Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chef's Maple Brine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's Maple Brine

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2005

      "Awesome!" That was the comment I heard around the Thanksgiving table from my family members. I did not tell anyone that my husband and I brined the turkey because we wanted to hear unbiased opinions. We were really nervous about trying this without a trial run first, but with all the positive reviews we just forged ahead. Needless to say, we were extremely happy with the results. Truly the most moist and flavorfully turkey we have ever eaten. We brined the 25 pound bird for three days and dried it in the frig overnight. It came out of the oven a beautiful, picture-perfect dark brown. We plan to use this recipe in the future because we cook turkey at least four or five times a year. Thank you Mean Chef for making our Thanksgiving dinner a smashing success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      I've used this brine 3 times now, always perfect. I just have a couple of tips. When I'm in a rush and have no time to allow the brine to cool, I add only 1 quart of water and dissolve the sugar and salt, then add 2 quarts of crushed ice and stir until cold. As most of my large stockpots are aluminum, I simply put a clean trash bag into the pot and pour in the brine. I then close the bag tightly around the turkey and it makes it quite simple to turn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      Wow, I've never had turkey that was so tender and moist. Thank you very much! I brined two turkeys in the brine for 2.5 days... served them for thanksgiving. Everyone loved them! Thanks a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      I loved this! I tried it with chicken--wanted to try it out first before using it for the big bird on Thanksgiving. WOW! It was so flavorful and moist. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      Perfect brine...soaked chicken in it over night and placed it in my smoker for 4 1/2 hours. Turned out excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      WOW!! O.K., honestly? While I was brining, I really didn't think this would make such a big difference to the turkey. Boy, was I wrong! This was the most amazing, moist turkey I have ever served! We served 17 people, and it got rave reviews from all. We added lots of sage to the brine, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. What a winning recipe. I will NEVER make another turkey without brining it first. Thanks Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      I cannot believe I took so long to rate this. Used this for turkey day and OH MY! What rave reviews. Everyone said (20 guests) said it was the BEST turkey they had ever had. YIPEEE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      This was one of the best brines we've had! The turkey was so moist and flavorful but not at all sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      This recipe is so aromatic! As it was simmering and then cooling, everyone in the house kept commenting on the great smells. It is also a fun recipe. I enjoyed checking on the brining turkey every day for 3 days when I turned it in its zip-lock bag. I also dried the turkey and left it uncovered for about 5 hours before cooking. Will definitely keep using this recipe. Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      This was my first attempt at brining a turkey, and it was a huge success. I grew up eating (and hating) dry turkey. To prevent this, I started using those oven bags but i haven't been happy with the result (tender sure, but not too pretty!). I never knew about brining until i read about it here at RecipeZaar, now you can call me a convert! The meat was perfect, juicy and tender, and the bird was beautiful. I brined for 2 days. It did taste different than a "plain" bird, I thought it had a vague teriyaki flavour (particularly the wings and skin), but that might be because i know what went into it - no one else at the table made that observation, only that it tasted different AND BETTER than "normal". 5 stars for introducting me to brining concept in general, and 5 more for the tasty combination of flavours in this particular recipe, makes this a 10-star in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      Mean, thank you sooo much for your help with my Christmas turkey. This made a beautiful, moist, yummy bird. Leftovers are great too! I got rave reviews from my guests. DH said to give you his highest regards. This turkey ain't like g'ma used to make!!!! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      Raves, raves, raves!! "Finally, a turkey which the breast meat actually tastes good and not like cardboard". Had a 9 pounder and half was gone despite having lots of other foods. Didn't have Kosher salt so at your suggestion used 1/2 cup sea salt. Used 1.5 tbs of dried Thyme. Brined for a day (next time, it'll be at least 2), dried in fridge for 5 hours. I think my family's Christmas dinner this year is a hit! Can't wait to try other brining recipes!! It may seem like a lot of hard work but I don't think so. Thanks, MC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      Last Christmas I tried Means Apple Brine so felt it only fair to try this one this year. This makes for such a lovely tasting turkey, I had a 10 lb turkey and let him have his bath for 3 days. Brining and not stuffing a turkey is the only way I'll ever cook turkey again. Thanks Mean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      Remarkable brine with sensational flavor. Prepared an 18 pound fresh turkey, brining for 2 days, and the results were perfection. The turkey was as moist and tastey as any the 10 people served it had ever had...that should equal 50 stars! Thanks, once again, for a magnificent recipe along with exacting directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      I used this brine recipe for a contest at my school. Instead of an entire chicken, I used cutlets. Many of the judges commented that they were flavorful and very tender. It's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      Too bad the scale only goes to 5 stars, because this brining recipe deserves far more. The flavor was astounding and made unbelievable gravy. We ran out, and who runs out of gravy?! I made a 25 lb bird (doubled the brine) and there was none left at the end of the night - and there were only 6 people at dinner! The flavor was so good, in fact, that the turkey needed NOTHING else done to it once it was in the oven. No basting, no coddling. No babysitting! Mean Chef, you rule.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      Went over great. Based on prior brining advice, it only stayed in for about 9 hours -- much to my chagrin when I checked back and saw how much time the recipe really called for (!). The final product was very lightly but pleasantly flavored, exceptionally moist, and a gorgeous deep mahogany. Will use this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2004

      Makes for an excellent Thanksgiving turkey. It was moist and flavorful though didn't have a sweet flavor to it as some may fear due to the brown sugar and maple syrup (I for one don't want my turkey sweet). Also browns to a gorgeous mahogany color that belongs in a magazine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      This was my first experience with brining the holiday turkey. I had a hard time deciding which brine recipe to use, but decided to use this one because I liked the flavors of the ingredients. I wasn't sure what to expect, but WOW! The flavor, tenderness, & moistness are just amazing. I won't go back to serving a plain turkey ever. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      Absolutely to die for! I can only echo what others have said. I made this for some friends tonight as practice for Thanksgiving dinner and it was devoured. (I made a chicken, not turkey.) I brined it for 48 hours and it went so perfectly! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's Maple Brine

    Serving Size: 1 (4575 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3147.7
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    63%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 109319.7 mg
    4554%
    Total Carbohydrate 754.7 g
    251%
    Dietary Fiber 10.6 g
    42%
    Sugars 627.1 g
    2508%
    Protein 59.6 g
    119%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites