49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

"Awesome!" That was the comment I heard around the Thanksgiving table from my family members. I did not tell anyone that my husband and I brined the turkey because we wanted to hear unbiased opinions. We were really nervous about trying this without a trial run first, but with all the positive reviews we just forged ahead. Needless to say, we were extremely happy with the results. Truly the most moist and flavorfully turkey we have ever eaten. We brined the 25 pound bird for three days and dried it in the frig overnight. It came out of the oven a beautiful, picture-perfect dark brown. We plan to use this recipe in the future because we cook turkey at least four or five times a year. Thank you Mean Chef for making our Thanksgiving dinner a smashing success!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ugogirl December 01, 2005

I've used this brine 3 times now, always perfect. I just have a couple of tips. When I'm in a rush and have no time to allow the brine to cool, I add only 1 quart of water and dissolve the sugar and salt, then add 2 quarts of crushed ice and stir until cold. As most of my large stockpots are aluminum, I simply put a clean trash bag into the pot and pour in the brine. I then close the bag tightly around the turkey and it makes it quite simple to turn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unbaked November 25, 2005

Wow, I've never had turkey that was so tender and moist. Thank you very much! I brined two turkeys in the brine for 2.5 days... served them for thanksgiving. Everyone loved them! Thanks a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum November 24, 2005

I loved this! I tried it with chicken--wanted to try it out first before using it for the big bird on Thanksgiving. WOW! It was so flavorful and moist. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
capt_tripp86 November 13, 2005

Perfect brine...soaked chicken in it over night and placed it in my smoker for 4 1/2 hours. Turned out excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
It's all good September 06, 2005

WOW!! O.K., honestly? While I was brining, I really didn't think this would make such a big difference to the turkey. Boy, was I wrong! This was the most amazing, moist turkey I have ever served! We served 17 people, and it got rave reviews from all. We added lots of sage to the brine, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. What a winning recipe. I will NEVER make another turkey without brining it first. Thanks Mean Chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ March 28, 2005

I cannot believe I took so long to rate this. Used this for turkey day and OH MY! What rave reviews. Everyone said (20 guests) said it was the BEST turkey they had ever had. YIPEEE!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shancy February 18, 2005

This was one of the best brines we've had! The turkey was so moist and flavorful but not at all sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morti December 30, 2004

This recipe is so aromatic! As it was simmering and then cooling, everyone in the house kept commenting on the great smells. It is also a fun recipe. I enjoyed checking on the brining turkey every day for 3 days when I turned it in its zip-lock bag. I also dried the turkey and left it uncovered for about 5 hours before cooking. Will definitely keep using this recipe. Thanks for sharing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnetteMarie December 28, 2004

This was my first attempt at brining a turkey, and it was a huge success. I grew up eating (and hating) dry turkey. To prevent this, I started using those oven bags but i haven't been happy with the result (tender sure, but not too pretty!). I never knew about brining until i read about it here at RecipeZaar, now you can call me a convert! The meat was perfect, juicy and tender, and the bird was beautiful. I brined for 2 days. It did taste different than a "plain" bird, I thought it had a vague teriyaki flavour (particularly the wings and skin), but that might be because i know what went into it - no one else at the table made that observation, only that it tasted different AND BETTER than "normal". 5 stars for introducting me to brining concept in general, and 5 more for the tasty combination of flavours in this particular recipe, makes this a 10-star in my book!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
incdeb December 28, 2004
Mean Chef's Maple Brine