13 Reviews

Oh Mama! What an awesome dish! I made this exactly as written and doubled the recipe and took it to a Scandinavian themed dinner at our congregation. It got rave reviews from one and all. I'll be making this quite frequently I imagine. Even DH ("What? another vegetable? pretty soon we'll just be eating grass!") cleaned his plate and went back for seconds. Yum, yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B June 26, 2009

Mmm Mmm Good! I halved the recipe and didn't have nutmeg in the house but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I used beef broth and loved the flavor it gave the veggies. I think the parsnips tasted GREAT with the beef broth. I never would have thought of boiling them in broth I always use water. Thank you so much for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy January 26, 2009

This was such a wonderful change of pace from plain old potatoes. The carrots especially added a lot of flavor. I'm going to do this more often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vigilant20 April 23, 2008

I love this, though I usually just boil in water rather than broth, skip the nutmeg and might add a dash of milk to the finished product (like I would mashed potatoes). I like to add garlic as well. I think they're outstanding and my husband will eat a small portion (which is good, for veggies; he hates them) so this is 5 stars in my book!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannaLW January 29, 2008

OMG!!i loved it.i added some so sause and peas though.my whole family loved it too!! thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saternoutlaw May 30, 2007

What a great way to add more veggies to your diet, disguised as potatoes! I used homemade vegetable broth and only 2 tbsps of butter. My vegetables were pretty right on for the ingredient list, and it took one carrot, 2 parsnips and 2 medium russet potatoes. I think I'll try the leftovers with a little sour cream & garlic added, since you can never go wrong with either of them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 March 28, 2007

OMG! Loved, Loved, Loved this. I was already an addict of mashed vegies but had never thought to use parsnips . It was fabulous!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calms79 January 26, 2007

Loved it! Toni's review made me try this, and I'm so glad I did! A fabulous part of Thanksgiving. I used yukon gold potatoes, parsnips and carrots. I couldn't actually taste the nutmeg so I could see myself adding a little bit more next time. But it was so good that maybe I won't!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit November 24, 2006

I want a sixth star. This almost didn't hit the table as I was "sampling" straight out of the pot and made quite a dent. I loved the way this worked out both in terms of texture and flavor. The parsnips and carrots are less mushy than the potaotoes so you get these sweet little bites mixed among the creamy potatoes. As a result each bite is a little different -- so you taste each of the components as well as the dish as a whole. My particular combination was 2 cups potatos, 1 cup white turnips, 2 cups parsnips and 1 cup of carrots. I used light butter in mine. Don't whip these, you'll loose half the fun of the dish! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni November 12, 2006
Mashed Root Veggies - "stappa"