Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mashed Root Veggies - "stappa" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mashed Root Veggies - "stappa"

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2009

      Oh Mama! What an awesome dish! I made this exactly as written and doubled the recipe and took it to a Scandinavian themed dinner at our congregation. It got rave reviews from one and all. I'll be making this quite frequently I imagine. Even DH ("What? another vegetable? pretty soon we'll just be eating grass!") cleaned his plate and went back for seconds. Yum, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Mmm Mmm Good! I halved the recipe and didn't have nutmeg in the house but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I used beef broth and loved the flavor it gave the veggies. I think the parsnips tasted GREAT with the beef broth. I never would have thought of boiling them in broth I always use water. Thank you so much for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Excellent. Halved the recipe. Used mostly parsnips, then potatoes, then carrots. Omitted the nutmeg. Tasty. Served this with Irish Honey Whiskey Sauce and Amish Turnip/Tatie Bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      This was such a wonderful change of pace from plain old potatoes. The carrots especially added a lot of flavor. I'm going to do this more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I love this, though I usually just boil in water rather than broth, skip the nutmeg and might add a dash of milk to the finished product (like I would mashed potatoes). I like to add garlic as well. I think they're outstanding and my husband will eat a small portion (which is good, for veggies; he hates them) so this is 5 stars in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      OMG!!i loved it.i added some so sause and peas though.my whole family loved it too!! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      What a great way to add more veggies to your diet, disguised as potatoes! I used homemade vegetable broth and only 2 tbsps of butter. My vegetables were pretty right on for the ingredient list, and it took one carrot, 2 parsnips and 2 medium russet potatoes. I think I'll try the leftovers with a little sour cream & garlic added, since you can never go wrong with either of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      OMG! Loved, Loved, Loved this. I was already an addict of mashed vegies but had never thought to use parsnips . It was fabulous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      Loved it! Toni's review made me try this, and I'm so glad I did! A fabulous part of Thanksgiving. I used yukon gold potatoes, parsnips and carrots. I couldn't actually taste the nutmeg so I could see myself adding a little bit more next time. But it was so good that maybe I won't!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      I want a sixth star. This almost didn't hit the table as I was "sampling" straight out of the pot and made quite a dent. I loved the way this worked out both in terms of texture and flavor. The parsnips and carrots are less mushy than the potaotoes so you get these sweet little bites mixed among the creamy potatoes. As a result each bite is a little different -- so you taste each of the components as well as the dish as a whole. My particular combination was 2 cups potatos, 1 cup white turnips, 2 cups parsnips and 1 cup of carrots. I used light butter in mine. Don't whip these, you'll loose half the fun of the dish! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      The whole family really enjoyed the flavor of this dish. It was a nice change from regular potatoes, and a wonderful way to add extra veggies to a meal. We will be serving this one often, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      I have never had anything like this before. I did use the parsnips but added 1 more potatoe. I also mashed with 2 cloves minced garlic. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      Quick and simple to make; great on flavour. I used homemade chicken stock and the stock and nutmeg added just so much wonderful extra flavour to vegetables that are delicious anyway. I used all three vegetables and the carrots were baby carrots so I used half a dozen. When seasoning the mashed vegetables, I used garlic salt. Thank you, Hope, for an easy to make fabulous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mashed Root Veggies - "stappa"

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 104.4
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    27%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 266.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes