Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chef's Steak Au Poivre Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's Steak Au Poivre

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-37 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2007

      This was good, but not outstanding. I was hoping the sauce would be really amazing, but it was just okay. My steaks were cooked perfectly using this method which bumped it up by 1 star for me, but I was hoping for a "wow" dish and what I ended up with was good, not GREAT. Thanks for posting though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      Im retired and live in Costa Rica. Its very hard to find good beef here since most is range fed and the beef is very tough. I have finally found a source for good beef and tried this. After a year without beef this was heaven. Will use again. But dont want to spoil myself by over indulging in beef so am going to space out my beef nights. Thank You, Thank You, Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Prepared this for my wife. Her compliments to the chef were outstanding. So easy to prepare. Thanks newspapergal for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      We were skeptical about cooking a good cut of steak(used thick cut ribeyes)anywhere but on the grill.But, due to an unexpected ice storm, backyard grilling was not an option. We were blown away by this recipe! I followed your written instructions exactly, except that I used a bit of fresh minced garlic,and a Merlot, because that was what I had on hand, and I did'nt want to go out on the frozen roads to go to the market,if I could help it.Thanks for sharing this one, we LOVE it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      Amazing flavor, texture and the cooking times were perfect! The sauce was exceptionally good and was delicious for dipping crusty italian bread in!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      Great Recipe. I used a Grenache Shiraz and the wine was just perfect with the pepper and the steak. The time listed was spot-on and our steaks were full of flavor and perfectly cooked. This is one of those recipes that just makes you look good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      Husband told me it was the best thing I have ever made! Pressed in whole peppercorns, and slid in a couple of slices of garlic into the NY Strip. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      This was part of an excellent anniversary dinner for us. The prep was simple and the result was awesome. We served these incredible steaks with Romaine With Oranges and Pecans, Cauliflower-Leek Bake (1 Point), and Pumpkin Pudding for dessert. It was a great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      These are delicious steaks and I love the detailed advice on how to cook them! I really like preparing steaks this way now! I didn't love the red wine sauce - just not me, but my boyfriend did love it, so I probably will make it again for him! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      More stars should be allowed for this one! Both my husband and I love lots of pepper and this is one perfect way to cook a steak! My trusty cast iron skillet just got another use, too. Thanks from two happy old folks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      YUMMY! I used Sirloin Strip steaks and they turned out so good that DH ate 2! Sis & Bro-in-law joined us & were very impressed. Served with sweet potato fries & peas. This is a keeper recipe for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2005

      Incredible! I made this for DH and I for our Valentine's dinner and we really enjoyed it! I've never been able to make a good steak, but these steaks turned out perfect! I like my steaks medium-well, so I roasted them 5 minutes. I used a California Gamay wine, as that is what I had on hand. Served with baked potatoes, fresh green beans, and a glass of Gamay wine. Delicious! Thanks Meanie for another wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2005

      I has some beautiful sirloin steaks that I used for this recipe, and was a little hesitant to try it, because of the lack of extra seasonings.The taste is only as good as your cut of meat so I was confident of the sirloins and they didn't fail me in that dept.I have never not marinated steak before, so I was pleasantly suprised at the tenderness.The au jus could have been a little bolder, the wine was not very pronounced, only a subtle hint of it.All in all, it is a wonderful method for cooking a steak, one that I will use often when I am not grilling. I Will experiment with some spices next time though. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2005

      Wonderful and perfect steak! We used t-bones so I cooked it a bit longer than indicated in the recipe. We had these with Smoking Ruby Gold Baby Potatoes Smoking Ruby Gold Baby Potatoes and tossed salad with a cake mix heart cake for a wonderful no-stress Valentine's Day dinner. Thanks for sharing this wonderful steak recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      Fabulous. Fabulous. Fabulous. The steak was done exactly to my liking (medium rare) and the sauce is just wonderfully rich and tasty. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2004

      Excellent recipe, thank you so so much.....I absolutely loved this and so did the rest of my family, I used your cognac substitute method and served some fried onions with this and it was just to die for. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      Excellent detailed instructions on how to cook a superb steak. Thank you MEAN CHEF for sharing your recipe and expertise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's Steak Au Poivre

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.9
     
    Calories from Fat 342
    61%
    Total Fat 38.0 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 18.0 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 168.3 mg
    56%
    Sodium 193.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 35.9 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites