10 Reviews

This was good and very rich. A little definitely fills you up. I used crunchy peanut butter and upped all the spices plus added pepper. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast September 16, 2013

Great version of mchicha! I went to high school in Tanzania and learned how to make it from my friends' parents. In the Iringa area they didn't use peanut butter or peanuts, though, and usually added garlic to the onion. I love how much thicker and creamier it is with the peanut butter addition! Sometimes, depending on availability, mchicha would be just tomato, onion, garlic, and greens (the greens would be a bit different from our spinach here). When money was tight, you'd eat it with ugali, a sort of corn mash thicker than grits, but over rice was my favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tau Kai June 11, 2010

I've been making this for a couple of years (although I just had it to look again because MyCookbook lost a bunch if its links) and it's amazing! We love it over white rice with some naan on the side. (Yes, I know it's not Indian, but it really works well with naan!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon Deux May 16, 2010

great recipe and so easy to make. Great hit with my vegetarian guests. I will be using more tomato and onion next time. I felt there wasn't enough of this in it. delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenFire October 19, 2009

This was so good! Other reviewer comments about "wolfing it down" and "licking the bowl" are quite appropriate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana A. June 03, 2009

Very good! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nierika79 October 29, 2008

Oh yum - 10 stars for this one!!! I just made it for lunch and I am still licking the bowl. I didn't make it very traditionally, but it was still good. I don't use coconut milk, so instead I used rice milk with a little coconut extract added and thickened with a pinch of cornstarch while it simmered. I can only imagine how good it would be with the richness of the coconut milk! I also added a shredded zucchini and served over brown rice. This was SO good and I will be making it very often - thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shera_23 July 13, 2008

This was wonderful. The only substitution I made was with the tomatoes. I used some rehydrated sundried tomatoes. I will definately be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slatts June 30, 2008

Made half a recipe. It was a big hit with our vegetarian exchange student. He wolfed it down, and hubby and I each got a tablespoon. I used ghee, baby spinach (which cooked much more quickly), half a tin of chopped tomatoes and Hot Madras Curry Powder. I 'melted' the peanut butter in the microwave for 15 seconds, so it was easier to mix with the coconut milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy June 26, 2008

This is absolutely delightful. I scaled to half as I wasn't sure how the kids would take to this and, although they weren't too keen, DH and I LOVED it and ate it all up. This really has a fabulous blend of flavours and was a great accompaniment to some salmon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 25, 2008
Mchicha - Tanzanian Spinach & Peanut Curry.