Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chef's Banana Nut Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's Banana Nut Bread

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2007

      I followed this recipe except the banana slices on top and I roasted the whole bananas until the skins were black (325')and let them cool. Americas test kitchen said that bananas have a sweeter, more intense banana flavor when done this way. I also only used 1/2 c of each nut. I thought the amount of salt was fine but I did use Kosher salt.If using table salt I would think about decreasing. Bread was dense. We liked that. GREAT RECIPE.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      A nice change from the usual banana nut bread. Loved the mix of walnuts and pecans and the banana on top! It fit perfectly in a 7-cup loaf pan. Wish I had lowered temp 25 degrees for glass dish because I think it browned at edges a bit too much. Also it seemed to fall apart, even though I think it moist enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      This bread was more cake like than I wanted. The flavor was superb--hence the two stars. But the texture was too crumbly and dry for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      I made this bread as directed (except for the banana on top) and baked in a 4-cup foil pan to be shipped plus a smaller loaf pan for us. The bread turned out ok, not anywhere near as good as some of the banana breads I've eaten. If I ever make it again, I would definitely cut back on the salt as it left a very distinctive taste. The batter is not so sweet so I would probably add 2 more tbsp of brown sugar. The poppy seeds are nice, but I'd probably leave out the spices so that the banana flavor is not overwhelmed by their complexity. I prefer more light banana breads, this is kind of dense. Much better toasted. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      Tasted just like any other banana bread, probably because i didnt' use poppy seeds (my bad! LOL) i reduce the amount of nutmeg (1/2t) and cinn (1/2t) (because i don't want them overpowering the banana taste and they didn't,they're not distinctive at all), i only put 1/2 c of nuts, and i think they're too much, its all you can taste. I guess i'm a plain banana bread girl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      This is the *best* banana nut bread recipe I've used. My only variation was I added about a tsp of ground ginger (i like ginger w/bananas). Anyway, I took 2 loaves in to work and everyone loved it-one coworker even offered to pay me to bring in 2 more for her and her husband. Thanks MeanChef!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      Very nice texture and was moist. Flavor was great and presentation was nice too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2005

      Seriously amazing! I loved the combination of toasted walnuts and pecans with poppy seeds. Great mix of spices, too. I am garnishing/decorating impaired, however the slices of banana on top of the bread are so beautiful when baked and should not be skipped. East to do, just use a banana that's not as ripe for garnish so it will cut smoothly and hold together. I actually have made this twice. The first time I used 1/2 stick of butter by mistake. I have to say, it was better when made correctly but we gobbled down the first loaf with no complaints. Thanks, Mean Chef, for another awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      This banana bread is truly amazing. Moist and dense in texture, flavorful and rich in taste. Both the pecans & the walnuts as well as the unusual addition of the poppy seeds help to enhance the quality of this bread. The balance of spices are perfect. There is nothing I could change to make this recipe any better. I followed the directions completely for an excellent product. If I never looked for another banana bread recipe, I wouldn't miss a thing. This recipe may very well be the perfect banana bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      I was on a quest for the BEST banana bread recipe. I made a recipe from Food TV, Mean Chef's recipe, and one that has been in my family for ages. I had a "tasting panel" of 3 men, all who claim to be banana bread experts. The results: Unanimous Decision ~ Mean Chef is declared the winner!!! I followed the recipe except it was my personal preference not to use cloves or poppy seeds. Thank you, MC! All other banana bread recipes have been removed from my cookbook...yours is the best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2004

      This was a great recipe! I was looking for a recipe to use up some very ripe banans. The bread was very moist and the spices gave it great flavor. I was a little hesitant about the poppyseed, but it worked out well in the recipe. I didn't have kosher salt and used regular table salt, probably a little less than was called for in the recipe. I also used a tube pan instead of a loaf pan and everything worked out very well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2004

      This is extraordinary - the tastiest banana bread I've ever had. The poppy seeds are an inspired addition. One thing, though - it definitely needs an eight-cup loaf pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2004

      Ok...I have been using my favorite banana bread recipe for umpteen years, and I think I may just have to switch to this one! This is out of this world delicious. I love the addition of poppy seeds! I even messed up the recipe, and put too much batter in the pan...it overflowed, and was a big mess. I was going to just throw it away and start again, but I decided to sneak a bite of the part that hadn't overflowed. :O omgoodness! I'm so glad I did!!! I salvaged what was in the pan and we had banana bread bits! LOL This is seriously the best banana bread I have ever had. Next time I make it, I'll post a pic. Thanks Mean!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2004

      Wow. Not only does this look absolutely beautiful, but it tastes incredibly delicious. The directions are very easy to follow. For some reason it took a bit longer than 60 minutes to finish cooking. Thanks for the recipe meanie! FABULOUS :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's Banana Nut Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3899.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1933
    49%
    Total Fat 214.8 g
    330%
    Saturated Fat 72.8 g
    364%
    Cholesterol 734.5 mg
    244%
    Sodium 3647.7 mg
    151%
    Total Carbohydrate 464.9 g
    154%
    Dietary Fiber 32.2 g
    128%
    Sugars 250.4 g
    1001%
    Protein 60.4 g
    120%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites