9 Reviews

Very very good. We did add a little milk and some salt because all we had was unsalted butter. My daughter, who usually won't touch anything sweet potato or yam like, absolutely loved this. Way to go! We will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Saskatchewan Bound November 28, 2009

This was my first yam recipe and it hit the spot! I followed the recipe exactly, doubling it. We found the taste just right, but I would have added a splash of milk for a creamier consistency as another reviewer suggested. I used a hand mixer and the texture was fine, but I would have boiled them a little longer to make them smoother. My boys (who don't like anything resembling a sweet potato, refused to give this recipe any stars...) Haha, more leftovers for the rest of us!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace-AK August 11, 2009

I'm not a yam fan, but I made this for Thanksgiving anyway. I added some maple syrup to the mix (a family tradition) and added marshmallows to the top. I popped the finished product in the oven to melt the marshmallows. What a great recipe! I cinnamon gives it a great flavor. This is a must-make recipe for anyone who thinks they don't like yams. You'll change your mind. I did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrambled Mama November 29, 2008

I don't usually sweeten my yams with sugar or cinnamon because I do like the flavor of a yam but I thought I would try something different and it was really nice, not too sweet just enough. Unfortunately, my family didn't like Yams at all so I had a HUGE pot left over, which I turned into soup the following Thursday! The kids enjoyed the yams which was nice too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcMom October 17, 2008

Very easy. Omit the sugar and cinnamon. Enjoy the flavor of the yams themselves. Had it with a ham slice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thisolddog February 01, 2008

These were good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenEyesCO January 11, 2008

I made these the night before Thanksgiving by baking the three large yams I had in the house. I doubled the butter and added 2T of cinnamon sugar. On Thanksgiving I put them back in the oven to heat. I thought they were delicious! Even my sister who doesn't eat yams said they weren't bad and she wouldn't mind eating them. I reheated the leftovers over the weekend and they were still delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phyllis_kirchdoerffer November 26, 2007

I made these last night and they were delicious. I had 4 good sized yams so I had to add more sugar to get them just right!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SemperFi October 06, 2007

this was tremendous. a great alternative to mashed potatoes. i skipped the cinnamon and added a couple of splashes of milk just to get the consistency i like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miggy January 13, 2006
Mashed Yams