7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The fresh jalapeno makes this dish! Using a 15 oz can of pigeon peas, I skipped steps #1 and #2. Basically I quartered the recipe, using half a cup of coconut milk and half an onion but based on other reviews used BOTH 1/2 tsp curry powder and 1/2 tsp turmeric for the quarter recipe. Flavorful and colorful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen October 24, 2008

This was my first time tasting black eyed peas and I think it was a successful and tasty dish. I used freeze dried onion flakes, canned peas and omitted the pepper. I also cooked it in my crock pot. Made for September 2012 Veg 'n Swap tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo September 20, 2012

This was really yummy and my first experience with pigeon peas! I used a can of pigeon peas and didn't have a jalapeno so I used a pinch of cayenne. I also used garam masala instead of curry powder. It was very quick and easy as well as healthy and delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frankie&Johnny August 06, 2010

Delicious! I used 2 tablespoons curry powder, 1 medium onion, and black-eyed peas. Thanks, Elmotoo! Made for Veggie Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees October 26, 2009

These were very good! I used crumbled piri piri peppers instead of jalapeno since I was out. I also used black eyed peas instead of pigeon peas. The flavor of the dish is nicely heated but I would have liked a bit more curry flavor so will add more next time. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT4 Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles. ~Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau July 01, 2008

This was fantastic-tasting. I also used ghee and instead of dried peas, I used tinned black eyed peas (no soaking). It was on the table in no time. I will make this often. I served it with steamed rice. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy228 July 15, 2006

Fabulous recipe. We make something similar to this without the coconut milk, but the coconut milk really adds lovely flavor. I used a hot long finger chile b/c I didnt have a jalapeno. Used ghee instead of oil. Served with Chappati. I used the curry powder, as I dont feel turmeric alone would add enough flavor. Thanks for the recipe; we'll have this again soon. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary January 06, 2006
Mbaazi Wa Nazi (Pigeon Peas in Coconut Milk)