Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chef's Dried Cherry Corn Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's Dried Cherry Corn Muffins

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2004

      Oh yum! These are so good! They are perfect in my book. I'm a self confessed muffin junkie. I LOVE muffins! And these are right up there with my favorites. Very quick and easy to put together, great for a morning treat. The batter generously filled 12 muffin cups, and 2 ramekins as well. The ones in the muffin pan took exactly 20 minutes, and the 2 ramekins took about 25 minutes. They came out of the pan perfectly, I never use muffin papers, just always grease the pan. Very, very good muffins that the whole family loves! Thanks Mean!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      These muffins are AMAZING! I love how the cornmeal contrasts with the tart sweetness of the cherries. I had enough batter left over after making 12 regular sized muffins to make several mini muffins for the kids. These will be regulars at our house. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      The flavor was really good. I guess you have to be more talented than me to make a Mean Chef recipe, however. The most important point is that a 12-cup muffin tin is *not* a standard muffin tin. A standard tin holds 1/2 c. batter per muffin (meaning than a 12 muffin tin is a 6-cup tin). I didn't really make not of this as I was making this until the muffins spilled over in the oven. There was no failsafe in step 10 because the recipe doesn't state how full the cups should be. I was also frustrated that the recipe doesn't say how long to bake, but my gigantor muffins were done in 23 minutes. I also had two other issues that were entirely my fault and, oddly, didn't seem to affect the flavor or results. 1. I didn't have enough cornmeal left. I didn't measure because I knew it was less than a cup, but it was probably about 3/4 cup. 2. The highest fat milk I had in the house was 2%.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Really good! I used dried cranberries and oil for the melted butter. After reading other reviews, I made 2/3 of a batch which filled my muffin tin perfectly. I baked them about 17 minutes (but my oven runs hot).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      These muffins are sooo yummy!! My 16 yr old daughter couldn't quit eating them. I would never have thought of putting dried cherries in a corn muffin, but it is very nice. These muffins go great with a nice spicy bowl of soup or chili, the sweetness is a perfect contrast to a spicy dish. I used whole wheat pastry flour when I made mine, so mine weren't quite as yellow as the picture, but they were still very pretty. Thanks for the post!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      Dried cherries are a nice addition to corn muffins - thanks Bliss.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2004

      These have a very good flavor, not too sweet and the cherries give just the right touch. Although I could remove these from the pan without problems, the texture tended to crumble and fall apart when handling, which was a little messy and had me picking at crumbs like a bird. Also, I found this recipe would make 1 1/2-2 dozen normal sized muffins, so if someone doesn't have the extra pan or time, they might consider cutting the recipe in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2004

      These are so yummy! I followed the recipe exactly, filled my muffin cups full and baked about 21 minutes or so, resulting in beautiful crowned muffins. I also had batter left over and made some mini-muffins with the extra. I will definitely make these again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2004

      These muffins were a perfect treat after a Saturday morning spent walking around the neighbourhood, checking out yard sales. They were both fast and easy to mix up, and went very well with a cup of tea and some cheddar cheese. I took a cue from the other reviewers, who indicated this made a lot of batter: I used just one-third of this recipe, and it filled a 6-cup muffin pan completely. I had to give the muffins a few extra minutes, but after the longer cooking time they were perfect. The only changes I made, besides cutting the ingredients back, were both out of necessity: I used canola oil instead of the melted butter (I'm out of butter--sheesh--I'm never out of butter), and I used 10% cream instead of the whole milk (I only had 1% milk on hand). Thanks for posting; I'll be making these frequently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's Dried Cherry Corn Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1484 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 390.5
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    41%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 90.1 mg
    30%
    Sodium 509.5 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 18.3 g
    73%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried cherries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites