40 Reviews

Very good flavor. Enjoyed it very much. I did have to make a few changes for my taste, but not many and it is because I like very spicy. First, I did saute the onion, peppers, garlic along with some cumin and adobo seasoning (I added some extra seasoning), then added the broth, rotel (instead of a tomato), chicken (roasted chicken I had on hand) and orzo to heat up and cook the orzo. To finish, I added the lime juice and cilantro. I like to add citrus right at the end if possible. To serve it, I topped with some fresh scallionsI It is really a great recipe as is. I just like a bit more seasoning for me personally, but it was really good as is. That was just my personal taste. It was easy and delish. I made it this am ... I wake up very early. I look forward to enjoying a bowl for lunch. 7am is a bit early for it but definitely tasted it and loved it. Will be making again many times. Thx for a great easy recipe. Kim

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook October 03, 2010

DH loves orzo so I knew we would love this. I did it a bit different as I had left over roasted chicken. I cooked the veggies in oil then added the broth, lime juice and cilantro; brought to a boil and cooked the orzo in the broth. When that was almost done I added the chicken just to heat through. Great flavor and easy to do.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound March 12, 2010

This is my boss's favorite soup. Everyone who tastes it wants the recipe. I made a few modifications to the original recipe,( after reading other reviews), such as using the canned Rotel tomatoes, cumin, chile in adobo sauce (a must for smokiness) and topped with the green onions. I also added the cooked chicken at the end with the cilantro and lime. This way, the chicken stays juicy, and not stringy or tough(?). Thanks for making me look good with my boss, everyone.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
che gourmet March 19, 2011

My girl friend and I gobbled this up and I took it for lunch the rest of the week. I used rotisserie chicken for ease, extra lime juice and a couple dashes of cumin (I thought it needed much more seasoning). Loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siren Chef August 24, 2010

I really would give this 3.5 based on our rating system- but decided to round up- because it is good! I modified in the following ways: used 1 less cup of broth, because we like thicker soups, used a teeny bit more orzo, like 1 T, to finish the box, and cooked the orzo in the same pot with everything else. I also added loads of seasonings- cumin, cayenne, adobo. This is really good and healthy--- DH said maybe he'd like less lime. Regardless, it's overall a winner. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM February 02, 2010

We really liked this recipe - we like spice, so I did add cumin and chili powder. The lime juice and cilantro really make this soup tasty! Will be making again! ( I used leftover rotissery chicken, and it was still wonderful)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jb Tyler, TX January 18, 2010

My husband and I both are down with bad colds. This recipe was not only easy to put together but tasted great and really hit the spot for us sickies. It was just spicy enough to clear our stuffed up noses! LOL. I used more broth and added the uncooked orzo after everything came to a boil so we'd have fewer dished to wash. Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle February 15, 2009

Yes! Simple to prepare (especially if you keep good homemade stock in the freezer), healthy, very tasty. Don't be intimidated by the amount of lime juice, this tastes great! We like it with a small corn tortilla quesadilla on the side for a light dinner. A keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeldaz51 October 07, 2013

This is a real winner. We make this year-round, it's so good. We usually follow the directions pretty faithfully, just adjusting jalape?os and adding Rotel tomatoes for extra kick. However, since we usually make a big pot of this, we usually cook orzo separately and spoon it into the broth; this way, the orzo doesn't end up overlooked and gluey when reheating leftovers. We love the bright flavors of jalape?o and lime in this soup. Pair it with some grilled naan and a glass of chilled Chablis or Chenin Blanc, and it's a great meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette November 25, 2012

So good!! I also made some changes. I threw in some fresh mushrooms and celery with the other veg and added cumin, paprika and chilli powder and cooked the orzo in the broth. Excellent recipe! Thank you for sharing and God bless always.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2TSMOM September 14, 2012
Mean Chef's Yucatan-Style Chicken, Lime, and Orzo Soup