. The up-side to that is we've tried this recipe with everything from just butter and powdered suger or maple syrup, to blueberry/raspberry syrup. Our favorite is the blueberry/raspberry that i make for my "Very Berry French Toast", posted on this site. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      Yummy! Easy and fast. I cooked mine in a 12" cast iron skillet. Used about 1.5 tablespoon of butter. Cooked for 20 minutes. It was puffed, brown and ready. Had mine with powder sugar and lime. Also had the maple syrup option. Fresh raspberries went on top. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      I'm surprised I haven't reviewed this recipe yet. I have made it several times. I'd never had Dutch Babies before. But my girls and I love them! Just fixed it this morning for my mom who is visiting and she said it's better than regular pancakes. I bake in a cast iron skillet for about 22 minutes. We like it with powdered sugar, berries and real maple syrup on top. Unfortunately, no berries today - out of season. But still great anyway!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      We really liked these. I topped ours with strawberries and bananas. We didn't add any syrup or powdered sugar. We didn't need too. Thank you for sharing with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Good! Made as directed with sugar but made batter in the blender. A nice base for fruit or powdered sugar and lemon. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Not sure what I did wrong here. I followed the recipe exactly and while it tasted really good, it didn't rise up over the edges. The whole thing just got puffy. Maybe the skillet wasn't hot enough? In any case, still delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Simple and tasty, two of my favorite things! I did use vanilla-sugar instead of plain sugar and FF milk because that's what I had. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T, topped it with some lemon juice and powdered sugar and yum! My imagination is already going crazy with the many toppings and variations I can try! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      This turned out great. Massively high crispy sides, rich eggy bottom. Looked so good I had to take a picture. To get the high sides make sure your pan is good and hot. I just put the cast iron pan in the oven while it preheats. Drop butter in and pour batter when it's melted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      I made this for my family for breakfast this morning and we all LOVED it! I followed the recipe exactly except that I realized at the last second that I didn't have unsalted butter. I used salted butter and it tasted great anyway. We put maple syrup on it for the kids, and I simmered some frozen berries and reduced them into a compote to use on top for my husband and myself. This was incredibly easy and relatively quick. A definite keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      This was very easy and very yummy! We thought it tasted like french toast. We topped with cinnamon apples.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      So easy and so very yummy. This is a very versatile recipe. I love that you can opt to fill it with fruit or whatever or not at all. I have a sweet tooth so I used brown sugar and added the slightest splash of vanilla to the batter. What a treat. Thank you Kiwidutch for sharing Mean Chef's wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      This is my favorite thing to make for breakfast, especially if I have company. I posted a step-by-step guide, with photos, on my blog: http://lambaround.blogspot.com/2009/03/dutch-babygerman-pancake.html

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Good change of pace for breakfast. Used 3 eggs, with my pan/oven combo it only took about 18 minutes to cook. Thanks Kiwi.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean's Dutch Babies

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.2
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    50%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 225.0 mg
    75%
    Sodium 175.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 11.6 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes