109 Reviews

Shortly after Di posted this Brine recipe I used it on a buffalo roast and it did wonders in making it juicy and tender. Last night I bbq'd a half turkey that had been in my freezer since Christmas. I used this brine and marinated the bird for 28 hours - everyone agreed that they had never tasted a moister, better bird. Thank-you again Di you have made a believer out of me!

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy July 14, 2003

I used this recipe to brine my Thanksgiving Turkey and I just wanted to say that it is the only way that I will be roasting my birds from now on. I followed your instructions to the letter only I had a 20lb bird so I did double the brine. This was absolutely the most flavorful, juiciest bird that ever graced my kitchen. I let it rest 30 minutes before carving and it sliced like a dream. Thank you Di! And I apoligize as I thought I had already reviewed!

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher December 10, 2002

Kept forgetting to rate this, Excellent! I couldnt make a roast unless it was a pot roast to have it turn out tender. This recipe made the perfect beef roast, I plan on trying it with lots of other meats.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara March 12, 2002

Found this a little late to marinate the full 48 hours, it would have been more like 26. I used it for a 4kg turkey and I'm telling you, it was the most tender turkey I've ever made, sure glad I found it. Thanks Di. =)

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* December 25, 2001

I also did a turkey,and also only marinated for about 27 or 28 hours and let me just say 'Wow.'It was very juicy and mooist.I can't wait to try this on other cuts of meat.It was wonderful.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Divinemom5 February 11, 2002

Great idea - First time I brined a turkey before deep frying. Thanks Diana You made a believer out of me I liked it so much I made another one a week after and to experiment I added a cup of soy sauce, just because I like the taste. It turned out great also. Thank you again, Helga

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helga Petersen December 12, 2002

Well, Everyone is right. This was so delicious. Our turkey came out the most juicy that I have ever seen before. This is a keeper and I am going to use it all of the time. Thank you so much for this great recipe.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingerbear December 01, 2002

FABULOUS!!!!! This recipe is incredible!! I've used it twice now, once for a pork roast, and again for a turkey!! The meats were VERY moist and tender and oh, the flavor it imparts!! You HAVE to try this one...you'll be hooked!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mishkapett February 02, 2003

My kids said this stunk, but I thought it smelled GREAT, and the meat was EXCELLENT!! And I had 20 lbs. of it, so it was an act of faith!!! I served 20 lbs. boneless pork loin roast that I brined on Christmas Day to 30 people, and they LOVED it!!! Great recipe!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess December 30, 2002

5 Stars for Excellent!! Truthfully, I have never used a brine before, but after trying this one, I am very pleased with the results. I followed the recipe with only one exception. I didn't have any allspice, so I substituted with sage. We brined a 10 lb. turkey for 24 hours and then smoked it whole on our grill. (I only stumbled upon the brine recipes here at 'zaar, early Christmas Eve morning, so I was a little worried about not soaking it for the full 48 hours.) Not a problem!! We smoke turkeys alot and this one was by far the best ever! Very moist, tender and really flavorful! I can't wait to try this brine using a brisket.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas December 26, 2002
Master Brine Recipe for Meats