Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chef's Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's Sauteed Mushrooms

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2007

      Outstanding! I tried these today and ate them all! It's a good thing my husband hates mushrooms :-) The tip on making sure the carmalization occurs is key to these golden beauties. Thanks for pointing this out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I thought it was very good. I agree with the other comment that the lemon was a little over powering. Next time I make this I'm substituting lemon with soy sauce or not do either one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2003

      My grocer had mushrooms on sale buy 1 get 1 free. I was looking for something different when I read this recipe. I almost didn't click on it because I thought sauteed mushrooms were sauteed mushrooms. No big deal. But was I wrong! These were AWESOME. Carmalizing them is the key. Maybe you should change the name to Carmelized Mushrooms. My only problem was I should have doubled the recipe and used a larger skillet. These went so fast. Make sure you don't stir them so they carmalize. That is the key!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      These mushrooms were a hit! Be careful with the thyme though, some people might find it too much. Other than that, it was great, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2014

      I really liked the lemon in this recipe, it added a tangy flavor to it. I added kale and onions. I didn't have white wine, so I used cherry wine instead. I didn't have fresh thyme or parsley so I used dried, instead. It turned out a great side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      Excellent taste, thanks Mean Chef for posting and thank you Bekah for adopting to pass on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      We loved this recipe. I made this last night to go with our steaks and they were wonderful. I loved the lemon juice and thyme leaves in these. I have always just sauteed them in butter.....no more. Thank you for adopting this recipe and keeping it going.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Oh, yum! I sure miss that man! Bekah, thanks for adopting his recipe. Soooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I registered with this site just to rate this recipe -- bottom line you will not be disappointed!!! I had a large container of sliced baby bellas and these where absolutely to die for with some Christmas Eve Prime Rib. Do not pass this recipe up! The only change I made was to add some diced green onions when I added the butter, gave it some extra color and was fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Yep, this is it - the perfect way to make mushrooms! They were so good and easy too. The carmelizing part was key. I used much less olive oil and butter, dried thyme (1/2 tsp) and red wine. They cooked up brown and beautiful and the taste was fantastic. I can never make sauteed mushrooms any other way now. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Cant' be beat! I would just like to add my 2 cents about the cooking time. The first step isn't clear about how long you are to caramelize the bottoms, it took me about four minutes. After that step I turned the heat down from high to somewhere between medium and medium high. I think leaving the burner on high would have been too much. I also cut down on the butter and oil a little. This was superb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Great classic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      What an excellent recipe. I had 2 lbs of button mushrooms and did not use all of the oil, but still had to drain some to add the other wet ingredients. For the thyme, I used whole sprigs and removed the sprigs after the recipe was completed. I had great reviews from my company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      If you're a mushroom lover, you should definitely try this recipe. Great sauce, easy to make and packed with flavor. Minor changes: I didn't have fresh thyme so I used about 1/2 t. dried, and I used a combo of button and portabella mushrooms. I served them in ramekins with plenty of sauce and put the ramekin right on the plate. We served this with Mustard-Peppercorn Flank Steak and baked potatoes. Thanks - this will be my automatic mushroom recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      This is my 2nd time making them and frankly, we are mushroom eaters and they are absolutely fantastic! The technique makes it, so others...be sure to follow it to the T first! If you want to make changes be sure to do it after you try this method. The only thing I can say is the thyme is a tad too much for us, but 1/4 teaspoon works just fine. Also, the lemon (even though I love it!) is not necessary. Thanks Bekah for adopting and thanks to Mean Chef. I wonder what happened to him...I never got that story!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      So tasty! I'd definitely cut the lemon back a bit, as well as the butter. In fact, I'd reduce the oil and butter by half since I had quite a bit of grease in the bowl after I finished. Of course if you serve these over pasta or rice, that might not be necessary. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      These were awesome! I've made mushrooms before but the method outlined here made all of the difference in flavor and texture. I'll use this method again - the family insisted that I do so!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Made this for my Dad, who loves mushrooms and it was very good. Since I don't cook with wine, I added chicken broth and it still had that wonderful glaze. Two thumbs up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      How good were these mushrooms? We adored these - cooked the full recipe for the 2 of us and we were positively greedy and inhaled the lot. A very different technique - I've always sliced mushrooms and kept them moving when I've sauteed them previously. I did make a couple of changes - cut down the butter and oil to a tablespoon of each, and used red wine rather than white, simply because we were having steak and had a bottle of Merlot open already. We are going to be having these again very soon. Thank you Mean Chef and Bekah for sharing the recipe. It was just a phenomenal recipe, and I'm just about running out of superlatives to describe how much we loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      This really should be re-named "caramelizd mushrooms"!!! It is so different taste wise from your regular sauteed mushrooms... I think this recipe deserves 10 stars!!! I used whole, small, white mushrooms and cut back the oil to 3 TBS and the butter to 2 TBS. I had a really hard time *NOT* stirring the mushrooms, since I love to stir things around!!! They were a beautiful golden brown... I was a little worried about the high heat, thinking they would burn, but they didn't. The only thing I would do different is to add in the garlic after the lemon juice since when I added it in before, it burned a little from the high heat. This way the garlic can still cook out, but just not so rapidly... I also used chicken broth for the wine... glazed the mushrooms just beautifully. Loved them and the 2 of us ate the whole recipe by ourselves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's Sauteed Mushrooms

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.5
     
    Calories from Fat 265
    82%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 22.9 mg
    7%
    Sodium 73.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes