15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed this recipe except the banana slices on top and I roasted the whole bananas until the skins were black (325')and let them cool. Americas test kitchen said that bananas have a sweeter, more intense banana flavor when done this way. I also only used 1/2 c of each nut. I thought the amount of salt was fine but I did use Kosher salt.If using table salt I would think about decreasing. Bread was dense. We liked that. GREAT RECIPE.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dixie from Kansas October 17, 2007

A nice change from the usual banana nut bread. Loved the mix of walnuts and pecans and the banana on top! It fit perfectly in a 7-cup loaf pan. Wish I had lowered temp 25 degrees for glass dish because I think it browned at edges a bit too much. Also it seemed to fall apart, even though I think it moist enough.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W October 01, 2009

This bread was more cake like than I wanted. The flavor was superb--hence the two stars. But the texture was too crumbly and dry for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedFarmGirl January 03, 2008

I made this bread as directed (except for the banana on top) and baked in a 4-cup foil pan to be shipped plus a smaller loaf pan for us. The bread turned out ok, not anywhere near as good as some of the banana breads I've eaten. If I ever make it again, I would definitely cut back on the salt as it left a very distinctive taste. The batter is not so sweet so I would probably add 2 more tbsp of brown sugar. The poppy seeds are nice, but I'd probably leave out the spices so that the banana flavor is not overwhelmed by their complexity. I prefer more light banana breads, this is kind of dense. Much better toasted. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dimpi July 17, 2006

Tasted just like any other banana bread, probably because i didnt' use poppy seeds (my bad! LOL) i reduce the amount of nutmeg (1/2t) and cinn (1/2t) (because i don't want them overpowering the banana taste and they didn't,they're not distinctive at all), i only put 1/2 c of nuts, and i think they're too much, its all you can taste. I guess i'm a plain banana bread girl.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fawn512 April 09, 2006

This is the *best* banana nut bread recipe I've used. My only variation was I added about a tsp of ground ginger (i like ginger w/bananas). Anyway, I took 2 loaves in to work and everyone loved it-one coworker even offered to pay me to bring in 2 more for her and her husband. Thanks MeanChef!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terra January 12, 2006

Very nice texture and was moist. Flavor was great and presentation was nice too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane Hathaway March 18, 2005

Seriously amazing! I loved the combination of toasted walnuts and pecans with poppy seeds. Great mix of spices, too. I am garnishing/decorating impaired, however the slices of banana on top of the bread are so beautiful when baked and should not be skipped. East to do, just use a banana that's not as ripe for garnish so it will cut smoothly and hold together. I actually have made this twice. The first time I used 1/2 stick of butter by mistake. I have to say, it was better when made correctly but we gobbled down the first loaf with no complaints. Thanks, Mean Chef, for another awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 17, 2005

This banana bread is truly amazing. Moist and dense in texture, flavorful and rich in taste. Both the pecans & the walnuts as well as the unusual addition of the poppy seeds help to enhance the quality of this bread. The balance of spices are perfect. There is nothing I could change to make this recipe any better. I followed the directions completely for an excellent product. If I never looked for another banana bread recipe, I wouldn't miss a thing. This recipe may very well be the perfect banana bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev January 29, 2005

I was on a quest for the BEST banana bread recipe. I made a recipe from Food TV, Mean Chef's recipe, and one that has been in my family for ages. I had a "tasting panel" of 3 men, all who claim to be banana bread experts. The results: Unanimous Decision ~ Mean Chef is declared the winner!!! I followed the recipe except it was my personal preference not to use cloves or poppy seeds. Thank you, MC! All other banana bread recipes have been removed from my cookbook...yours is the best!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MemeOne November 18, 2004
Mean Chef's Banana Nut Bread