11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM! I love spinach, but DF is not too fond of it (along with mushrooms). However, I always find try to find a way to put them in many dishes. He loved these potatoes so much, he asked for seconds! YAH! I only had 2 large russets, 10 oz of frozen spinach, and 1/2 cup colby jack on hand. I made mashed potatoes as I normally would: boil, drain, mash. I added the butter and appropriate milk, continued with sour cream and cheese, salt and pepper. Although I wish I would have had more cheese on hand, I think it turned out great! Even with being 2 potatoes short from the recipe, we still ending up having 5 large servings. It seems like that kind of recipe that as long as you have the basic ingredients, you can fix it up any way you like. Great, love it! I am going to start making it all the time. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carroll_jo March 23, 2009

My family really enjoyed this. I used all the ingredients listed except I used some seasoned salt. It was really yummy. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn March 09, 2009

I hate spinach... but not with this recipe! I changed a few things. I used fresh spinach, dill instead of dill seed, sweet onion instead of chives and added about a handful of romano cheese. This was so good, and tasted very ukrainian (which I am and love). Thanks so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trish Za Dish July 11, 2008

This is a real family pleasing casserole! Very yummy - will definitely make again. Made and reviewed for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #16.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Diva May 26, 2008

well being a spinach-lover this dish really hit the spot, I suggest to use only russet potatoes for this, they hold up better for baking, I used only 1/4 cup sour cream, omitted the dill seeds, used lots freshly ground black pepper and added in 1/3 cup fresh grated Parmesan cheese and omitted the cheddar on top, this baked out lovely, thanks for sharing Pattikay!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen March 12, 2008

Simple & delicious. I halved the recipe, left the skin on my potatoes & left the butter out. I nearly forgot about the chives, so sprinked them over the top, but I definitely would've preferred their taste mixed in with everything else, so I'll make sure I don't forget next time. Thanks for sharing! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon and Matt February 18, 2008

Yum!!!! !!!!! Am recycling it tonight into potato cakes, but I bet it will be at least as delicious as it was the first time around. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristi Waterworth February 07, 2008

This was a big hit at my company luncheon. I used 1 cup of sour cream with chives & 2 cups of frozen spinach & everyone loved it. I'll be making this again soon.....Thanks pattikay!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agster2 November 20, 2007

Great potatoes and love the spinach! I used Idaho potatoes but they were very starchy and a bit hard to work with. Next time I will use baking potatoes and not have that problem. Added butter and chives, the 1/2 cup sour cream, and added some cheese to the potates. This isnt a diet friendly recipe but it is so good!! Served with Parkers Mom's Hamburger Steak and Gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 August 29, 2007

Love it! The spinach (I used a 10 oz box of frozen thawed) makes these mashed potatoes very flavorful and pretty, too! I used the larger amount listed of (reduced fat) sour cream. I also used both the optional dill and chives. I stirred the dill into the potatoes and sprinkled the chives on top. This potatoes were a huge hit and I know I'll be using this recipe again. Thanx for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* April 25, 2007
Mashed Potato Spinach Casserole