Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chef's Chicken With Marsala, Mushrooms and Gorgonzola Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's Chicken With Marsala, Mushrooms and Gorgonzola

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2004

      I just made this recipe from Fine Cooking last weekend. It is easy and turned out fantastic! Just a richer version of the classic chicken marsala. Any extra sauce is great to scoop up with some bread...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      This is fabulous! The sauce needs to be doubled, as it doesn't make enough if you're serving it over pasta. The gorgonzola makes it restaurant quality, but it is so easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2004

      This is one of the beast meals I've had in some time, and I'm no slacker in the eating well department. I used real gorgonzola- don't buy that crumbled stuff pre-packaged in the dairy case. The sauce is utterly fabulous. Would also go great by itself on pasta... bonus, this goes together quickly, so is great for weeknights, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      I loved this different take on chicken marsala. I especially enjoyed the addition of the gorgonzola to the sauce. This was also extremely easy to make. I used a larger skillet and only needed to cook the chicken in one batch. I also used 8 oz of cremini. I might double the sauce next time, I liked it so much, and it would better cover the penne that I served it over. I put this in the keeper file and will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This was very good. I used evaporated milk instead of cream, but otherwise followed the recipe as written and served it over mashed potatoes. Will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      The sauce was a little thin but it was fine serving it over rice. I personally didn't like how strong the gorgonzola was but my dinner guests all loved it. I also added sweet marsala wine instead of dry and the dish was still really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      This meal was top notch! the flavor was so rich I felt like I was eating in a restaurant. I used chicken tenders that I cut into chunks, added extra mushrooms, extra garlic, subbed evaporated milk for the cream. Next time...& there will definitely be a next time...I would double sauce. (Greedy DH sopped it all up with his bread!) Served this over buttered noodles w/ crusty bread & green salad. Thanks for adopting the recipe, Newspapergal !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This was really good. I had more m'rooms than the recipe called for, so I added more sauce. I couldn't get it to thicken, so mixed cornstarch w/the half and half. I love the gorgonzola cheese in the sauce!! I kind of eyeballed the half and half and used chicken broth instead of marsala. Thanks for a great recipe and I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      This is Oh My GAWD... Good! Served it with garlic buttered noodles on the side and it was fabulouso!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Excellent dish. I loved the sauce and will make this many times in the future. Made as written and served the two of us with no leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This recipe is fantastic! We served it over Orzo, but it would be great over basmati too. I used a few more mushrooms, just because we love mushrooms, and doubled the sauce after reading a few comments about needing more sauce. This is a family favorite and I can't wait to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      This is now one of my favorite weeknight meals. I'm a sucker for Marsala sauce but with a little gorgonzola, yum! I serve it over rice. And it's great for leftovers and actually freezes well too. Thanks for a great recipe that I have made over and over again and will continue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I love this recipe..It really does taste like something fancy you'd order at nice restaurant. I will advise that if you're like me and you like a lot of sauce, double or triple the amount especially if you're putting it over rice. I subbed out low fat 1/2&1/2 and put more than 6 oz of shrooms in there since I love them. Very quick and easy to make. I highly recommend this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

    • on March 12, 2008

      I'm giving this 5 stars because I made some changes to reduce the fat and some substitutions for ingredients that I didn't have. It was very tasty with my changes (4 stars) but I'm sure if I followed the recipe exactly it would have warranted 5 stars. I used chicken stock instead of the heavy cream and thickened it a little with corn starch at the end and I didn't have marsala so I substituted some white wine and brandy (according to the recipezaar substitution suggestions) instead. Easy and tasty! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Wonderful. Will definitely make again. Served over rotini pasta. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I can only go by what I've been told, since I HATE gorgonzola and won't taste anything with it. However, if the recipe calls for it, I'm not gonna leave it out!! So I made this (with 1-1/2 lbs. thin-sliced chicken breast), and was told it was just great. That's good enough for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      This is a delicious dish! I appreciated the simplicity of preperation and ending up with something that seemed much more involved. It was the perfect dish for an impromptu dinner when family came to decorate the Christmas tree. I used 2 lbs of chicken, increased the marsala to 1 1/2 cups and the cream to about 2/3 of a cup.Not having any on hand , I skipped the gorgonzola. I served this with rice cooked in chicken broth and French green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Wow! this was very tasty. loved the riff on regular chicken marsala with the addition of the gorgonzola. I also doubled the sauce because I served the entire thing over a bed of pasta. Great recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      This was great and easy to make. Next time I will definitely double the sauce. It's so good, and I didn't have nearly enough to satisfy myself and DH! Served over egg noodles. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's Chicken With Marsala, Mushrooms and Gorgonzola

    Serving Size: 1 (310 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 739.6
     
    Calories from Fat 414
    55%
    Total Fat 46.0 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 17.9 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 207.2 mg
    69%
    Sodium 569.1 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 61.7 g
    123%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes