Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Max & Erma's Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Max & Erma's Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2012

      Not sure that the sodium content can even be close to being right, a can of cream of mushroom soup has 37% of your daily requirement for 4 servings and with 10 cans of high sodium stuff for 15 servings you are going to get at least a days worth in every serving. Heart attack in a bowl. Can't imagine the sodium content in this....think I will pass although I am sure that it is delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      I've made this a ZILLION times...we LOVE it and I actually think it tastes almost exactly like Max and Erma's if not better! It's so good, my best friend actually invites herself over for dinner whenever she knows we are making it :) Thanks for the delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      Really tasty - especially the second day! I substituted the salsa and can of diced tomatoes with 2 cans Rotel diced tomatoes and chilies. I also slow boiled the chicken in a covered skillet pan with water and a cup of chicken broth. Used the broth from cooking the chicken in the soup. I shredded the chicken. Finally, I added 1 Tbsp diced jalepenos. It's not super spicy, but has some nice heat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      This was good but with all the canned soups, I found it quite salty, even after using homemade chicken broth, canned tomatoes, and salsa all which have no or very little salt. i cooked a little longer with a peeled potato which did help. Thanks for the idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      This soup is absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      So good. Usually I don't take shortcuts with canned soups, but for this I make the exception. Ever since moving away from Michigan, and having Max & Erma's around the corner, I crave this soup come fall. Closest thing to going there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Really good soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

    • on March 21, 2010

      We have made this soup 7-8 times...we always half it (using a can of Rotel tomatoes and 1/2 cup salsa)...always cook it in the crock pot...and always top with Mission tortilla strips and shredded cheese. We make it most often while camping and that makes it extra good. The only reaon I didn't give it 5 stars is that we think it tastes NOTHING like Max & Erma's Tortilla Soup. It is still wonderful and we LOVE it, but to claim it is like Max & Erma's just doesn't ring true for us. Making it right now actually!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      SOOO close! So good if you follow others suggestions...by itself a little 'creamed soup tasting' but with halving it, only adding in the can of Rotel, and 2c of cheddar at the end it is a wonderful soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Like many others, I halved the recipe. I used 2 cans cream of onion, 1 can cream of chicken, 1 can cheese soup, RoTel with chiles, no salsa. I used 2 cloves of garlic and a full tsp of chili powder. Added cilantro during last 1/2 hour of cooking. AMAZING soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      I have made this 4 times now and it is DELICIOUS!! Tastes just like Max and Erma's if not better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This recipe was perfect. Other tortilla soups I tried were a bit too "runny" for my tastes. I did cut the recipe in half for our family of 3 and froze what was left for another day. I did make the following adjustments for "halving" recipe: Used a whole can of tomatoes Used a full tsp. of chili powder Used fat-free soups as I could Chicke - used a Rotissiere chicken. For toppings:Cheddar & Mont-Jack cheese, Cilantro, and tortilla strips. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      We thought this was very good and did taste very similar to Max & Erma's soup. We used canned chicken to make it a little easier. Just some advice, if you're cooking for 2 you might want to cut the recipe in half. This has literally lasted a week (1-2 bowls a day) and I still have more in the fridge. Next time I might freeze some for a quick dinner later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Kudos from everyone at my house! I used Campbell's Healthy Request soups (low-sodium and low-fat) and topped the soup with chopped cilantro, colby-jack cheese, and tortilla strips. I also added a bit more chili powder -- be careful, I found the chili powder became more intense the next day (although 1 1/2 tsp. was perfect for us).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      This was AWESOME! I did omit the Cilantro because I didn't have any and added a teaspoon of Cayenne Pepper and a teaspoon of Cumin. I also used 2 cans of diced chicken which ended up shredding up nicely. Once in a bowl I topped with shredded cheddar cheese. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      WOW! We absolutely loved it. Just the right amount of spicy flavor. Don't skip any ingredients - they all add to the overall taste. We even fried the tortilla strips and added shredded cheese on top - Just wonderful. It makes A LOT, too - se we froze half the recipe for cold winter days ahead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      With the omission of the Cream of Mushroom soup, cilantro and salsa and halving the garlic it tasted very similar. I too might use hot salsa instead of tomatoes next time to make it a bit spicier. Great Recipe. It's been added to my family's cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      I just made this soup and was very dissapointed. It tasted nothing like Max and Erma's tortilla soup. I followed the recipe exactly as written. With the addition of extra sharp cheddar cheese, cumin, and seasoned chicken, my family still liked it. I will keep looking for a recipe that is just as yummy as Max&Erma's delicious Torilla Soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      I love this soup also and followed the recipe however I did not use cream of mushroom, salsa, onion, cilantro or garlic and the taste was exactly like max & erma's. I also had a party and added lots of shredded cheese and turn the soup into a nice dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Max & Erma's Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (321 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.6
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    51%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 41.4 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1457.4 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites