Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mashed Potatoes With Onion and Dill Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mashed Potatoes With Onion and Dill

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2010

      I had too many russets on hand so I used those in place of red potatoes. I also had to use dried dill because fresh dill isn't growing in our garden until summer. The mashed potatoes accompanied fish fillets and asparagus for a delicious, simple meal. I was careful not to add too much buttermilk as per the advice of another reviewer. A pinch of white pepper was added. Thanks for posting! Reviewed for Veg Swap #19-2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I used Kittencal's Caramelized Onions for the caramelized onions. This a great variation on the typical mashed potatoes. The addition of the dill and the onions was tasty and fresh, it made a great accompaniment to pork chops that were breaded with a lemon dill breading. I left the skin on the potatoes, but other wise I followed the recipe as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      I love mashed potatos with caramelized onions, but never thought to add dill. What a great idea! Very yummy potatos, but make sure to add a little of the buttermilk at a time because I ended up with slightly soupy potatos. It was completely my fault, my large potatoes must have been smaller than yours :) Anyway, just watch out for that and thanks for posting Sarah_Jayne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Made for Australia/NZ Swap #22 Nice recipe with caramelized onions --left skins on neew potatoes and had to use dried dill - but not necessarily something I would do again. Thanks for psting, Sarah_Jayne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Sarah, these mashed potatoes are WONDERFUL!!! I have to admit I am a bit of a mashed potato snob. I love them, but the plain every day ones don't cut it...I prefer designer blend potatoes :o) And don't even mention the flakes in a box. Now my kids on the other hand hear the words mashed potatoes and they go running for the hills. None of them have ever liked any form of squashed spuds. Tonight I am pleased to say that 3 out of the four ate all their potatoes without any complaints! The 4th ate 1/2 which is an amazing feat. I will definitely make these again. It is going in my Company's Coming and Holiday Favorites recipe collections. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe. Made for Veg*n Recipe Swap 2

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Loved these so much. Such creamy goodness. Made for ZWT. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      These went over well with guests, and were easy to make. I did have to use dried dill because our family don't like dill in the larger amounts that the fresh packets offer but for the rest I stuck to the recipe. Please see my rating system: 4 lovely stars for a simple recipe with a heap of flavour, especially if you love dill. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Wow! This was soooo good! I used russet potatoes because I had a big bag of them and fake buttermilk (1 cup milk + 1 T vinegar) because I'm like that. lol. Oh and 2 tsp dried dill, also because I'm like that. Anyway, these were amazing!!! Wow! Delicious! Reviewed for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      oh my these are goooood taters!! the carmelized onion gave it a bit of a sweetness that was great. i couldnt help myself & added a bit of minced garlic & about a tablespoon of butter...i put garlic in almost everything! anyways, thanks for the great recipe! i will post my pic but its not as nice as the rest so i wont be offended if you don't use it!! :) thanks again, made for zwt4!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      What a great mashed potato recipe. I made the recipe exactly as written, but I too chose to leave the skins on. The carameized onions and dill really took this dish over the top. Thanks for sharing another great recipe. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      This is one of those mashed potatoes recipes that stand out. I can still taste how good they are. The only change in this recipe was I chose to cut the potatoes , boil then remove the skin. Alot easier for me to do it this way. Great recipe will be making over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Your recipe was followed with the exception of one thing ~ I didn't peel the potatoes, & I cut them into SMALL chunks so that the pieces of peel weren't very big [I LIKE the peel!]! I also liked the onions done the way suggested & the fresh dill, all of it much more than I usually add to my mashed potatoes! Thanks for a great recipe! [Made & reviewed while in Eastern Europe with Zaar's World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mashed Potatoes With Onion and Dill

    Serving Size: 1 (411 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.0
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    80%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 1.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 452.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.6 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    25%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    caramelized onion

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes