26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an excellent clone (I live 5 minutes from a Max and Erma's, so I am well versed in this soup). It was a little salty for my tastes, so next time I will probably omit the cream of mushroom, and double up on the cream of chicken soup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morrison January 31, 2007

OMW! I wish I could have rated it beyond 5 stars because this recipe this that fantastic. I cut it in half because I wasn't sure if everyone in my family would like it and even my daughter (who's extremely picky) loved it. I added a pinch of cayenne pepper in error (I was working on two recipes at the same time) but it didn't alter the flavor. Then, with some of the tortilla strips that I had left over, I deep fried them and rolled them in granulated sugar, cinnamon and brown sugar! Then my husband topped them with honey and chocolate syrup. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ruby2010 September 21, 2013

I love this! Great Duplication! You can even make it low fat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahMarie1984 April 13, 2013

My son loves Max & Erma's version of this soup! After making this he told me mine tasted better! Very easy to make, all though it does take some time. I used the fat free soups to help cut some of the calories. I also cut corn tortillas into thin strips and pan fried them in oil. Also froze the leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gini72_10124 January 27, 2012

We LOVE this soup and it is soooo easy!! I substituted low fat soups for the originals and low fat Velveeta for the cheese soup. I used chicken bouillon instead of broth and sprayed the tortilla strips with cooking spray and pan fried them lightly. I've never made it the "full fat" way, but my low fat version is wonderful!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrystal_wineinger January 12, 2012

yum yum YUM! Soup is an exact clone!! Yes it is VERY delicious but a bit fattening. So I altered it a bit -

Fat free soups (cream of chicken, mushroom and celery)
I skipped the chicken broth and used water / extra salsa
Totally skipped the fried tortillas :(

My substitutions made it a bit lighter and less guilty but her original clone is really the best soup I've ever made!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissIreland September 04, 2011

I thought this recipe was GREAT! I can't exactly remember what Max and Erma's tastes like, but either way, this soup was so good! Some things I did differently...

1) Used Picante's hot salsa
2) Left out the cilantro
3) Used regular chili powder
4) Instead of using a can of diced tomatoes and a can of green chilies, I used Rotel's 'mild diced tomatoes with green chilies'
5) I bought pre-made tortilla strips

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizgirl05 June 26, 2011

Did not enjoy this recipe at all. I personally thought it left a horrible after taste in your mouth... and it didn't taste anything like Max & Erma's chicken tortilla soup. I will not be making this again. I also didn't think it was spicy at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicazuckero January 18, 2011

Not exactly the original, but a great version in and of itself. Very nice, especially on a cool night, and quite easy. I have prepared this a couple of times, and both times I used the Crockpot and just let it all come together over a few hours on high heat - I'm sure it'd work just as well a little longer on the low setting, but haven't tried it that way. A good easy meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Bednarcik October 17, 2010

I made this as directed and it turned out very well. The one thing that bothered me was that it is so high in sodium with the condensed soups. I will try with low-sodium soups next time. Still, a yummy variation on this classic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rottmom June 03, 2009
Max & Erma's Chicken Tortilla Soup - Sue's Original Clone