50 Reviews

this was the first time I brined a turkey. Everyone raved how moist the it was. I'll probably do my Thanksgiving turkey this way from now on. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntDee November 26, 2006

Bekah, thanx for recovering this lost recipe from Mean Chef! His recipes ahve never let me down before and they still haven't! I have never tasted a turkey like this before! I've been disappointed in brines int eh past and almost have given up on them. As a lat ditch effort and because Mean Chefs name is attached, I tried this recipe and it turned out awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuneDawg November 25, 2006

Thank you for making me a star for my first Thanksgiing as hostess. Never will I make a turkey without brining it first. Wow. I am converted big time. I have always been the kind to grab a big piece of ham and a few slivers of turkey just to say I had some. Not anymore. I don't care how moist people say a turkey may get with various other methods, this one takes the cake. Every last piece was full of flavor and every bite moist. Leftovers are going to be awesome. Even the kids were picking at it before it left the roasting pan. I stuffed the cavity with carrots, onion, bay leaves, and garlic for added flavor and infused with butter. Definately the best turkey I have ever had and I am impressed with myself. Thank you so much for introducing me to brine and I am so glad I came across this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrystalRN November 23, 2006

This was my first year to be the hostess for the entire family at Thanksgiving. I wanted something to really "wow" them - and this didn't let me down. My mother said it was the best turkey she had ever tasted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kycook September 22, 2006

We used this for Turkey Day. OH YUM. I left the turkey out in the open air of the fridg., for the last 6 hours to dry the skin out even more for extra crispness. Works for chicken too. I also use this in a smaller quanity and less time, obviously, for SHRIMP (cocktail). I will be posting a recipe for this using your number as the brine.. soon. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amie in Arizona June 02, 2006

MC...I don't know who you are, but between you and Richard, you boys ALWAYS make me look so darned good! I used this on a smoked ham, and it rocked! This one's a keeper! Keep em coming!!!! LA :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L.A. Stewart - way upstate N.Y. March 06, 2006

Out of all the brines I've tried for smoking poultry, this is so far the best. Thank you! I made a point to use REAL maple syrup. Followed the recipe exactly for a 4.5 pound fresh chicken. The measurements yeilded more than enough brine. Would have been enough for up to a 10 pound bird. I brine my meat in an insulated Igloo Water Cooler. Dust the bird with some sort of poultry rub and then into the cooker.Works great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wisslbritches February 19, 2006

Wow! This is so wonderful - I loved the maple syrup. It is more complicated than the brine I usually use, but for a special occasion, it's well worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch January 17, 2006

I have to echo everyone else's responses. This turkey was a hit! Thanks for making me look good in the eyes of my guests this past Thanksgiving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heyyall January 10, 2006

Wonderful recipe! We took a chance based on the great reviews and brined a 16 pound turkey for our Christmas dinner. We put the brine and turkey in a turkey roasting bag and then set it in a canner for 3 days. We let the turkey dry out in the refrigerator overnight as suggested. The result was an extremely moist, delicious turkey that got rave reviews from a picky family. Thank you Mean Chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nanna #2 December 28, 2005
Mean Chef's Maple Brine