Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    129 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 129

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2003

      So simple, so good. This is a great recipe for rich, delicious mashed potatoes. I've tried it with just a pinch of crushed garlic as well and this recipe tastes perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2002

      I made this 2 nights ago and we all loved it. This is the best mashed potatoes I have ever tried,so easy and it's things I always have in the fridge. This is a keeper thanks for a great recipe. I might add a little garlic next time:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2003

      A very good, simple recipe with that little something extra to bring it over the top. I make mashed potatoes similarly, but without the sour cream. The sour cream is the extra secret ingredient that makes the difference. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      PERFECT! I needed a recipe that was quick and easy and this certainly was the one! I left the skins on the potatoes (to make my job easier), I added a little more sour cream, and I left the parsley off. Creamy and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      Best mashed potatoes EVER!!! I added 3 peeled whole cloves of garlic to the water with the potatoes and used Land O Lakes margarine instead of Blue Bonnet, but followed the rest exactly and came out with the creamiest potatoes I've ever made and I've tried numerous recipes...something about the ratio of ingredients in this one makes them the absolute BEST! Thanks for a keeper :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      These were awesome. The first time I used red potato's with skins instead of russet. I did 8 and I barely had room in my pot! The 2nd time I did two Yukon Gold and 5 Red and only did 2 of the potato's with skins and the rest skinned. The first way with all red and more skins was better. Both were awesome. My husband who hates sour cream even loved them (you cant taste the sour cream, it just helps with the creaminess of the taters :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      These were great mashed potatoes! My husband loved them and the kiddies did too. Thank you again Mr. Tsmith70!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      Good,down-to-earth recipe. I did use butter instead of margarine (personal taste)and warmed up the milk with a couple of cloves of garlic (minced) in it. I think that butter milk might be a nice substitute for the regular milk; to add just a little bit of "tang" to the under-lying taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2002

      You are right on Mr. Tsmith70! Your mashed potatoes are the best ever. I've made them two nights in a row and they've been yummie each time. I do believe they're a "Keeper"! Thanks for sharing. Laudee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      I avoid making mash potatoes because I suck at it. This recipe was easy to follow and required minimal ingredients. Didn't change a thing, and IT WAS SLAMMING!!!! Thank you for a fantastic recipe. Will use it always.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      Made it with salted butter, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      Potatoes like this just make me want to eat the whole bowl. I made these for a Thanksgiving dinner, and doubled the recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      Really simple, and really good! I actually am too lazy to even bring out my mixer, so the first try or two the consistency was a bit lumpier than what i prefer. However, I got the hang of it quickly (again, too lazy to pull out the mixer!) and can now easily mash the potatoes with just a handy fork. I typically use about 8 potatoes and it's a LOT for just my husband & I; so usually we use the leftovers for the next night's dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      This has been my go to recipe for years now. Guaranteed success every time! I do use unsalted butter in place of the margarine, omit the parsley, and sometimes add more sour cream and milk if I want the mashed potatoes creamier.<br/><br/>My Boiling Method: Start in cold water, bring to a boil (takes about 15 min). Cover and simmer about 30 min. until fork tender. Drain and place back in pan over heat 30 seconds to remove water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      By far the best mashed potatoes I've ever had. This recipe deserves more than 5 stars! Made it with paprika chicken and sour cream gravy, and the sour cream gravy over this is divine, though we thought the potatoes could stand on their own just the way they are. Incredible, adding this to my recipe box. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      These were great! I loved the sour cream in them. I didn't use the electric mixer just a potato masher and it's still great. Next time I may try it with the mixer. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      I love mashed tators - but never could get them quite right... this recipe does the trick! Everyone says to always add more salt - which is what mine lacked - though, having to be careful how much sodium I use in our foods - this actually will be alright! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      PERFECT! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Just made these for Turkey Day and they are WONDERFUL!!!! Definitely a recipe to keep!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      my family are very particular about their mashed potatoes and this passed with flying colors!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (475 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 450.9
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    26%
    Total Fat 13.5 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 5.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 171.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.4 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites