Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mattar Paneer - Indian Peas with Paneer Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mattar Paneer - Indian Peas with Paneer Cheese

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2013

      This is delicious! I was a little worried at first because I thought it tasted rather bland, but I had made it in advance and when I heated it up for dinner the flavors were perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      Easy and delicious%u2014my favorite combination! I love the mix of flavors from the spices, onion, garlic and ginger! Didn't change a thing and I thought it was perfect as is and bursting with flavor. All four of my kids, age 13 to 6 liked it as much as I did. We served it as a main dish with some cooked chickpeas thrown in with the peas and brown rice on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Great recipe! Made as written, except for cutting back on the red pepper (personal taste). I used a bought paneer from the Indian grocery. Will definitely make again- thanks Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

    • on March 13, 2010

      Loved it. Used veggie broth instead of water. There were no leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Wonderful flavours. I added 1/2 vegetarian soup stock cube to add a bit more zing! Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe, definatley a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Awesome. Matar Paneer is my favorite Indian dish and this recipe does not disappoint. I made my own paneer (holiday weekend and all the gourmet groceries were closed) and used Penzey's garam masala. Second only to Taj Mahal II in Columbus, OH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      The sauce was a bit runny so I cut out the water and added 1 Tbsp of tomato paste. I also replaced paneer with firm tofu, and followed the steps accordingly. This is a great recipe and would definitely be repeated!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      This was really yummy. Just the right proportions of peas, to paneer, and I liked that it didn't have a soupy gravy like some mattar paneers (just a personal preference.) This dish is really delicious even without frying the paneer cubes and using just one tbsp of ghee (which is how I made it.) I like my peas to remain bright green and a little firm so I added them about three minutes after the paneer. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      This was just wonderful. Just as good as the stuff I get from the local Indian restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly-- the only change I made was to be a little extra generous with the spices. We made this with queso fresco cheese (from Spain), as that's all we could get here-- worked perfectly. Almost exactly the same texture as paneer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      This was a very good mattar paneer. It is different than the ones I've had in restaurants though...those have more of a curry sauce. I made my own paneer from Non-Fat Paneer. This is colorful, flavorful and healthy if you use less oil. Made for Cookbooks tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      This recipe was just ok. I found it a little bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      A really great recipe. We used tofu in place of paneer to make it vegan and you could barely taste the difference. Served over white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      Fantastic recipe! Full of flavor but much lighter than the over-spiced cream gravy versions usually served in restaurants. Has a wonderful "homemade" Indian food flavor. If you want it a little richer it would also be good sprinkled with garam masala.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      I have made this recipe several times and my family loves it! I have always substituted cube shaped tofu for the paneer as I have yet tried to make my own paneer. (Regular tofu is best, you can get away with firm. I just slightly brown the tofu but you can just throw it in there. it really doesn't matter.) You can't go wrong with this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      Very good recipe, and easy to make especially if you use a food processor to chop everything. The dish came out just like my mom used to make it. I added a bay leaf, cinnamon and cardamom pod to the oil before frying the onions, this will give it a rich restaurant-like taste. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Good recipe for Mattar Paneer. We enjoyed this. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      I decided to be adventurous and use my paneer for something other than palak paneer for once...I'm glad I tried this one! I've never used fried paneer in a recipe before, and I really enjoyed the texture. This is well-spiced and satisfying. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      Really Good! I liked it. My son liked it. Husband didn't. Thus the 4 star instead of 5 star.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

      I've made this three times now for three different people, and the reaction is always the same -- "wow, this is so delicious". I cut way back on the cilantro, but that's the only change I make. Thanks for another terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mattar Paneer - Indian Peas with Paneer Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 262.5
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    61%
    Total Fat 17.8 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 697.4 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    paneer cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes