12 Reviews

I have never received so many compliments for a food dish before! I'm planning to bring to all BBQ invites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy11Morris February 16, 2012

I have made this a couple of times, but used cauliflower instead of potatoes. I steam two 20 oz. (2.5 lbs. total) bags of frozen cauliflower until very tender, drain well and then puree in my food processor. I proceed with the rest of the recipe using only 1/2 of the amount listed for each of the remaining ingredients called for and that still makes plenty for us. Since this is so rich and not exactly healthy, I don't make it that often. When I do, it's pure bliss!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phat & Sassy June 12, 2010

Fantastic! As always with mashed potatoes I didn't use these exact ingredients, but most of them. I LOVE your onion/juice method, never done that before and it was delicious! Used more chives and onions, just a tiny bit of cream cheese because we were almost out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristin D. December 16, 2009

Made it for Thanksgiving dinner. Next time I may add a little milk as these were really thick, but full of flavor. Just a personal preference, not a criticism. Gerry loves twice baked potatoes and this was another version of them that seemed like less work to me. Great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gramara November 23, 2007

Okay, so I know that I gained 5 pounds from these mashed potatoes alone, but it was WORTH IT! These were so filling and flavorful. Be prepared for some leftovers if you're only making it for a few people...it makes quite a bit. My hubby and I both agreed-5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vitameatavegamin Girl November 10, 2007

Mmm mmm good! This was absolutely delicious! I surprised DH with a special dinner for two (not easy with two kids in the house and one on the way!) last night. This dish was simple to prepare and won RAVE reviews from both my husband and myself! Definately will be a repeat dish in our house!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristin July 19, 2007

Great combination of flavors - and I liked the grated onion as opposed to chopped. This was a huge hit at a potluck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4Susan July 05, 2006

This is a fabulous recipe and it was enjoyed by everyone with our Thanksgiving dinner. I made it ahead of time and refrigerated, but I wouldn't suggest that, only because it ended up being a little too dry. I was a bit short on the cheddar cheese, so I added some parmesan. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will make it again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= November 25, 2005

Wonderful! Absolutely perfect! Grating the onion is a really nice touch, so much better than biting into a piece of chopped onion. I riced the potatoes which worked well. Wouldn't change a thing! Thanks, cookin, for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama May 23, 2005

Very enjoyable! My son especially ate and ate them. Thanks for a creative way to make mashed potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trisha W May 09, 2005
Mashed Potatoes With Bacon and Cheddar