Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Max & Erma's Chicken Tortilla Soup - Sue's Original Clone Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Max & Erma's Chicken Tortilla Soup - Sue's Original Clone

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2007

      This is an excellent clone (I live 5 minutes from a Max and Erma's, so I am well versed in this soup). It was a little salty for my tastes, so next time I will probably omit the cream of mushroom, and double up on the cream of chicken soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      OMW! I wish I could have rated it beyond 5 stars because this recipe this that fantastic. I cut it in half because I wasn't sure if everyone in my family would like it and even my daughter (who's extremely picky) loved it. I added a pinch of cayenne pepper in error (I was working on two recipes at the same time) but it didn't alter the flavor. Then, with some of the tortilla strips that I had left over, I deep fried them and rolled them in granulated sugar, cinnamon and brown sugar! Then my husband topped them with honey and chocolate syrup. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2013

      I love this! Great Duplication! You can even make it low fat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      My son loves Max & Erma's version of this soup! After making this he told me mine tasted better! Very easy to make, all though it does take some time. I used the fat free soups to help cut some of the calories. I also cut corn tortillas into thin strips and pan fried them in oil. Also froze the leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      We LOVE this soup and it is soooo easy!! I substituted low fat soups for the originals and low fat Velveeta for the cheese soup. I used chicken bouillon instead of broth and sprayed the tortilla strips with cooking spray and pan fried them lightly. I've never made it the "full fat" way, but my low fat version is wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      yum yum YUM! Soup is an exact clone!! Yes it is VERY delicious but a bit fattening. So I altered it a bit -

      Fat free soups (cream of chicken, mushroom and celery)
      I skipped the chicken broth and used water / extra salsa
      Totally skipped the fried tortillas :(

      My substitutions made it a bit lighter and less guilty but her original clone is really the best soup I've ever made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      I thought this recipe was GREAT! I can't exactly remember what Max and Erma's tastes like, but either way, this soup was so good! Some things I did differently...

      1) Used Picante's hot salsa
      2) Left out the cilantro
      3) Used regular chili powder
      4) Instead of using a can of diced tomatoes and a can of green chilies, I used Rotel's 'mild diced tomatoes with green chilies'
      5) I bought pre-made tortilla strips

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Did not enjoy this recipe at all. I personally thought it left a horrible after taste in your mouth... and it didn't taste anything like Max & Erma's chicken tortilla soup. I will not be making this again. I also didn't think it was spicy at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Not exactly the original, but a great version in and of itself. Very nice, especially on a cool night, and quite easy. I have prepared this a couple of times, and both times I used the Crockpot and just let it all come together over a few hours on high heat - I'm sure it'd work just as well a little longer on the low setting, but haven't tried it that way. A good easy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      I made this as directed and it turned out very well. The one thing that bothered me was that it is so high in sodium with the condensed soups. I will try with low-sodium soups next time. Still, a yummy variation on this classic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Very good! I left out the chile powder and used diced tomatoes with chiles. I also used dried cilantro instead of fresh. Still turned out great and tasted similar or if not the same as Max and Erma's. I cooked in the crockpot for approx 9 hours on low. Be careful, it filled my crockpot to the top! I used a dab of light sour cream to top off the soup. Husband really enjoyed as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Excellent recipe....I've been making this one for about 7 years now. I've tried other recipes but this is the one we always return to. Thanks Sue for your recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      I love this soup! I have made it for several groups of people, and they all love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

    • on October 17, 2007

      I've found your recipe several years ago (thank you!)....my husband likes this better than the restaurant's. To streamline things, I add a whole jar of garlicky salsa and omit the can of diced tomatoes, garlic and onion. For the tortilla strips, I tried frying them in a little oil, but I've gone to cutting them, tossing them with a little cooking spray, and placing them on a cookie sheet in the oven, stirring now and then until lightly browned. We like this because we can easily half the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      I have made this recipe several times and it is as close to the real thing as you can ask for. I usually order some fresh tortilla strips to put on top of the soup from a restaurant, it is easier and tastes better! Chili's usually will sell me a huge freshly made bag of them for around $4.00.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      Hi Sue! Thank you so much for coming up with the perfect cloned recipe. I have made it twice now and my fiance and I LOVE IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Sorry, but this isn't Max and Erma's. I ate there 2 days before making this, and althought this was good, it wasn't the same. Will try a new tortilla soup recipe because this was hard to get excited about after opening all of the cream of ____ soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      This recipe is a solid 5 stars!!!!I followed the directions pretty much except for the can of diced tomatoes I used diced tomatoes with green chiles, I think the brand name is "Hatch", its very similar to Rotel, and I used the whole can even though I halved the recipe. I also used a whole can of diced green chiles,7oz. Ortega diced and I was lucky enough to find the "new mexico chile powder" at my local vons market. This turned out great. I also sprinkled more new mexico chile powder on my tortilla strips immediately after removing them from the frying oil. Excellent soup!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Max & Erma's Chicken Tortilla Soup - Sue's Original Clone

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 638.9
     
    Calories from Fat 436
    68%
    Total Fat 48.4 g
    74%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 58.2 mg
    19%
    Sodium 1691.2 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 22.0 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    picante salsa

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites