Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chef's French Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's French Fries

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2008

      The only right way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Oh my heavens! Best homemade fries I have ever made or tasted. I made these tonight and had no choice but to cook mine in actual lard because I didn't have enough oil or Crisco around and I wasn't going to the store just for that, so I am sure that these were most unhealthy for us. But it is not a usual thing for us to have fried foods, so it wont be a problem (I hope anyway). Next time we decide to have fries, I will be sure to have something a bit more healthy to cook them in. Anyway, great method for cooking fries. I was sort of wishing that I had two separate pots for cooking though, because with 3 full size boys plus two toddlers and myself, I needed a bunch of them and waiting for the oil to get hot seemed to take a long time, especially to my boys who acted like they hadn't eaten all day long. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      These are really, really tasty fires!! This is pretty much the same way they do fries at IN&Out Burger and they are too easy to make!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      Looks about the same as versions of "Belgian" fries recipes floating around the internet. I made the exact same recipe a couple weeks ago, blanching the fries in the oil and letting them sweat before a second frying is a great way to make more flavorful, crispy fries. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      We really enjoyed these. A little bit time consuming, but worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      Another 5 stars from me, Excellent! Thanks ~Bekah~....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Awesome! But so unfair, after 20yrs w/DH, I get an awesome and it's not my recipe, it's your recipe! What can I say but these are truly good. It is a little bit of a process, BUT, the results are incredible. Will make again and again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      Very delicious. I had to cut them by hand, and I didn't have a thermometer, so I kinda winged the temperatures, but it came out perfectly. I topped mine with cheese and bacon bits and ate them with Ranch dressing. Very good snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      I had trouble getting the right temerpature without having a deep fry thermometer. So my cooking times were a bit longer. However the fries still tasted good. But they only stayed crunchy for a few minutes after cooking. To add extra zest I coated the fries with dry Italian dressing mix by placing a SMALL amount in a paper bag, adding fries then shaking. We didn't even need ketchup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      These are amazing, being making them like this for years. Just the best. Soaking before frying makes all the difference. If you refrigerate for 1 hour prior to frying they are even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      Great Fries! My husband tried to make french fries in the past and it just didn't work. We didn't know until today that they needed to be soaked first in order to get the desired result. "Just like how In-N-Out cooks them" is all my husband could say (which is a great compliment). Finally a way to make homemade french fries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      These were amazing! They came out so crunchy, yet so soft in the middle! I loved them and so did my family. My mum kept asking what I had done differently, compared to what she did and I refused to tell her. It's my secret recipe now! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      Oh Meanie, you are truly magnificent! These were perfect. I left the skins on and fried them in batches, but because I have 5 kids I had to do a lot of potatoes. So I fried them twice, as directed, drained them on the paper sack, then stuck them on a cookie sheet in the oven at 350ยบ. These fries were wonderful dipped in fry sauce. (Mayo & Ketchup mixed) My kids devoured the entire bowl full. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      Sorry I cant rate this, cos mine came out very very very very soggy....I must have done something wrong...sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Best homemade fries I have ever had! My family just loved it! Will make again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2005

      Absolutely the best french fries ever. I won't be buying frozen anymore.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      This is the absolute BEST way to make fries! I really didn't think it would make such a big difference....boy was I wrong! I will never make them another way. Thanks for a winner Meanie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      This was the first time I made french fries. . .AND IT WAS GREAT!! I will most certainly use this recipe again!! Thanks MEAN CHEF!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2005

      AWESOME! Is the word :) thanks for the tip about putting the taters ice water. That is the trick! Thanks for sharing Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      These came out beautifully. They were perfect in every way. I used garlic salt to season mine, and they were delicious. I didn't change a thing to this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's French Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 131.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    25%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites