Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chef's Meatloaf With Mushroom Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's Meatloaf With Mushroom Gravy

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2010

      Absolutely the best meatloaf recipe ever. I didn't saute the onions and garlic. Just threw everything together and put it in a loafpan as I didn't want to wrap it in the bacon. It took about 1.5 hours to get to the right internal temperature. The gravy was delicious as well. I used beef broth since I used all beef for the meat. Have given the recipe to many others since last weekend and even those that normally hate meatloaf have loved this one. It's on the menu again tonight for us. Will put in different types of mushrooms this time to change it up a bit but we are both salivating waiting for dinner time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      AMAZING!!!! I think my husband fell back in love with me after eating this. The mushroom gravy was fabulous and I will never make gravy with cornstarch again. The only change I would make is to cut back on the thyme. Thank you for a recipe I will continue to make for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      Made this last night - the best meatloaf I ever had. I had to use whole-grain mustard as it was what I had, but the end result was great!

      This will be a regular dish on our table from now on. Thank you Mean Chef and ~Bekah~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      I'm not a big meatloaf fan, but I liked this because it didn't have the traditional ketchup glaze. However, I was not too fond of the gravy. Added some sour cream and it was more to my liking. I used 2.75 lbs. of ground chuck and kept all the seasoning measurements the same and it still had a nice flavor....maybe would be too much if only used 2 lbs of beef???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      This is an awesome recipe!!!!!! I think that next time I will back off the Dijon, will use 2 talbespoons next time we make it. ( just our personal taste) I also made the Mushroom Gravy but we used beef broth. I am going to make the gravy the next time I make a roast it rocked!!!!!!!! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      5 stars for taste. I used a combination of ground pork and extra lean ground beef. I had to add more crushed saltines as the mixture was too wet. Next time I would cut back on the milk and not add the entire cup. I substituted beef stock for the vegetable stock in the sauce, as I had some handy. If I was serving meat loaf to company, this is the recipe I would prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      Awesome! I used a mix of beef, veal and pork. This was an incredible meatloaf and probably the best I'd ever have. I did make gravy from the pan drippings because I did not have mushrooms to make the mushroom gravy. Thanks for posting, I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      I like this better than the tomato based stuff. It was moist and flavorful, but not greasy. I did skip the bacon (sorry, but my expanding rear end does not need any bacon). I used 1/2 ground chuck and 1/2 ground turkey. Otherwise, recipe was made as directed. My husband enjoyed it, the kids of course wouldn't go near it; which means I'll be making it again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      I can only echo the words of my hubby ..... "not bad but definitely not the best meatloaf you've made"! I guess he prefers the regular old tomato stuff. I wasn't able to get veal, so I used 1 1/4 lbs beef & 3/4 lbs pork. I used Tabasco Chipotle Sauce - otherwise, I followed the recipe verbatim. Thanx MC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      Excellent meatloaf-and I hate regular meatloaf! I used ground venison and 2 Tbsp. dried parsley and 1/4 tsp. dried thyme. My hubby ate 3 helpings! The bacon made the loaf attractive and I loved the mushroom gravy! This is a recipe I will make for company. Thank you~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      Hands down the best meatloaf we have ever had..I used salada crackers as we cant get saltines here..I also wrapped in the bacon. Very moist and the flavours are divine, as Shelly stated I also enjoyed the lack of tomato. The mushroom gravy is simple to make and full of flavour..I did however only use 2 cups of stock. Delicious. Still have half the loaf leftover and will make into sandwiches for lunch today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      This turned out moist, tender and very very delicious with a lovely presentation. Apart from omitting parsley and substituting with cilantro, I followed the recipe exactly as stated. As we did not care much for bacon, I used proscuito and served the meatloaf with a mushroom sauce (made my own) and Mashed Potatoes #104098. Thanks for another winning recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2005

      Hands down the best meatloaf I've ever eaten. It's moist, tender and very flavorful. I really enjoyed the lack of tomato product in it. LOL I like the simplicity of this -- it's all about the meat. The mushroom gravy is a wonderful addition to it. YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's Meatloaf With Mushroom Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (358 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1096.9
     
    Calories from Fat 728
    66%
    Total Fat 80.9 g
    124%
    Saturated Fat 32.0 g
    160%
    Cholesterol 324.8 mg
    108%
    Sodium 3301.9 mg
    137%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 59.3 g
    118%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes