Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maui Ahi Poke Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maui Ahi Poke

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2011

      Awesome! As good as home made poke can get, although you MUST try adding toasted sesame seeds to the end result, as it really adds the perfect touch to an already excellent replication of the poke you get on the island :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      Excellent recipe! It reminds me of the poke we had in Hawaii on the Big Island. If you don't like your food too salty, though, I would eliminate the salt and let the soy sauce do the work. I also found that previously frozen ahi tuna works just as well as the fresh kind, provided you buy sashimi grade. I love this recipe and has made it twice for me and my boyfriend. We love it!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Made this for my wife and I and it was outstanding! We are pretty picky when it comes to our Ahi and were unsure of putting all these flavors on it... Man am I glad we did! Awesome thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      Absolutely loved it. Thank you so much posting this. I kept the Hawaiian salt, but halved the soy sauce and made up the difference with mirin. I loved that the Maui sweet onion bit of crunch. It's almost like you can't go wrong. I'll keep experimenting, next up lemon grass for ginger and finely minced shallots, then maybe a truffle oil and crisped shitake version. Beautiful served on an avocado island in a mote of arugula. Finished with toasted black sesame seeds as others suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2013

      Easy and delicious. I followed the recipe except for the sesame oil as I'm allergic to it. Instead I used olive oil. I really like the fresh ginger, garlic and green onions. Each flavor comes through. Next time I will omit the salt as the soy sauce is enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      I got this recipe from a friend and we made it the other night. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, but added toasted sesame seeds (which really should be part of the recipe). I served it with fried wonton wrappers (sort of like chips) and it was delicious. My kids even loved it! We will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      I always enjoy poke. I preffer red onion just because I like strong onion, toasted sesame seeds finish it quite nicely. Tradionally it also has a tomato cancasse added, (be sure to marinate the tomato long enough before eating). I like to use agave nectar and mirin instead of sugar, much more subtle and unique sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      This was the perfect poke recipe for my craving. I was able to find flash frozen, sushi grade ahi tuna at a local grocery store (Schnucks in Central Illinois). I combined the ingredients and the results were amazing. It was as good as any poke I've had in Hawaii or California. I made a cucumber salad to serve it on. Mmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      My friends Loved it! But Well I have made this recipe a few times and I figured that it has more flavor to use the 2lb recipe on 1lb of tuna and Also to scoop the ahi poke I use fresh fried wonton triangles

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Memories of Hawaii in a dish -- I wouldn't change a single thing to the recipe, awesome exactly as it is! I can never find maui onions in my country, so I use the white of a couple of spring onions instead -- yummy! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I googled Poke & this recipe came up. Since it had so many good reviews, I went out on a limb & made it for a dinner party before trying it @ home first. IT WAS AWESOME!!! You definitely have a winner! Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I have made this twice and the guests loved it! I added some cilantro springs and diced avacado and served on fried wontons!! Yummy Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      I really liked this recipe! I like it a little bit more spicy that this recipe calls for, but, this Poke is very easy to manipulate to fit your palate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      Great recipe and a hugh favorite for parties!!! I had fresh home grown cucumber diced to add a little cool with the pop of the chile! yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      onolicious!!!! This is even better that shoyu ahi poke!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Great recipe!! We were trying to match a recipe at a local restaruant and it is almost identical. Try this as well..... take 2 avocado, dice into 1/2 inch chunks, add 1 Tablespoon cilantro, a tablespoon capers, and about half of a medium tomato diced small. We used a cylinder and created layers of tuna, avocado, tuna, etc, fried some flour tortilla to dip with and WOW! Our guests were thoroughly impressed!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Perfection. I found this recipe about 2 weeks ago, and have made it 3 times. I always ordered this dish at my favorite sushi place, and this recipe is BETTER than their version. I served it as a main dish, since I could eat the entire bowl myself (but refrained), so I served it with some Jasmine rice, which was a huge hit. I can't say enough how delicious this is. Since the tuna is raw, do not go cheaper, get the Ahi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Thank you! This was awesome! Made it for my husband for Valentines Day- he loved it. We had some left over so the next day I seared the tuna on a skewer and served it for appetizers at a dinner party. Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I have tried several poki recipes and this is by far the easiest and the most popular among the crowd! I have a request to make poki tonight and lost my copy of this recipe and panic insued! Thank GOD for recipeZaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Absolutely fabulous! Be sure to use a "sushi" grade of tuna for best results. I made this twice - once tossing the tuna with the sauce as directed and once serving the sauce on the side for dipping. We really preferred the dipping method - tuna doesn't absorb so much of the soy and get salty that way. ***Side note - the last time I made this, I added in small cubes of watermelon - Iknow it sounds weird, but I had a similar dish at a gourmet restaurant and it is fab!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maui Ahi Poke

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.9
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    29%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 34.4 mg
    11%
    Sodium 840.9 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 22.8 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Chinese chili sauce

    hawaiian sea salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites