Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chef's French Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's French Fries

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2003

      These are the best ~ but I left the skins on ! Just washed them & had to slice by hand ~ I don't have a french fry cutter ~ but it turned out fine ! Once you make these you won't want those store boughten one !!~POKER~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      Very good recipe. However, I have made them twice and the second time I made a small adjustment and it made a big difference. After the potatoes were dried and ready to fry I tossed them with 2 tbs of corn starch. Then did the first deep fry. It gave them a much better golden brown and made them more crispy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      Made sweet potato fries using this method... Awesome! Perfect crisp outside, creamy inside. Yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      This was a really nice guideline. I've never made fries at home before, and I'm starting to wonder why! My fries turned out soft and tasty in the middle and had a nice crisp on the outside. YUM! Soo much better than any bag of frozen fries from the store.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      An awesome way to cook french fries! I sprinkled them with Seasoning Salt for French Fries, Home Fries, and Fried Potatoes for a real flavor sensation. We loved the fries!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      These fries are awesome! Nice and crispy on the outside and tender on the inside, just like we like them! Sprinkled with some Malt vinegar we enjoyed them so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Ore-Ida watch out!! Another 5++ stars from here! I'm certain I'm showing my age but I remember my mom making fries like these before they were available in the freezer case. I remember her frying the taters twice and I'm sure she used lard because it was the only grease I saw in our house back then. I followed the recipe exactly using peanut oil and my fry baby with hand-cut russets and the temperatures called for. They were perfect with my grilled steak and worth the extra time and effort!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      I had an urge to make greasy french fries for my family last night to go along with plain old hamburgers. THESE WERE WONDERFUL!!! I don't have a fry cutter so cut them as uniformly as possible lengthwise with a knife. I also don't have a deep fryer OR a temp taker so I just filled my deep skillet half full with the vegetable oil on med-high for the first 3 minutes of frying... and removed them with metal tongs. Then turned the temp up almost to high for the last 4 minutes. They came out crispy and perfect. My family devoured them... and they said they felt like they were at a burger joint. My 9 year old thinks I am the best french fry maker ever now!!! Thanks a bunch!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      These are the best! Had to cut the taters by hand. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. This will be a rare snack because of the oil, but man, are they tasty. I think the only thing I will change is to cut my fries a little thicker. I'll try a couple different seasoning blends for extra flavor and variety.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

      I can't believe how good these are. I too left the skins on and cut them up with a mandolin slicer then used my deep fryer. These are the best fries my husband and I have had (and trust me we have had a lot)! Better than any restaurant and WAY better than the frozen ones! Highly recommened!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2003

      I cut them by hand as well. The extra time it takes to double fry them is totally worth it. My sister said they were the best fries she ever had, and I tend to agree. I don't have a deep fry thermometer so for the first round I used medium high heat and removed the fries when they just started to color. The second round I used high heat and removed then when they were golden brown. Seasoned with kosher salt. Excellent fries! Thanks Meanie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      This is how I have been making fries for years. I leave the skin on and hand cut them but other than that it's the same thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Thank you for a go-to french fry recipe!!! I've searched for a very long time. This is it! Something that can be done in time for that spur of the moment decision to have french fries, GREAT fries!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

    • on September 12, 2011

      Love the crunchiness of these fries. Just like we like them! When I poured on some malt vinegar they didn't get mushy because they were nice and crisp!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      Really good. The best homemade fries I've ever made. A lot of effort though especially without a fry cutter but I would make them this way again if I was looking for authentic French fries. I used canola oil to fry them in a pot. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Very easy. We liked. Will be making again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Great- kids said they tasted just like store-bought, if not better. I'll def be making homemade fries from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Great fries! I also hand cut the potatoes and used an electric deep fryer. Times were right on and the fries were light golden brown and crispy. I drained them on a rack instead of the paper bag. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      This is the BEST method for making homemade fries. I used red potatoes and left the skins on and cut them into chunks and they came out light and crispy! Once you make your own at home, you won't even want them from anywhere else. This recipe and method is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's French Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 131.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    25%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes