Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chef's Yucatan-Style Chicken, Lime, and Orzo Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's Yucatan-Style Chicken, Lime, and Orzo Soup

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on October 03, 2010

      Very good flavor. Enjoyed it very much. I did have to make a few changes for my taste, but not many and it is because I like very spicy. First, I did saute the onion, peppers, garlic along with some cumin and adobo seasoning (I added some extra seasoning), then added the broth, rotel (instead of a tomato), chicken (roasted chicken I had on hand) and orzo to heat up and cook the orzo. To finish, I added the lime juice and cilantro. I like to add citrus right at the end if possible. To serve it, I topped with some fresh scallionsI It is really a great recipe as is. I just like a bit more seasoning for me personally, but it was really good as is. That was just my personal taste. It was easy and delish. I made it this am ... I wake up very early. I look forward to enjoying a bowl for lunch. 7am is a bit early for it but definitely tasted it and loved it. Will be making again many times. Thx for a great easy recipe. Kim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      DH loves orzo so I knew we would love this. I did it a bit different as I had left over roasted chicken. I cooked the veggies in oil then added the broth, lime juice and cilantro; brought to a boil and cooked the orzo in the broth. When that was almost done I added the chicken just to heat through. Great flavor and easy to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      This is my boss's favorite soup. Everyone who tastes it wants the recipe. I made a few modifications to the original recipe,( after reading other reviews), such as using the canned Rotel tomatoes, cumin, chile in adobo sauce (a must for smokiness) and topped with the green onions. I also added the cooked chicken at the end with the cilantro and lime. This way, the chicken stays juicy, and not stringy or tough(?). Thanks for making me look good with my boss, everyone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      My girl friend and I gobbled this up and I took it for lunch the rest of the week. I used rotisserie chicken for ease, extra lime juice and a couple dashes of cumin (I thought it needed much more seasoning). Loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      I really would give this 3.5 based on our rating system- but decided to round up- because it is good! I modified in the following ways: used 1 less cup of broth, because we like thicker soups, used a teeny bit more orzo, like 1 T, to finish the box, and cooked the orzo in the same pot with everything else. I also added loads of seasonings- cumin, cayenne, adobo. This is really good and healthy--- DH said maybe he'd like less lime. Regardless, it's overall a winner. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      We really liked this recipe - we like spice, so I did add cumin and chili powder. The lime juice and cilantro really make this soup tasty! Will be making again! ( I used leftover rotissery chicken, and it was still wonderful)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      My husband and I both are down with bad colds. This recipe was not only easy to put together but tasted great and really hit the spot for us sickies. It was just spicy enough to clear our stuffed up noses! LOL. I used more broth and added the uncooked orzo after everything came to a boil so we'd have fewer dished to wash. Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      Yes! Simple to prepare (especially if you keep good homemade stock in the freezer), healthy, very tasty. Don't be intimidated by the amount of lime juice, this tastes great! We like it with a small corn tortilla quesadilla on the side for a light dinner. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      This is a real winner. We make this year-round, it's so good. We usually follow the directions pretty faithfully, just adjusting jalape?os and adding Rotel tomatoes for extra kick. However, since we usually make a big pot of this, we usually cook orzo separately and spoon it into the broth; this way, the orzo doesn't end up overlooked and gluey when reheating leftovers. We love the bright flavors of jalape?o and lime in this soup. Pair it with some grilled naan and a glass of chilled Chablis or Chenin Blanc, and it's a great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      So good!! I also made some changes. I threw in some fresh mushrooms and celery with the other veg and added cumin, paprika and chilli powder and cooked the orzo in the broth. Excellent recipe! Thank you for sharing and God bless always.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      DELICIOUS!!! We loved this soup. I sauteed the veggies in a little oil first with some Adobo seasoning then added the broth, a canned of Rotel for the tomatoes then when the broth was boiling I added the orzo cooked that till almost done then added some leftover rotisserie chicken, lime juice and cilantro....makes me hungry for it now. Definately going into my favorites of 2012. Thank you for posting the recipe. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game Jan-June 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      This is pretty good. It would have been bland but I added chili powder, adobo seasoning, and a can of Rotel as suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      I made a vegetarian version of the soup by replacing the chicken with beans and a bit of chopped veggies. Even with the substitution, the original flavors shine through. It's a delicious, quick and easy to make soup that I'll make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      A delicious soup recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      I just made this Yucatan gem, and it is better than I could have ever expected! After reading some reviews, I sauted the onions, garlic, and peppers in chili powder and the individual seasonings included in Adobo Seasoning (I didn't have the Adobo, so I just googled the contents). I like hot foods, so I added a dash of cayenne, but if I had a "do-over," I'd leave it out because the soup is plenty warm without. I used Rotel with Lime and Cilantro (instead of the tomato). Instead of raw chicken, I used leftover Rotisserie. Like mentioned, I added the lime (2 small limes) and cilantro at the very end. VERY EASY AND FAST!!! Wonderful soup for a cold day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      I love this recipe! Has such an interesting flavor. I find myself craving it when the weather turns cooler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      I eat a lot of soup and I absolutely love this recipe. I didn't change much - I did season the chicken heavily with salt, pepper, onion powder, smoked paprika and chipotle powder and I only used one jalapeno. Next time I will use 2. I like a really brothy soup, so next time I will double the recipe and use the same amount of chicken and use Rotel. This goes on the weekly rotation, it's that good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Yum! This was really a tasty soup! I only used 1 jalapeno, and 1/2 a can of mild Rotel tomatoes, since I didn't have a fresh tomato. I also had to use chicken bullion cubes since I didn't have any low sodium broth...(used 4 cubes with 5 cups of water). I put the orzo straight into the soup and let it simmer as other reviewers suggested, which I thought turned out well--it also reduced the liquid quite a bit so I had to add a little extra water at the end. I didn't add the cilantro (personal taste), but I think next time I will at least have some on hand for garnish since my husband loves cilantro!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This may be my favorite soup that I've made this winter (and I make a LOT of soup, so that's saying something). Only real difference I made is that I replaced the orzo with brown rice. As someone who enjoys a little heat in my food, and make lots of "spicy veggie" kinds of soups, I have to say that I though this one was really refreshing that it DIDN'T

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Very interesting and easy to make. We enjoyed trying something new. It seems to be missing some depth, we could not really identify what would make it a total 5 star. Loved the cilantro and lime flavor, very refreshing! Thank you for posting and opening our eyes to a new thing. Great soup to enjoy on a hot summr evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's Yucatan-Style Chicken, Lime, and Orzo Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (522 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.6
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    25%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 54.4 mg
    18%
    Sodium 195.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 29.3 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes