41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Each and every time I make mashed potatoes I wing/guess the butter and milk. More often than not, I use too much milk and they are a bit wet. Thank you for posting your recipe as this is the first time I've made great mashed potatoes! Better yet I'll be able to do it time and time again (always a surprise in the past) for which my family is very grateful.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn April 03, 2002

Thank You so very much. This is a must for me. I have made so many mashed potatoes that have been to dry or watery. You have done a good job at posting this. Thank You

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda May 13, 2002

We enjoyed the Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook mashed potatoes for our holiday today and went to post it and found your recipe to be a match. The only thing that we did different was instead of an electric mixer I did it by hand with a potato masher. I also use just salt and pepper and no nutmeg. Thanks for posting Tam! Enjoy ChefDLH

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH November 26, 2009

Yum! Simply delicious. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom October 17, 2013

These were simple and good. Will make these again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn January 20, 2012

Simple and good. Thanks Tam for sharing. Made for Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme January 05, 2012

I love mashed potatoes cooked this way. To the previous reviewer before me, you just add salt and pepper to taste, a little at a time until it suits your taste buds. I sometimes throw in a couple ounces of cream cheese to the mix with yummy results. Thanks Tam, for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloe cooker September 01, 2011

Pretty good mashed potatoes, but you didn't say how much salt to put in the water, and with no added salt or pepper at the table, they were on the bland side for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Its Me Busy Bee August 30, 2011

Perfect measurement on ingredients. We loved the potatoes and it was SO easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Lulu February 15, 2011

I am a rice-lover, so I have never made mashed potatoes myself. These hit the spot with my meatloaf, fresh green beans, and sliced tomatoes!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KlaCajun March 24, 2010
Mashed Potatoes