Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Master Cleanser Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Master Cleanser

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2010

      I drink this because it is very good for one's liver (and other organs) and also tastes delicious. The original recipe calls for one to put the juice, syrup, and 1/10 teaspoon cayenne pepper in a 10-ounce glass and fill with medium hot water, although cold water may be used if preferred. Some have interpreted a 10-ounce glass to mean 8 ounces of actual water. I use 10 drops of liquid cayenne pepper drops.

      The recipe for a 60 oz. (daily) serving is:
      60 ounces of filtered water
      12 Tablespoons (6 ounces) of organic grade B maple syrup
      12 Tablespoons (6 ounces) of organic lemon juice
      1/2 Teaspoon cayenne pepper powder

      One reviewer mentioned that honey can be substituted for the maple syrup. The original book states "honey must NOT be used at any time internally. It is manufactured from the nectar picked up from the flowers by the bees, pre-digested, vomited and stored for their own future use with a preservative added. It is deficient in calcium and has many detrimental effects for the human being."

      Other recommendations are to keep it in a glass jar and also to rinse your mouth with water after each glass to prevent tooth enamel damage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      I give this four stars because it led me to the book thanks to a review on here, but the whole cleanse isn't in this and the entire thing is very important. I'm just finishing up the raw fruit and vegetable day after 14 days of fasting. and two juice days, and tomorrow is normal eating again. I as well recommend getting the book called 'The Master Cleanser' and reading it closely. I've read other reviews and I have to smile, this is no easy weight loss solution, and the stuff isn't something pleasurable to drink. The biggest part of this cleanse is to detoxify your body. I've lost fifteen pounds, which is a nice bonus, but detoxing to me is more important. I'm also diabetic and had to add protein powder and a twinlab super enzyme into my routine on this to keep my blood glucose level. If you are diabetic, take precautions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      Not sure how plausible this is ... in the nutrition panel alone you can see this does not give you sufficient micronutrients. My friend is giving it a go however.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      I've used this drink for many years as a detox/cleanse whenever I feel I've temporarily abused my body with too much food. The book called THE MASTER CLEANSER also includes a water and salt flush to cleanse the digestive system. Thank you for posting a very healthful recipe! Sincerely, Sherry Belle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I found this recipe last night and decided to give it a try. I did it last year, but I gave up on night 2 due to headaches. This time I plan to stick with it for the full 10 days. I'm almost done day 1 and it was way easier this time than it was last time. I know a lot of people don't like the lemonade but I love spicy foods and I think it tastes great. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      So far so good...i hope i don't anger people by not really using this the way it was intended! I am trying to get healthier and quit smoking. LOVE lemon (i'm Greek!) so I am hoping this will help get me on a good track!!! Besides, it tastes good and it's soothing. How bad can that be?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Wow this actually tasted pretty good. I used lime juice but only had sugar free maple syrup. I know that kind of defeats the purpose of the detox but I just really wanted to try it. I cannot wait to make this again with real pure maple syrup. I also watched a TV program and they said you can replace the syrup with honey also. This is great considering all the benefits it provides to your mind and body. Thanks a lot for posting this. It will become a regular for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      i found this extremely easy to follow, no hunger pangs whatsoever and could still continue to exercise, without feeling tired. so now when i feel like a detox i use this recipe, i also lost two pounds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Tastes terrible. I would love to have rated this well. Who wouldn't want to find an easy solution to weight loss???!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      Today is the completion of the second time that I have completed the Master Cleanse. This time around, I completed 14 days (which was my goal), and am eagerly looking forward to cooking and baking again..for someone other than my puppy ;) I love the MC, because it is a great way to detox your body from so many things that accumulate in it over time. I try to do this once every 6 months, and am always full of energy and have great mental clarity. It is definitely a cleanse that you need to prepare yourself for mentally, and it also helps to show you what kind of role food plays in your life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      I'm on this cleanse for the second time(day 7) along with my husband. It's very mentally challenging, and it's amazing that your body can go so long without food. Someone once said this cleanse is like hitting the 'reset button' on your body. I highly recommend this cleanse. IMPORTANT: Make sure that before you do this cleanse you read the book, " The Master Cleanser"(it's cheap-6 bucks) by Stanly Burroughes (the creator of the diet)to make sure you are following the diet correctly and know exactly how you need to break the fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

    • on January 08, 2007

      Not sure of any of the benefits because I just made this tonight...BUT the taste is wonderful! So refreshing and light. I wanted something hot to drink because it's a little chilly here but didn't want anything coffee or creamy. This was perfect! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I am drinking this along with a very strict diet I have been put on. 80% raw food, 20% cooked. All fruits, vegetables, and whole grains. No oils except extra virgin olive oil. No dairy, no meats, no sugar. I was also told to drink 4 lemons a day in 3 cups water with honey to sweeten(to dissolve gall stones). So this drink fits right in. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I started this diet 5 days ago with my diabetic 16 year old son. I have no will power and it is hard for me to go without eating, and I worry about my son being diabetic. It is so important for him to keep his weight down. I stayed on the diet for 2 days and then went on to my ww plan, it definatly gave me a jump start. My son did well, but got tired of the drink. He takes the syrup in a spoon, downs the lemon juice from a shot glass and drinks the water. He has been on this diet for 5 days and has went to eating 1 small but healthy meal a day and drinking this 2 times, in 5 days he has lost 10 pounds. He is feeling great and being careful with what he eats. He researched the web site recomended by another rater and read that being diabetic he should start with molasses in place of maple syrup. Thanks for a great recipe. I am so happy my son is doing so well looseing weight and eating healthy. I think we all should try this and detox our bodies. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      The master cleaner is amazing, I lost 15 pounds and I grew 2 inches, I thought I was done growing, because I am 19, but it was so crazy. I forgot about food during this diet. I was so happy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2006

      I'm on Day 6 of Master Cleanse. This lemonade is actually quite delicious. It makes staying on this fast very easy! I've lost 6 lbs so far but I'm not doing this for weight loss. I've lost half an inch off my waist. I wish it slimmed down my hips and thighs but alas, those are the stubborn areas. I would highly recommend the "lemonade diet" to anyone for added health benefits. It has also cleared up my acne and my past acne scars are started to lighten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      i tried this recipe in just two days and i already can see a result my stomach is not as bloated and i feel so much more alive. THANKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      I found this recipe ages ago and keep thinking about it, but never really remembering to look it up! So, I'm glad I revisited it! First of all, I like the spicy lemony taste of this - as opposed to my usual lemon water I drink first thing in the a.m. It's a nice change. Anyway, I had this yesterday, for the frist time and I literally felt less bloated and especially in my belly! I even wore a skin tight top! I stopped by my Mom's mid-afternoon, and my mom said several times how slim I looked :-o And not that she doesn't compliment me, but she doesn't do it all the time. I really felt the difference too - so add 'em together and I'm sooooo going to keep this up! I'm not able to fast this week 'cuz I'm going on vacation (You have to eat on vacay!), but I will have this for my breakfast, and then drink lemon water during the day and see how it goes... I'll let you know. Thanks for this - I am so glad to find it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      I used this to jump start my weight loss program, I have about 15 lbs to lose. I think it tasted great and I just ran some plain water through my coffee maker so the water would be warm when I wanted to drink some. Unfortunately, I could only make it to about 6:00 p.m. and had to have a salad for dinner. Thank you for helping start my weight loss program it really gave me the incentive to keep going. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Master Cleanser

    Serving Size: 1 (410 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 112.3
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    85%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 24.5 g
    98%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites