26 Reviews

Selected the Lemony Mash option and found it to have a bright lively flavor. Must say this is the first time I have ever made mashed potatoes using oil instead of butter. I did increase the lemon zest by 1 teaspoon as other reviewers had stated that the options were a little light on flavor. Thanks for the post.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl May 05, 2012

Thank you for coming up with some innovative mashed potatoes recipes. I made the Posh Mash for the "Variety is the Spice of Life" event.

I followed the recipe exactly, and I have to agree with the last review, the garlic didn't really come through, and the cheese was kinda lost.

However, these potatoes were really good. I think when I make it again, I may add a couple more cloves of garlic and more cheese.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
personalchef May 04, 2012

I made this with the Posh French mash option. The garlic flavor didn't come through as much as I would have liked. All in all it's a nice way to dress up plain mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing. Made for Variety is the Spice of Life event.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY May 03, 2012

Good basic recipe. I used soy milk instead of skim milk due to dietary reasons and I chose to make the Lemony mash. This went very well with Basic Chicken Breasts W/ 4 Variation Toppers and a green salad.
Thanks for posting.
Made for Variety is the Spice of Life.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo May 10, 2012

I made the Pesto Potatoes for the Variety Event. I didn't expect to be wowed. I was honestly floored by the terrific flavor! If you like pesto this is a terrific use for that bit remaining from another use. This would pair well well with a chicken or eggplant parmigiana or even meatloaf. I'll be making it again. Thank you for sharing the recipe! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D May 08, 2012

I enjoyed this as a good basic mashed potato recipe. I made using the Caesar variation, which gave it an interesting subtle flavor enhancement. I used the green can parmesan instead of fresh and cut the recipe in half. Thanks for posting kineline.
Made for Variety is the Spice of Life Event.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloe cooker May 02, 2012

I used the basic recipe without any of the variations and do think warming the the milk makes a better mash though a new one was adding the butter to it for me and I scaled back for 3 serves and felt there was too much liquid for the mash and it was rather sloppy but tasted really nice. Thank you kineline for the recipe and Karen Elizabeth for the recommendation, made for I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat July 13, 2012

We enjoy flavored mashed potatoes and the cheese and onion mash was so good. I did use Yukon Gold potatoes, unsalted butter and only cheddar cheese since that is what I had on hand. Used a potato masher so there was some texture then folded in the cheese and green onion. Served with Basic Chicken Breasts W/ 4 Variation Toppers by Renee Redman and had the tomato-artichoke topper.
Will be trying a couple other versions of the potatoes! Made and reviewed for the contest and events forum Variety is the Spice of Life Event 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 03, 2012

First off you need to know my daughter and I are mustard freaks. With that said, I'm sure you figured out I made the Mustard mash variation. I used Grey Poupon Country Dijon w/course ground mustard. I hand mashed which left lumps but that is fine with us. This was fast and easy to make. I may make one change, being cutting back on this brand of mustard by 2 tablespoons. I can always add it in. Mustard lovers of the world, I think you will really enjoy this recipe. Made for Variety is the Spice of Life Event 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J May 31, 2012

I made the Ceasar version of these potatoes. I found them to have a subtle ceasar flavor, which was good because I'm not sure my whole family would have enjoyed a strong flavor. It's nice to have another variation to throw together when needed! Made for Variety is the Spice of Life Event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean May 31, 2012
Mashed Potatoes With Variations