Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maw Maw's Thanksgiving Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maw Maw's Thanksgiving Dressing

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2009

      I cooked this for Thanksgiving and want to give a few tips as I made mistakes that would be easy to do, and not through any fault of the recipe the way it is written. It woudl have been awesome if I had first, used REGULAR cornbread. I used Jiffy which has sugar in it therefore it was SWEET dressing. So think about the dressings you've liked in the past, and if they weren't sweet, just good and flavorful, make sure to use regular cornmeal. Last, my family likes our dressing very moist, not the kind that hardens once it cools so that you have to cut it in squares. Well, even though I added 3 c. of chicken broth and it seemed to be moist at that stage, it wasn't close to being moist after it cooked! So make sure to bring the dressing to an almost runny consitency, more like a thin casserole and less like a cake batter, if you want it to be soft and moist once cooked. Moist really shouldn't describe what you are trying to attain anyway. It can be moist at many levels. I think the distinction here should be: do you want it to scoop out EASILY like a squash casserole, or do you want it so firm you'll need a knife that can cut it into squares. if you want more of the casserole consistency, you'll need 4-6 c. of broth, no less! And keep in mind this won't be runny, but will be just way softer and lighter than if you put less broth! Bottom line, this dressing is awesome - so do it towards your own tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Excellent recipe! I sauted the celery and onions first and used homemade cornbread to tatal 12 cups. This tastes just like the dressing I had when I was a kid at home. LOVE IT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      I made this recipe this last Thanksgiving, and it was my very first attempt at making one of the most important dishes of the meal, it turned out great!!! I got many compliments, and have made it twice since for my husband who loves it. I did end up using 6 cups of broth the first time, which made it almost too moist, so I lessened it to somewhere around 4 1/2 - 5 cups of broth, and it was awesome! If I can make this, anyone can!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      yummy!! this is the closest recipe to my mamaw's dressing. i made this for thanksgiving with a few changes. i used 2 different kinds of cornbread (jiffy and marie callender's), biscuits and pepperadge farms seasoned bread cubes. i omitted the green onion and sauteed my red onion, celery and garlic along with a drained large can of chicken (mamaw always did). i also added way more pepper. i also stir the dressing a few times while baking. anyway, this recipe is a keeper. we loved it!! like i said, tasted just like mamaw's! will be making this every thanksgiving! thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I made this for Thanksgiving and it was such a hit! I made half of it in the bird and baked the other half out of it and they were both delicious! They made great left overs too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      This is now my favorite dressing. It seems every year I try a new dressing and I have made some good dressing, but this reminds me of how mom used to make it and that makes it the best yet! Thank you for sharing this great recipe. It is a keeper.. This has ended my hunt for dressing like mom used to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Great dressing! Only thing I would change is perhaps to use a low-sodium broth, and omit the tsp of salt, as it was just a tad salty for our tastes. Otherwise, a definate keeper! Thanks for posting this! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      This is pretty much the way I make dressing, which I learned from my mother and grandmother. Sometimes I leave out the biscuits, and it's fine without them. You can also use croutons in place of bread crumbs. I don't use green onions, and I use poultry seasoning instead of parsley and sage. IMO, it's just not Thanksgiving without this! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      This was WONDERFUL dressing. Just perfect! Because it was a new recipe, I made it a few weeks ago to give it a test run to make sure I wanted to use it for Thanksgiving. I am glad I did, because the first time I used a cornbread that was too sweet and it ruined the dressing. This time I used a cornbread with NO sugar and it was PERFECT! Make SURE you don't use a sweet cornbread and you will have a 5 Star Winner!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      Wonderful Dressing! I did not use the breadcrumbs, just added more cornbread and biscuits. I also sauteed the celery and onions in lots of butter before adding. This is an excellent recipe. Will make again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      I had lost my family's recipe for Cornbread Dressing. This Thanksgiving, I tried this one, as it very closely resembled my family's. The only differences are that my old recipe called to saute the onions and celery first, and to use 6 cups each of biscuits and cornbread, without any day old bread crumbs. Great recipe! Identical in taste and texture!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      was a hit last year, now my standard thanksgiving stuffing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      I've made this for three years now and it's demanded that I make enough for leftovers. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      Added to my Thanksgiving menu. Awesome dressing. Used just cornbread and biscuits, no white bread. I saute the onions and celery first out of habit. Also, my mom told me to add some chopped boiled eggs, as her mom always made it. I'm not a fan of it, but just an idea for anyone else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      Made this for Easter. Turned out great. Everyone loved it! Didn't change a thing.** Used this recipe again for 2006 Thanksgiving. Again, everyone loved it. Followed recipe exactly. Yum-Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      This is just like my recipe that my grandma use to make. I use toast crumbled, versus the breadcrumbs and I don't use the biscuits. Also, I like to add some poultry seasoning, and lemon pepper. I also use lots of parsley!! It is a wonderful recipe. Thank you for posting this. love, becky I also add some garlic to the sauteed onion and celery and a bit of garlic powder to the dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2005

      This was a hit. There were no leftovers. didnt use the breadcrumbs though just more cornbread and biscuits. absoutley delicious, will definatley be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      This is a very good dressing. The taste is real close to my mom's. Taste wonderful. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2004

      This is as close to my mom's recipe that I could find so I choose to make this with our Thanksgiving dinner. I did not use biscuits but substituted with more day old french bread and added a little more seasoning including poultry seasoning as mom taught me but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. My DH who usually does not eat stuffing had 2 helpings as did DD. It was truly wonderful and just like I remember. Good job Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      Very good. I added a little sausage to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maw Maw's Thanksgiving Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 98.8
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    63%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 356.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cornbread

    biscuits

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites