Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mashed Potato Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mashed Potato Pie

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2002

      Confession #1 -- I did not make this recipe. I bought the ingredients, and I "observed", but my daughter Adiya and her friend Chana made this yesterday afternoon. Adiya decided to add some pizza seasoning (that's what it says on the jar). Confession #2 -- There was about a 1/3 of the pie left over after Adiya and 3 of her friends finished eating. Around 11 PM I got the nibblies, and polished the whole thing off in about 8 minutes. Confession #3 -- if you use a disposable 9 inch pie dish, there is minimal clean-up! Next time we're going to add lots more mozzarella cheese on top, since people tend to get very violent when fighting over the crust!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2002

      Great simple recipe Richard...thank you! As is always the way with me, I had to add some fresh minced garlic as well, this one's a keeper and you are correct, it makes for a great presentation too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      Richard this was wonderful. I added plenty of salt, pepper and a little greek seasoning to the potatoes for some spiciness. The pie had a great creamy texture and lovely cheesy taste. It looked beautiful too. Thanks to you and your mom for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2002

      I though this was really good as did my granddaughter and my son. My wife thought it was so-so. I will definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2002

      Fantastic recipe Richard! So easy to put together. This came out so creamy and cheesy. You'd never believe that the base of this was instant mashed potatoes! The only thing I did different was to shake a little "Old Bay" seasoning on top instead of paprika. The spice complimented the pie beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Ever heard of survival of the fittest? Forget the fit part; I'm really diggin' the survival part. Great reuse of instant potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      we tried this tonight.... was a bit dubious as for years i have been making something similar, a southern italian dish, which doesn't contain egg. it was really tasty and, with the instant mash, both economical and quick to prepare. i will make it again but add to it... maybe diced ham, peppers, corn or salami. i prefered the lighter texture of this to the traditional 'gatto di patate' that i usually make. it is unlikely that you will have left overs but, if you do, this is also nice cold. or, it heats up great in the microwave. thanks Richard

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      Just made it today and it was really good came out just like the photos. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      Great way to jazz up instant potatoes! I halved the recipe using 1 pkg of instant garlic potatoes. Baked for about 20 minutes which was perfect. I used all cheddar cheese, but I'm sure the parmesan makes these even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      My husband and I tried this tonight. It was suprising that instant mashed potatoes could be this good. I only used 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and I'm glad I did, iIt would have been way too overpowering. Next time I'm going to put much more cheese on top because we were fighting over the crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      I could still tell that it was instant potatoes but it is a very good recipe (my husband prefers instant!). I followed the recipe except I used cheddar instead of mozzarella b/c that was what I had. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      We have this once a month and love it. My picky dd, who is 3, likes it too. It's impossible to tell the recipe uses instant potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Great side dish. I had some leftover mashed potatoes and used them in place of the instant. We loved the cheese in these. I will make these again. DS#2 said to rate this a 5! (good thing I was going to anyway.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Simple and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      This was good and easy to make. I made this for freezer tag. I made this first as written. It was good but I thought it was missing something. It was a bit plain tasting or maybe a different kind of cheese. Everyone liked it but next time I might add a bit more garlic. The second time I made this I made as written other then once it was cooked, I let it cool and froze. When I was ready to cook, I pulled and let thaw in the fridge. I warmed it up in the oven and it was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      This is surprisingly good, especially considering it uses instant potatoes! (And mine expired Mar '06!!! LOL) I halved the recipe but otherwise followed it. The only change I might make next time is to add a little salt. The next morning I sliced the leftovers and fried in olive oil for a tasty breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Very tasty! The whole family enjoyed this dish. Next time I would surely add bacon and garlic, more garlic! Maybe even garnish with flat leaf parsley. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      This is delicious and family friendly. I substituted 2 cloves fresh garlic for the powder. I put a bit more mozz. cheese on top and I used a shredded parmesan/romano/asiago blend. I baked it for 45 minutes as the recipe called for, but it was too long...it got too brown on the top, sides, and bottom. Next time I will check after 30-35 minutes. It puffed up nicely. Also, next time I will add bacon and chopped scallions to the recipe, and will garnish with scallions on top to give it a "loaded potato" flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      This was very good. My DH hates instanst so he was skeptical but was very impressed with the outcome. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Wow this was good. A little salty for me. I think that this could become a regular. Next time I would use fresh garlic and maybe try different cheeses. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mashed Potato Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 98.6
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    62%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 65.8 mg
    21%
    Sodium 223.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites