12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a good, easy recipe to follow, we did cut back on the oil a little but I don't think it affected it hugely. We made the sauce with herbs fresh from our garden, and I suggest you'll want crusty bread to mop those gorgeous juices up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS October 30, 2003

I used this recipe to use up some feta cheese! We found this recipe "pleasant". I only used 3 T oil, as I thought 1/2 cup was excessive and used 3 garlic, minced. I had some roasted tomatoes in my freezer, so I used 2 cups of that. I followed the recipe to a T.... except, I finished cooking the prawns and feta on the stove. To me, it was just that extra step that wasn't needed and less to clean up! I used one bag of large prawns (16-18 count) and I found that there was an excessive amount of sauce leftover that wasn't used...and to me, a waste that went down the sink! The sauce needed a bit of a zip, so next time I have feta, I probably would add some chili paste and cut the tomatoes down to 1-1/4 cup. Nice recipe, good to use up feta cheese....but nothing special!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl June 20, 2012

Very similar to a recipe I have used many times, this is delicious. Try using Cavender's Greek Seasoning, about 1 tsp in place of the oregano and salt and it really ups the flavor. This can also be made in one skillet, after the sauce has reduced, toss in the prawns and feta till the prawns are just no longer pink and the cheese is melted and serve over whole wheat angel hair pasta. Mmmmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3shihmum March 28, 2009

Brilliant!!! This dish is soooo easy and wow! is it ever good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juels1 December 02, 2008

Easy no fail dish, which is so delicious and elegant! Serve with plenty bread to mop up the juices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare February 09, 2008

Great taste, quick, and easy. I added yellow peppers, and cut the oil in half. Served over basmati rice, and would double the sauce if serving more than 3 people!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koko-beans January 03, 2007

As with most of Mean's recipes, this one did not disappoint. AWESOME! YUMMY! YES! I now have another great dish to impress those gourmet friends of mine. And this is fairly easy. BONUS! I don't think I cut back on the oil, but I did double the sauce and I am glad I did. Thanks for sharing Mean!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy October 15, 2006

Gourmet... and easy. Rated by some dinner guests as the best meal they had had all year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr Tender November 18, 2005

I made this for my family the other night and they all loved it. Like other reviewers I cut back on the oil. I'm not sure if I made a mistake somewhere, but I found I needed to double the sauce to cover the prawns and to make sure it catered for all four of us (fiance and father are both big eaters!). I served it with basmati rice and buttered crusty bread. I think it would also be very good with pasta so will try that next time I make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sazza October 09, 2005
Mean Chef's Baked Prawns With Feta