Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mashed Potato Cakes

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2007

      I made this this morning for breakfast. I was going to post this until I found this already posted. My mom makes these all the time. We serve these with ketchup. My mom makes them without onion and parsley and eats them with syrup. I did have to add a lot of flour in order to handle them to make patties. My leftover potatoes were made with milk & butter but they may not have been stiff enough. Awesome for breakfast. Easier than fried potatoes. Potatoes, gotta love em! Thanks Wildrose!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      Don'y know where the flavor came from, but these were great. Nice and brown on the outside and creamy in the middle. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      My family loved these. They were moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside. They were even delicious cold. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      yum very nice! These were very good! Crispy and creamy, a great combination :) I'm going to make these for my dad, who is a fried potato lover, next time i cook for him. I do think they would be good with a little more flavoring, maybee some seasoning salt or a dash of hot sauce, and a dallop of sour cream on top, yum! I bet bacon bits and cheese in the potatoes would be awesome too, you could really get creative with this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      Dh complimented these. I skipped the flour and butter, used grapeseed oil and still got a nice crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      We had a LOT of red potatoes that we needed to get used up. I tried making lefse with them but the reds are just too moist to make really good lefse. In trying to figure something to make to use them up, I came across this recipe. Just made them minutes ago and they are very good. I did have to add flous as the reds are pretty moist. So far, I've made three batches and in each one changed the seasonings just to see what they would taste like and they're all good! I'm going to layer them in a freezer container seperated with wax paper for future meals. I have two more gallon bags of riced potatoes so will keep experimenting with little different twists. Thanks for getting me started!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I'd give it a five, but I changed it so I can't honestly come up with 5. Next time I will follow the recipe exactly by adding more flour and not adding the sauerkraut! But, oooohhh that was a good pancake with applesauce on the top! I'm a potato-sauerkraut fan and couldn't resist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      I just made this for dinner tonight and the potato cakes were delicious! I didnt have any onion powder on hand, so I used about a tsp of chopped fresh chives instead. They gave the cakes a mild onion flavour. Delicious recipe, thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      These were tasty, but mine were too moist to work with easily; even after I added flour. The mashed potatoes I used were leftover from last night, but were made with butter and sour cream. I imagine that had much to do with why the consistency did not work out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mashed Potato Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 107.4
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    15%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 54.9 mg
    18%
    Sodium 336.2 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites