Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mashed Potatoes with Garlic, Basil and Chives Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mashed Potatoes with Garlic, Basil and Chives

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2002

      My fussy son actually chose this for dinner last night and was very pleased with himself! It's a lovely mashed spud recipe, the basil is so good, and it's garlicky, but subtley garlicky!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      I made this a few weeks ago, and while it is yummy, it sounds like it has more flavor than it does. I expected a burst of flavor, but it is just good mashed potatoes! I will make again, b/c it helps me use the basil from my garden, but it isn't super spectacular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      I thought the basil overpowered the garlic flavor. Next time I will leave out the basil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      These were delicious and looked so pretty on the plate. I must admit- I'm a garlic wimp and only used 2 cloves though. ;) Because I had some, I added about 1/2 c freshly grated parmesan as well. We'll be eating these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      These are really great. I often make garlic mashed, but have never added basil before. I sure will in the future though :). Made for the Garden Forum Herb/Spice of the Month June 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      These potatoes were yummy. People of all ages enjoyed them. We took previous poster's suggestion and used 8 cloves of garlic per recipe. We also doubled the recipe easily using 16 cloves total. The fresh herbs really make it. Thanks Sue L!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2005

      Very good. The garlic was a little intense for my tastes but I can decrease it appropriately next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2005

      My bf said these were the best potatoes he had ever had! Delicious! I used about 9 cloves of garlic, and would probably use a little less next time (still tasting it). Otherwise, perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      I really loved the garlic and basil in the potatoes! I used russet potatoes, cream cheese instead of milk, less garlic. I served it with meatloaf. I may not be able to go back to plain potatoes again! Roxygirl in Colo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2003

      My husband and I had just recently tried Mizz Nezz's Mashed Red potatoes with garlic & parmesan, and absolutely loved them, so when I saw this recipe, I just had to try it as well! This did not disappoint either! Very yummmy!! When I asked hubby if he thought they were as good, he said..."They are better!!!!!" And I did not have all the proper ingredients either, so they may be even better than what we experienced on this first try!! I only had regular potatoes (not yukon gold)on hand, and only dried basil, not fresh,(used 2 tsps.), and I actually used less garlic, I think it was about 6 cloves, and we found that to be enough for our taste. Other than that I followed the recipe and whipped these up with my mix master. I look forward to making these again with yukons and fresh basil...Thanks for a great recipe!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2003

      These are the best mashed potatoes we have ever had! Even my son loved them - he didn't even ask what the green stuff was!!! I have to rate it 5-star. I did cut back on the butter somewhat and used skim milk and it was still great - I imagine it would even be better with whole milk and the full amount of butter. The fresh chives and basil added great colour and they really complemented the flavour of these garlicky potatoes. This is a real keeper! Thanks Sue L.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mashed Potatoes with Garlic, Basil and Chives

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.9
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    25%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 21.7 mg
    7%
    Sodium 536.4 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes