12 Reviews

I had too many russets on hand so I used those in place of red potatoes. I also had to use dried dill because fresh dill isn't growing in our garden until summer. The mashed potatoes accompanied fish fillets and asparagus for a delicious, simple meal. I was careful not to add too much buttermilk as per the advice of another reviewer. A pinch of white pepper was added. Thanks for posting! Reviewed for Veg Swap #19-2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 19, 2010

I used Kittencal's Caramelized Onions for the caramelized onions. This a great variation on the typical mashed potatoes. The addition of the dill and the onions was tasty and fresh, it made a great accompaniment to pork chops that were breaded with a lemon dill breading. I left the skin on the potatoes, but other wise I followed the recipe as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee June 01, 2009

I love mashed potatos with caramelized onions, but never thought to add dill. What a great idea! Very yummy potatos, but make sure to add a little of the buttermilk at a time because I ended up with slightly soupy potatos. It was completely my fault, my large potatoes must have been smaller than yours :) Anyway, just watch out for that and thanks for posting Sarah_Jayne.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean March 12, 2009

Made for Australia/NZ Swap #22 Nice recipe with caramelized onions --left skins on neew potatoes and had to use dried dill - but not necessarily something I would do again. Thanks for psting, Sarah_Jayne.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney November 03, 2008

Sarah, these mashed potatoes are WONDERFUL!!! I have to admit I am a bit of a mashed potato snob. I love them, but the plain every day ones don't cut it...I prefer designer blend potatoes :o) And don't even mention the flakes in a box. Now my kids on the other hand hear the words mashed potatoes and they go running for the hills. None of them have ever liked any form of squashed spuds. Tonight I am pleased to say that 3 out of the four ate all their potatoes without any complaints! The 4th ate 1/2 which is an amazing feat. I will definitely make these again. It is going in my Company's Coming and Holiday Favorites recipe collections. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe. Made for Veg*n Recipe Swap 2

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate September 08, 2008

Loved these so much. Such creamy goodness. Made for ZWT. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing June 18, 2008

These went over well with guests, and were easy to make. I did have to use dried dill because our family don't like dill in the larger amounts that the fresh packets offer but for the rest I stuck to the recipe. Please see my rating system: 4 lovely stars for a simple recipe with a heap of flavour, especially if you love dill. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 18, 2008

Wow! This was soooo good! I used russet potatoes because I had a big bag of them and fake buttermilk (1 cup milk + 1 T vinegar) because I'm like that. lol. Oh and 2 tsp dried dill, also because I'm like that. Anyway, these were amazing!!! Wow! Delicious! Reviewed for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 June 17, 2008

oh my these are goooood taters!! the carmelized onion gave it a bit of a sweetness that was great. i couldnt help myself & added a bit of minced garlic & about a tablespoon of butter...i put garlic in almost everything! anyways, thanks for the great recipe! i will post my pic but its not as nice as the rest so i wont be offended if you don't use it!! :) thanks again, made for zwt4!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catalinacrawler June 17, 2008

What a great mashed potato recipe. I made the recipe exactly as written, but I too chose to leave the skins on. The carameized onions and dill really took this dish over the top. Thanks for sharing another great recipe. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 June 15, 2008
Mashed Potatoes With Onion and Dill