Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mashed Potatoes with Ham Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mashed Potatoes with Ham

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 20, 2002

      Lorac, bless your grandmother! I just stumbled upon this recipe this morning during a "search." I was craving a mashed potato type dish, and this one caught my eye so I whipped it up for lunch. I had to use instant mashed potatoes but they tasted like homemade with the addition of the seperated eggs and ham chunks! I got really decadent and sprinkled on a layer of shredded cheddar cheese during the last ten minutes of baking. This one will be made often by yours truly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      this was delicious and fluffy in texture - and Sooooo easy to make! this recipe's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2003

      Total comfort food and great way to use up some of those holiday left overs. Simple, subtle, and delicious. Even my picky SO loved this one. I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      This is an easy recipe, with great taste from just a few ingredients. The saltiness of the ham goes amazingly well with the creaminess of the sour cream and mashed potatoes. Like another review, I topped with some shredded cheddar and it tasted great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      There are 4 things I look for in a recipe...Yumminess, easily obtainable ingredients, simplicity, and picky-husband pleaser. This recipe fit the bill!! It was sooo good! I made it even easier by using instant taters. A definate comfort food, this will be a regular in our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      We've made this several times, and it is one of the few dishes that everyone in the family loves. Easy to make and ingredients are often on hand. The only change I've made is to use lower fat sour cream - haven't tried fat free. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      I made this tonight for dinner, I had leftover ham, This recipe was really good, everybody kept on saying how light and fluffy this was and now I know, I did take the advice of others and sprinkled Cheddar Cheese the last 10 mins. of cooking, I did use Yukon Gold Potatoes. And I also baked it a little longer. I will be making this again, Thank you Lorac for sharing your family recipe.!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      Really Yummy! Even my 7 and 5 yr olds likes it. It came out so light and fluffy. A nice change of pace compaired to just warming the leftovers up. I made it in a 9x9" baking dish and it wasn't done in the middle, so either use a bigger dish or up the baking time a bit. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      Delightful dish! I'm amazed that such an easy recipe makes such a fabulous meal. I used leftover pork tenderloin which I would not recommend, ham would better compliment this dish. This came out light and airy with the great flavor of potatoes without the heaviness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I am so glad you gave me the link to your ham cookbook! This was wonderful. I love that it has ingredients that you have on hand. It was super easy to whip up. Nothing quite like a one dish meal. What I liked about it is that the consistency was nice and creamy. I did use Yukon Gold potatos which to me seem more creamy than baking potatos. I will definately be trying with regular potatos for my own curiousity. I also used reduced fat sour cream which worked fine in the recipe. The only addition I made was to add cheese (since it goes with everything!) on the top in the last 5 minutes of baking. The other thing I like about this recipe is it is perfect to even fix the night before and pop in the oven the next day. An added bonus with all the kids starting up their sports. I will definately be making this again, maybe even trying it with chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Went looking on the 'zaar for something to do with leftover ham the other night. This is what I found and it's delish!!! My men didn't even know that they were eating leftovers...LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      Oh wow. I had 1 1/2 cups of leftover mashed potatoes in my fridge and was looking for something to do with it. So I halved this recipe and used fat free sour cream. I also omitted the butter at the end, just spraying the top with some butter spray. As I had halved this I started checking at 20 minutes but found that it still needed the full 30 minutes to brown a little. This was simply wonderful. Lots of flavor from so few ingredients. This will be made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      I love "grandma recipes" and this is a perfect example. Pure yummy "grandma" comfort food! Loved the puffy, creamy texture. As others have mentioned, cheese would go well in this, and I'm thinking some sauerkraut would be good baked right in there, too. But it really is fabulous just as it is. Thanx for sharing Grandma's recipe. I'll be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      Good recipe, I would probably add some cheese when I make this again as some of the other reviewers have done. Great way to use leftover ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mashed Potatoes with Ham

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 522.1
     
    Calories from Fat 293
    56%
    Total Fat 32.6 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 16.6 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 201.5 mg
    67%
    Sodium 618.5 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 26.0 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes