Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mean Chef's Baked Prawns With Feta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's Baked Prawns With Feta

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2003

      This was a good, easy recipe to follow, we did cut back on the oil a little but I don't think it affected it hugely. We made the sauce with herbs fresh from our garden, and I suggest you'll want crusty bread to mop those gorgeous juices up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      Easy but very flavorful dish. I had med. shrimp so cooked at 400 for 8 min. Turned out perfectly. Served with a Cranberry, Feta and Walnut Salad. So good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      I used this recipe to use up some feta cheese! We found this recipe "pleasant". I only used 3 T oil, as I thought 1/2 cup was excessive and used 3 garlic, minced. I had some roasted tomatoes in my freezer, so I used 2 cups of that. I followed the recipe to a T.... except, I finished cooking the prawns and feta on the stove. To me, it was just that extra step that wasn't needed and less to clean up! I used one bag of large prawns (16-18 count) and I found that there was an excessive amount of sauce leftover that wasn't used...and to me, a waste that went down the sink! The sauce needed a bit of a zip, so next time I have feta, I probably would add some chili paste and cut the tomatoes down to 1-1/4 cup. Nice recipe, good to use up feta cheese....but nothing special!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Very similar to a recipe I have used many times, this is delicious. Try using Cavender's Greek Seasoning, about 1 tsp in place of the oregano and salt and it really ups the flavor. This can also be made in one skillet, after the sauce has reduced, toss in the prawns and feta till the prawns are just no longer pink and the cheese is melted and serve over whole wheat angel hair pasta. Mmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      Brilliant!!! This dish is soooo easy and wow! is it ever good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      Easy no fail dish, which is so delicious and elegant! Serve with plenty bread to mop up the juices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      Great taste, quick, and easy. I added yellow peppers, and cut the oil in half. Served over basmati rice, and would double the sauce if serving more than 3 people!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      As with most of Mean's recipes, this one did not disappoint. AWESOME! YUMMY! YES! I now have another great dish to impress those gourmet friends of mine. And this is fairly easy. BONUS! I don't think I cut back on the oil, but I did double the sauce and I am glad I did. Thanks for sharing Mean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      Gourmet... and easy. Rated by some dinner guests as the best meal they had had all year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      I made this for my family the other night and they all loved it. Like other reviewers I cut back on the oil. I'm not sure if I made a mistake somewhere, but I found I needed to double the sauce to cover the prawns and to make sure it catered for all four of us (fiance and father are both big eaters!). I served it with basmati rice and buttered crusty bread. I think it would also be very good with pasta so will try that next time I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2004

      This is one of the most tasty prawn (shrimp) dishes we have ever had. As Jan suggested we also cut back on the oil. Prep was very quick and easy and then it was right into the oven to do the rest. Served as suggested with lots of crusty buttered bread. A must for all prawn (shrimp) lovers. Thanks again Mean Chef!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      I didn't make this -- Mean Chef made if for me. I love shrimp and I love feta so this was heaven for me. The flavors were simple and tasty and the feta wasn't overpowering (it can be a bully of a salty cheese LOL). There is lots of extra sauce you can soak up with bread. Definitely a dish I want often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's Baked Prawns With Feta

    Serving Size: 1 (318 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 388.2
     
    Calories from Fat 235
    60%
    Total Fat 26.1 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 217.7 mg
    72%
    Sodium 1203.2 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 26.1 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites