16 Reviews

Oh my! This was really, really good. I had left over mashed potatoes from the night before, so this one was a snap to mix and do. It didn't look like leftovers, and surely didn't taste like leftovers. It was very, very good. I did cut back on the sugar to 1 Tbsp. and it was great. Thanks Barbara for sharing this wonderful, easy, recipe.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie September 10, 2002

So yummy! I had some leftover mashed potatoes and just felt like some potato pancakes for lunch, these are great, fluffy and lots of flavour. I had about 2 cups of mashed potatoes and just used the whole lot, no alterations with other ingredients. Made lots too!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* September 20, 2002

My mom always cooked potato pancakes from leftover mashed potatoes and we loved them. It was different from your recipe which I want to try before rating, then I think I should post hers! Thanks for reminding me of one of my fondest memories, Nina

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninja September 12, 2002

excellent, sure made for a nice lunch during the football game last sunday.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paula&matt January 09, 2003

Mmm! We make these with leftover mashed potatoes whenever we have them around. I love Potato Latkes, but the grating is too much work. A wonderful way to deal with leftover mashed potatoes. I love these with sour cream and cheese, and I even make them with instant potatoes when I don't have any mashed.... mmm, I want some right now!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie January 08, 2003

I made these with mashed potatoes leftover from last night. Looks like we will be making mashed potatoes a little more often! I left out the sugar and served mine with shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream mixed with a little dill. For the kids I sprinkled with syrup. Everyone enjoyed the wonderful potato flavor. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphne2002 November 02, 2003

Wow, these are fantastic. I have some cooking on the griddle right now. I added a little vannilla and honey to the batter and my eggs weren't really stiff, but they are great nonetheless! I think they would be equally good with smoked salmon pate for a brunch or luncheon. We are having them with honey and powdered sugar for breakfast. We will be making mashed potatoes for dinner much more often just so I can make these. A real must try!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Hammond August 30, 2003

I suggest it for breakfast for healthy startup in the morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vahini M. March 12, 2016

Needed to use leftover mashed potatos and was looking for something to make for Thanksgiving weekend breakfast. Had planned an egg bake and decided we had eaten enough! I wanted something lighter and quicker. These were surprisingly light and delicious. Used for brunch with a simple fresh fruit salad. I did not make any changes to recipe as written. Whole family loved

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
colleen cooks November 26, 2011

what a wonderful way to use leftover mashed potatoes! DFH and I loved these with applesauce and a bit of butter spray. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
septemberhippie December 22, 2008
Mashed Potato Pancakes