Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mattar Paneer Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mattar Paneer

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2010

      This is an excellent recipe!!! I make this VEGAN!!! So delicious! I use Coconut oil in place of the ghee, extra firm tofu for the paneer, and a easy substitute for heavy cream is to use cashew cream: 1 part raw cashew pieces, 1 part water, soak cashews for an hour before, then blend on high until creamy. Add and use as you would cream. I also like a very savory version of this dish so I double the spices, and add a bit more salt than called for. Soooo good! Thanks for sharing, this is delightful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      This was really easy and very flavorful! We enjoyed this very much for dinner last night and I have saved it in my keeper file. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      Now, my favorite Indian recipe! I substituted tofu for the paneer and used the cashew cream option to make this dish vegan. It is perfectly spiced, for me, exactly as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      This was easy and delicious! Will definitely make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      this is an excellent recipe. I have made a couple of changes to make it slightly more authentic (being Indian, I like a lot of strong flavours!). Using half the amount of paneer, I used a good heaped teaspoon of all the spices. I also added 3 tomatoes. Instead of adding water, I add a can of chopped tomatoes or even better, tomato passata. This is something my mum has taught me and it add's a lot of richness and flavour to the recipe. (I never add water to an indian recipe). And finally, going against a lot of the weight watchers, I add a good couple of dollops of extra thick double cream and stir this in at the end. Other than that, great tasting dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      Tasty and Hubby approved!! I doubled the sauce ingredients, since we like it soupier... used canned tomatoes and pureed before adding peas and paneer. I agree flavor is good but light. Think next time will add twice the spices. But a keeper!! Just need to tweek for out palates.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      Very nice, I especially enjoyed the taste of the mustard and cumin seeds and the flavor of the coriander.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Wonderful recipe. We both loved this one. I had made my own paneer (Homemade Paneer (Panir - Indian Cheese)) and made as written except only doing half a recipe. Served with Indian Butter Chicken and Bread Machine Naan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      This recipe was delicious and easy to make! The only change I made was after the tomatoes were softened, I blended the mixture in a food processor to make a smoother gravy. Then I simply added the smooth mixture back to the pan and kept going with the recipe from where I left off. Thank you so much for this recipe! Really fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Thank you ... Thank you and Thank you! One of the more delicious things I've ever made especially from an online recipe. I changed a few things. Pureed to the tomato and onion after I cooked it so it was more like a restaurant style mattar Paneer. I added even less cream 1/8 cup and it still tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      I tried this recipe over the weekend and have been eating leftovers for the last couple days. I keep wanting to like this curry, but I ultimately find the flavor a bit ho-hum. It smells very nice when cooking, but the actual taste of the dish is nothing special, and when I make curries, I really look for a feast of flavor. Maybe increasing the spices would help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Excellent recipe! Thanks a lot! I made good 'n' healthy matter paneer for the first time in my life!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      This is fantastic! Just as good as any mattar paneer I've had in a restaurant. I ended up just adding sugar to taste until it cut the acidity of the tomatoes, and I pureed everything but the peas and paneer to give the sauce a smooth consistency. Did everything else as according to the recipe. Impressed my husband and MIL from Mumbai. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Really good recipe - I'm always looking for new ways to cook with paneer! Used 250 g of paneer cheese and doubled the dry spices, as I like very flavour-intensive dishes. ;-) Used about 1/2 ts of salt, which seemed about right. Served over basmati rice and thoroughly enjoyed my meal! Thank you very much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      this was absolutely perfect. i even used whole milk and yogurt as i didn't have the cream, added a little flour to thicken, and it was amazing. i used fried paneer from the oriental mart. i will make this again and again. it was fairly easy to do, too. i made it with chicken tikka masala, brown jasmine rice, and frozen roti from the oriental mart too. I'll try to do all homemade next time, now that i know how easy this is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Nice easy recipe, although very hands on. So a good one to do with other dishes that are just cooking away. I loved all the spices. Next time I'll try tofu instead of paneer - or I'll try making my own - I was disappointed with the store bought variety I had. I did think there was too much paneer to all the rest, next time I'll halve the amount (or double the rest!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Very yummy. made my own paneer for the first time which is dead easy. used canned tomatoes and light cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Wonderful! We subbed tofu for the panir. Will definitely make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This was amazing!! We ate it with roti paratha and it was delicious...so filling! Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mattar Paneer

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 119.0
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    65%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 13.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 13.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    panir

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes