Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mbaazi Wa Nazi (Pigeon Peas in Coconut Milk) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mbaazi Wa Nazi (Pigeon Peas in Coconut Milk)

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2008

      The fresh jalapeno makes this dish! Using a 15 oz can of pigeon peas, I skipped steps #1 and #2. Basically I quartered the recipe, using half a cup of coconut milk and half an onion but based on other reviews used BOTH 1/2 tsp curry powder and 1/2 tsp turmeric for the quarter recipe. Flavorful and colorful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      This was my first time tasting black eyed peas and I think it was a successful and tasty dish. I used freeze dried onion flakes, canned peas and omitted the pepper. I also cooked it in my crock pot. Made for September 2012 Veg 'n Swap tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      This was really yummy and my first experience with pigeon peas! I used a can of pigeon peas and didn't have a jalapeno so I used a pinch of cayenne. I also used garam masala instead of curry powder. It was very quick and easy as well as healthy and delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Delicious! I used 2 tablespoons curry powder, 1 medium onion, and black-eyed peas. Thanks, Elmotoo! Made for Veggie Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      These were very good! I used crumbled piri piri peppers instead of jalapeno since I was out. I also used black eyed peas instead of pigeon peas. The flavor of the dish is nicely heated but I would have liked a bit more curry flavor so will add more next time. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT4 Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles. ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      This was fantastic-tasting. I also used ghee and instead of dried peas, I used tinned black eyed peas (no soaking). It was on the table in no time. I will make this often. I served it with steamed rice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      Fabulous recipe. We make something similar to this without the coconut milk, but the coconut milk really adds lovely flavor. I used a hot long finger chile b/c I didnt have a jalapeno. Used ghee instead of oil. Served with Chappati. I used the curry powder, as I dont feel turmeric alone would add enough flavor. Thanks for the recipe; we'll have this again soon. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mbaazi Wa Nazi (Pigeon Peas in Coconut Milk)

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 931.3
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    25%
    Total Fat 25.9 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 23.3 g
    116%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 74.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 153.0 g
    51%
    Dietary Fiber 18.0 g
    72%
    Sugars 77.5 g
    310%
    Protein 26.7 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites