35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I drink this because it is very good for one's liver (and other organs) and also tastes delicious. The original recipe calls for one to put the juice, syrup, and 1/10 teaspoon cayenne pepper in a 10-ounce glass and fill with medium hot water, although cold water may be used if preferred. Some have interpreted a 10-ounce glass to mean 8 ounces of actual water. I use 10 drops of liquid cayenne pepper drops.

The recipe for a 60 oz. (daily) serving is:
60 ounces of filtered water
12 Tablespoons (6 ounces) of organic grade B maple syrup
12 Tablespoons (6 ounces) of organic lemon juice
1/2 Teaspoon cayenne pepper powder

One reviewer mentioned that honey can be substituted for the maple syrup. The original book states "honey must NOT be used at any time internally. It is manufactured from the nectar picked up from the flowers by the bees, pre-digested, vomited and stored for their own future use with a preservative added. It is deficient in calcium and has many detrimental effects for the human being."

Other recommendations are to keep it in a glass jar and also to rinse your mouth with water after each glass to prevent tooth enamel damage.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Netgirl's Healthy Cookbook October 17, 2010

I give this four stars because it led me to the book thanks to a review on here, but the whole cleanse isn't in this and the entire thing is very important. I'm just finishing up the raw fruit and vegetable day after 14 days of fasting. and two juice days, and tomorrow is normal eating again. I as well recommend getting the book called 'The Master Cleanser' and reading it closely. I've read other reviews and I have to smile, this is no easy weight loss solution, and the stuff isn't something pleasurable to drink. The biggest part of this cleanse is to detoxify your body. I've lost fifteen pounds, which is a nice bonus, but detoxing to me is more important. I'm also diabetic and had to add protein powder and a twinlab super enzyme into my routine on this to keep my blood glucose level. If you are diabetic, take precautions.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow May 05, 2008

Not sure how plausible this is ... in the nutrition panel alone you can see this does not give you sufficient micronutrients. My friend is giving it a go however.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gym tonic January 23, 2007

I've used this drink for many years as a detox/cleanse whenever I feel I've temporarily abused my body with too much food. The book called THE MASTER CLEANSER also includes a water and salt flush to cleanse the digestive system. Thank you for posting a very healthful recipe! Sincerely, Sherry Belle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry Belle October 17, 2009

I found this recipe last night and decided to give it a try. I did it last year, but I gave up on night 2 due to headaches. This time I plan to stick with it for the full 10 days. I'm almost done day 1 and it was way easier this time than it was last time. I know a lot of people don't like the lemonade but I love spicy foods and I think it tastes great. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG February 09, 2009

So far so good...i hope i don't anger people by not really using this the way it was intended! I am trying to get healthier and quit smoking. LOVE lemon (i'm Greek!) so I am hoping this will help get me on a good track!!! Besides, it tastes good and it's soothing. How bad can that be?!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrshanes December 30, 2008

Wow this actually tasted pretty good. I used lime juice but only had sugar free maple syrup. I know that kind of defeats the purpose of the detox but I just really wanted to try it. I cannot wait to make this again with real pure maple syrup. I also watched a TV program and they said you can replace the syrup with honey also. This is great considering all the benefits it provides to your mind and body. Thanks a lot for posting this. It will become a regular for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashlynn08 December 20, 2008

i found this extremely easy to follow, no hunger pangs whatsoever and could still continue to exercise, without feeling tired. so now when i feel like a detox i use this recipe, i also lost two pounds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsusvistazul August 19, 2008

Tastes terrible. I would love to have rated this well. Who wouldn't want to find an easy solution to weight loss???!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
padreaming April 28, 2008

Today is the completion of the second time that I have completed the Master Cleanse. This time around, I completed 14 days (which was my goal), and am eagerly looking forward to cooking and baking again..for someone other than my puppy ;) I love the MC, because it is a great way to detox your body from so many things that accumulate in it over time. I try to do this once every 6 months, and am always full of energy and have great mental clarity. It is definitely a cleanse that you need to prepare yourself for mentally, and it also helps to show you what kind of role food plays in your life.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pikake21 March 05, 2007
Master Cleanser