Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mashed Sweet Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    97 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 97

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2010

      Delicious! Tried other mashed sweets, but couldn't find the right mix, til now! Being lazy, I didn't even cut the pieces small, just in big chunks, and used 1% milk instead of heavy cream. Whipped them in the Kitchenaid mixer and they were perfect! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      I tried it and these are great!! You have to trust that eventually they will soften. Leave the heat on low and keep busy but keep your nose open. Mine didn't burn like some of the other reviewers. I think if you become impatient or lose trust and up the fire then you'll run into those problems. At the end of about 45 mins. I went to mash and they mashed perfectly and with ease. I added nutmeg, cinnamon, salt and pepper. Fab!! I substituted the heavy cream for 2 percent milk. Excellent!! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I almost didn't make this recipe because I thought it was odd that the sweet potatoes weren't boiled first. I am so glad I made these. After using the originally recipe a few times I now use whole milk instead of cream and low fat margarine to make these healthier and they taste the same. I make these atleast once a month now as well as for holiday meals. Even my anti-vegetable husband eats this as well as my toddler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      This was the top hit at our Thanksgiving. We added Orange-Ginger flavoring: combine 2 tbsp grated ginger, zest from 1/2 orange and 2 tbsp of bourbon. After potatoes are cooked and whipped, fold in the orange-ginger mixture. Serve with a sprinkle of nutmeg or cinammon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      Very good, even with the low fat butter that I used. With regular butter I bet it would have simply rocked! Do not doubt the cooking instructions, the potatoes will indeed cook following the directions in the time period said. I was so skeptical that I started it earlier than I should have (was also making applesauce meatloaf and low fat cornbread) and ended up cooking it for longer than I was supposed to (had to turn the heat done to almost nothing), but it still worked. If you cook it for long enough and keep stirring the potatoes will keep falling apart and will almost looked mashed without even using a masher. I wasnt sure I understood how big the pieces were supposed to be, so I just cut them into pretty small cubes and used a dutch oven (I think thats what they are called) because I didnt have a saucepan big enough. Definitely double this recipe if you are cooking for more than 2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      Wonderful! I followed recipe with the following additions: a tsp of Gran Marnier and a 1/4 tsp of ground ginger. Loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Okay ,I loved this recipe. My entire extended family loved it. I loved it mostly because I was very busy and for the 90 minute saute time, I stirred it every 10-15 minutes. And managed to get a lot of other things done. Gas stove top, on low. I used Agave for the sweetner (I had it so I used it). I used my kitchen aid so easy. There was like 2 or 3 large lumps, I ate them, that was my favorite part. Just needed to mix more. Thank you so much. I'm passing this on by request.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      These were great. I used sucanat in place of white sugar and 2% milk instead of cream because I had none on hand. So easy delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      I used our organic whole milk in place of the cream, as that's all I had on hand. Worked out fine! These were super yummy and went nicely with our meatloaf for dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      We really enjoyed these easy to make sweet potatoes. I was worried that they would not cook properly without more liquid but they turned out perfect and were absolutely delicious. What a nice alternative to baked sweet potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      Outstanding. I made this for the first time for Christmas dinner, with company, so the stakes were high! I thought the recipe seemed unusual by not boiling the potatoes, but forged ahead and am so glad that I did. It was absolutely great, very very easy, and perfect for those who don't like real sweet dishes. Just fresh tasting and really terrific. I feel well armed to face all future holiday dinners with such a reliable and delicious sweet potato recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      This was a huge hit last night at our Thanksgiving celebration. I really hate those typical candied sweet potato dishes, but wanted something kind of traditional that included sweet potatoes. I doubled it, and ended up adding WAAAY more cream (to the chagrin of my enlarging hips!) Really wonderful, though, and I can't wait to eat the leftovers today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      Excellent! I didn't have cream available so substituted an equivalent amount of sour cream. Worked very well. This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      I love simple, one pot, dishes. And this one was fantastic! Who would have thought one could just put the potatoes, butter, cream, all in one pot and it would cook enough to mash! I thought I was going to have to boil the potatoes first. This recipe is a definite winner. I will be making this over and over again. Thanks so much for sharing! Oh, I did have to use half and half as, I did not have any cream. And I did use a little more than suggested. It was DELISH!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      I was looking for a different version of sweet potatos other than the overly sweet, candied, syrupy, covered in marshmellow sweet potato dish and came across this one. It was fantastic! My family loved it. I was also apprehensive about the cream amount and the cooking time, but stay with it and the potatos cook up perfectly. I add a bit of brown sugar and cinnamon. Best sweet potato recipe ever!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      Delicious and easy to make. I used skim milk instead of cream with sucess. Will be making again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Delicious and very easy. I tried just slicing one of the potatoes. Not recommended. The ones in cubes cooked a lot faster. I omitted the sugar. Thanks for a recipe without marshmallows! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I made this with Smart Balance spread and fat free half & half. It was still creamy and delicious. I cut the potatoes up smaller so they would cook even faster. I have already made this recipe twice within the past week... and I'm sure I will be making it again. Thanks, Kimke!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      If you don't like sweet potatoes, you will now! This is the BEST way to eat them! I boiled the potatoes whole before hand, peeled them and diced them, then continued on with the recipe. Kimke you're a genius, thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I've never been a fan of sweet potatoes but decided to give this recipe a try because my boyfriend loves them. I must admit that I'm amazed--these are wonderful! Like other reviewers, I was worried about the little amount of liquid used to cook the potaotes, so I followed the recipe but kept an eye on the potatoes and added milk instead of more cream when the liquid seemed to soak up. The potatoes were so tender after about 30 minutes that I could easily mash them w/my spoon. Thank you for the easy, delicious recipe Kimke!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mashed Sweet Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.9
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    39%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 40.8 mg
    13%
    Sodium 419.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes