Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chef's Mushroom Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's Mushroom Gravy

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2013

      Really good and simple recipe. After tasting it I thought it needed a little something so I added some thyme and that gave it the flavor I was after. Thanks so much for sharing this great technique, I'll be using it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I made it exactly as written the first time and served it with meatballs. Very good. I made it again the next day but this time I used beef broth instead of vegetable stock. I could not see or taste any difference. Both were excellent. Will be serving this at an upcoming wedding even for 200 guests.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This is by far the easiest, most delicious gravy I've ever made or tasted! It would be great with just about anything. We had roast potatoes and beef tenderloin - but I'd eat it just with fresh bread. I used Portobello's and I didn't use the wine because of hubby's allergy. It's amazing! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2003

      Absolutely wonderful

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      Omg!!! This gravy is absolutely to die for!!!!!!! Made as directed used a cabernet because it was all I had and salted butter - fabulous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      Thanks for an amazing recipe! The flavours are divine! Had a simple steak and chips meal with this gravy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      This was absolutely wonderful! I used beef stock instead of the veg. stock. Had a ton of mushrooms in frig that were "on the brink" of going bad...needed to do something ASAP! Love my steak and hamburgers and thought this would be great to add to "noodle dishes" too! Fabulous taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      I used this recipe more as a guide to make mushroom gravy to serve over leftover turkey meatloaf. A combination of butter and olive oil were used to saute the mushrooms. Since it was being served with turkey chicken stock was used in place of vegetable. The recipe was quick and delicious. Something I will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      A lovely rich flavouved gravy easily made with my pantry staples, we had it served over crumbed sausages & mashed potato. I had to add a little extra flour to thicken but was lovely nonetheless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      Taste wise nothing short of fantastic. I did have little problem getting it to thicken up. I ended up adding maybe 1/8 cup more flour mixed with some flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      Great recipe!!!! I used 2 cups cremini mushrooms sliced, and added 1 cup oyster mushrooms sliced. I heated 2 cups beef stock, red wine and soy sauce, before adding to the mushroom and flour mixture. I found that heating the fluids before adding to butter/flour mixture helps the thickening process, as well as, preventing the taste of flour. I did add a third tablespoon of soy sauce at the very end. I made the gravy earlier in the day, by the time I served it later at night, the flavors were intense!!! I served it with a filet of beef, garlic roasted potatoes and spinach salad. Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Served this for Christmas dinner, but just now getting around to reviewing this recipe. Wow, was it ever good! My MIL brought beef tenderloin for dinner, but I have a DS who is vegetarian, so wanted to give him a gravy option for his mashed potatoes other then the canned stuff (Yuck). Didn't use it all, so when reheated thinned it a bit with water. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Very, very good gravy. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      This is so delicious, I've made it twice in the last two weeks! I use cranberry juice instead of the wine (equal parts) because we never have wine but always have cran juice. I also add a bit more flour because we like thicker gravy. We serve it over baked cube steak and mashed potatoes, and it's a big hit! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      This recipe is VERY good. I made it to pour over pork schnitzel and my guests *really* liked it. I would say to watch out for the saltiness of ihe gravy and it does tend to thicken up quite a bit so be prepared to thin it down with a bit more broth or water or wine. I can't wait to use this gravy over simple mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

    • on February 03, 2010

      Fantastic!!!! I used some substitutes. white wine for red,gravy flour,and beef stock. this gravy was excellent with my grilled flank steak. thanks meanchef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Wow, yummmmy, mmmmmm!! Thanks so much for this! I served this over mashed potatoes and #84509. Without this, the burgers would have been bland, but this put it over the top!! Will be making again. Thanks for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Great recipe!! Turned my plain ground beef patties in something very classy! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      Mmm! Love those mushrooms! I added a dash of garlic powder to this, and served it with baked chicken. I used homemade chicken stock, and should have added some salt. The combination of flavors is really tasty. Made for Jeff's Cook-A-Thon. Thanks for posting this, Jeff, and get well soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's Mushroom Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (323 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.1
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    67%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 34.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 579.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes