Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chef's Buttermilk Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's Buttermilk Scones

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2002

      Excellent scones which rose beautifully and were a wonderful light texture. I did everything as directed until step No. 5, where I just patted it down and used a round cutter. I just like round scones. Completely forgot to put them in the freezer, but they forgave me. We had them split with jam and whipped cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      My friend Paula brought these to a bridal shower Sunday. She'd added dried cranberries and served them with an orange butter. I LOVED them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      Another winning MEANCHEF recipe! I made it twice: first time followed the recipe as is - came out perfect. second time, i add some additional brown sugar (almost1/4 cup) and 2 tsp of orange zest - even better! I made good size 8 scones (baked for 10 min. turn off heat, for another 6 min in oven). They are flaky, soft, buttery, and mm-mm good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2003

      Very buttery and lightly sweet! Very nice texture! Thank you Mean Chef, the whole family loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      I've already made these twice in the past 2 weeks and now I am making them again! I made them for my bible study and another time just for family and everyone loved them. We ate them w/ apple butter! I think this Saturday instead of pancakes for the kiddos were going to have these- Yum! I had bought the large carton of buttermilk since they were out of the small and found this recipe to help use it up, so glad I did! Thanks!!! Oh I did up the sugar about 3 Tbs or so.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      THE BAKING TIME GIVEN IS TOO SHORT for this recipe. The crust baked well and was delicious. Inside they were very doughy. I had to return them to the oven to finish baking them (I turned off the heat). This is a tasty recipe, but definitely needs some adjustment to the baking time and probably the temperature as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      Excellent recipe that provided a moist texture and delicious flavor. Putting it in the freezer for 20 mins before baking makes a difference in the outcome of the scones.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2003

    • on April 09, 2010

      Wonderful recipe! I didn't have a food processor so I used a pastry cutter to cut in the butter. I made them more pea sized than hazelnut sized. The phrase "shaggy mass" was a little confusing to me and since the buttermilk could be 1 cup or more, I think I added a little too much buttermilk. Also, I did not freeze the dough and it did run a bit. Next time I'll do that. I added about 1 tsp orange zest and 1 cup of dried cranberries - delish! I'm extremely pleased with this recipe and will use it again. I didn't have cream (which was why I was looking for a buttermilk scone recipe), so for the top, I used ff milk and sprinkled with sugar. It was just lovely along with our tea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      yum I made mine with dried fruit. they also freeze really well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Yum. I used half whole wheat flour and they still rose beautifully. Instead of freezing the shaped scones, I just chilled the dough (no room in the freezer) and then worked quickly to shape and cut the scones. I lightly kneaded some currants into half of the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      These Scones are very good. I had some buttermilk left over from another recipe and decided to try these scones. I took my leftovers to work and they disappeared in 5 minutes. I mixed in cinnamon chips for Cinnamon scones. I did have to use more buttermilk than what the recipe states and I did have to cook them a little longer than 12 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

    • on May 05, 2008

      Loved the crunchy outer crust on these scones. They weren't quite as light as I would have liked, but that is minor. The recipe doesn't state if you should leave the cut wedges together or separate them with some space between before baking. I didn't separate, but I definitely will the next time because I had to bake them several minutes longer than stated before they tested done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      These were the best scones I've ever eaten and this is a really versatile recipe. I used an ice cream scoop (1/2 cup) to portion them out onto a cookie sheet and got 12. I made them according to the recipe the first time but subsequently added an extra 1/3 cup sugar plus 1)3 T lemon zest 2)3 T lime zest 3)dried cherries and chocolate chips. They were all wonderful. Next I'll try candied ginger along with the lemon zest. Or shredded cheese and thyme. Or mixed herbs and a little garlic. Or...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      oh my... these are wonderful! They are lovely and soft and just perfect with butter or lemon curd. They are a little sweeter than the scones I normally make, but they are fantastic. Very easy recipe, though I skipped the freezer step due to lack of freezer real estate and the scones still turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      Holy cow! These are soooo good! I made 2 batches of these yesterday, and they were gone in a flash. I made one batch plain. In the other batch I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup, added some chopped dried cherries, topped with chopped almonds, and served with an almond butter. The plain ones were excellent, but I think I'll be adding fun stuff every time I make them. What a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      Oh my, these were so tasty! I added dried cranberries to the dough, and served them with maple walnut butter. With very helpful advice from members on the Q&A forum, I made the dough ahead and froze the unbaked scones successfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      I love the Mean Chef's recipes. They never disappoint. These tall, tender, flavourful scones were wonderful. The texture was a treat, light and fluffy. I patted the dough into a nice mound and then I cut the dough with a large glass, it worked beautifully. I will certainly be making these again often. Thanks so much for sharing your adopted recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      FABULOUS!! These were great and so easy to make! I made on batch just as the recipe stated - except I cut them out with heart shaped cookie cutters. Then I made up another batch including chopped dried apricots and crystallized ginger - DEVINE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's Buttermilk Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (879 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 184.2
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    43%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 23.4 mg
    7%
    Sodium 259.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites