Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2003

      Delicious cookie, I used pecans in place of walnuts (didnt have any) I plan to make these again today and freeze them. Full of chocolate and great cake like texture. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      I also used pecans instead of walnuts. They are easier to come by around here. The cookies are delicious. They are so much better than the typical tollhouse.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      I must say that these cookies are fantastic, even though the recipe itself seems like it's incomplete. It's also kind of difficult for those of us who don't own kitchen scales to figure out the ingredient equivalents (thank goodness for internet conversion charts!!) Difficulties aside, these are the best chocolate chip cookies I've ever had, and they are the only ones I will ever make again! I didn't have any real butter in the house, so I used margarine, and they still came out wonderfully. For anyone who needs conversions, here they are: 1 1/4 cup butter, 2/3 cup each brown and white sugars, 1 1/2 tsp.vanilla, 4 cups flour, 1 1/2 tsp. soda, 3/4 tsp. salt, 2 (12 oz) packages chocolate chips, and just under 1 cup walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      These are absolutely delectable! I have made them MANY times & they always turn out great! If you let them brown in the oven they do come out a little cakey & dry. However, I do not let them brown; rather, I bake them until still slightly moist & pale like Sharon123s picture. (This way, altho they do taste good right out of the oven, they are simply amazing the next day--dense, moist, & chewy--reminds me of a thicker Keebler soft batch cookie). I also like to mold the dough around small or cut-up candy bars (i.e. reeses PB cups, snickers, twix) or small balls of chocolate or PB cookie dough for an extra sumptuous treat. Thanks for the recipe Chef (& thanks for the helpful conversions Trebleclef!)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2003

      We loved these cookies. I say "loved" even though I baked them for Thanksgiving, which is not until tomorrow, because my fiance just couldn't be held back! (I did have a few, too.) I followed the recipe exactly, complete with walnuts as the nut I included. Thanks for yet another wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      I remember Mean Chef from when this site was recipezaar waaaay back when. He always had such awesome recipes and this is one of them. My kids and I have been using this cookie recipe for years. It's wonderful. I miss Meanie! So glad this recipe is still here for all of us to use! *grin*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Perfect perfect perfect! Just what I was trying to do get a puffy chocolate chip cookie! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      This didnt even taste like a chocolate chip cookie. So dry. I needed like a gallon of milk for each cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

    • on May 20, 2007

      Wonderful cookies which held their shape quite well and didn't melt out to flat discs. The texture is quite soft and the walnuts balance out the sweetness perfectly. I followed the recipe exactly and would not change anything for next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      I really liked this recipe! I'm used to making choc.chip cookies that turn out either crisp or crisp outside and chewey inside but this was a totally different texture. It is cake like and so good. I am going to invest in a kitchen scale although I muddled through without one and had good results. I subbed approx. 1/4 of the flour with whole wheat (had a bag and wanted to try it), used dark choc. chips and a mix of pecans and walnuts. I used a tsp. measure for cookies and got about 5 doz. I baked 2 dozen, ate 5 ;} and froze the rest. Thank you for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      I thought that I had made a chocolate chip cookie that was just going to be pleasant, but these things were the most addictive that my family has ever eaten! Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

      Ohh...the dough is good! Taste like what you'd find in ice cream. Baked for about 12 minutes, and got about 5 dozen cookies! P.S.- 1lb. flour is about 4 cups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      I purchased a Soehnle 11 lb capacity scale just so I could make this cookie! I had fun trying to figure out 2/3 lb of butter but must've hit the mark. Delicious. Both were worth it. The cookie dough was delicious. The kids agree. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      Delicious cookies! I made these for the photo swap game. I made half without walnuts, half with. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2005

      These don't last long...awesome. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      These are very simple. I love baking with weight measurements its more accurate. These are a wonderful, cake cookie that come out huge. Thanks for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2005

      made these today and didn't use the margarine and boy they are good.. thanks for the great recipe.. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      This was the first time I've ever made a recipe using weights rather than measurements (yes, I lead a sheltered life!), and I wasn't sure at first, but the results were OUTSTANDING. I sent them to work with my husband, and his coworkers went wild for them. From now on, this will be my only chocolate chip recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      This was the first time I've ever seen my baking disappear! I made a double batch on Good Friday with my daughter and a friend of hers and they had all been eaten by Saturday evening. Great, easy to follow instructions that the girls had no problems understanding. The only change I made was to omit the nuts due to nut allergies, but I'm definitely going to make them again with the walnuts. Thank you for sharing this - it's definitely going to be a keeper in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1961 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 381.2
     
    Calories from Fat 215
    56%
    Total Fat 23.9 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 53.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 166.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 23.6 g
    94%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites