30 Reviews

This was a lovely chai that I will make again. I doubled the recipe but kept the milk the same for personal preference as we are not fans. I also only added 1/3 cup of sugar to the doubled recipe and still found it a touch too sweet - next time I think I will double the recipe and leave both the sugar and milk at the original levels. Thanks for posting! EDIT: I am updating this to 5 stars as this is the best chai recipe on 'zaar and I have tried a lot of them. The only thing I would change is adding peppercorns and ginger next time.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyaos April 13, 2008

Very tasty. I agree with other reviewers that it needs a dash more flavor, so I added more cloves and used honey to taste in place of sugar the second time I made this. Also, I added the milk at the end, since I feel the tea steeps better before the milk thickens the tea. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 September 26, 2010

I make a similar version given to me by my friend from India - only difference is that she adds a pinch of Fennel seeds and a crushed Bay Leaf. This adds another layer of delicious flavor. Great Recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shangrilajewel March 04, 2009

excellent; couldn't find cardamom in my grocery store, so I left it out & threw in one or two extra cloves after tripling the recipe in my opinion, tasted better than the chai tea lattes at starbucks. I made this and a few other kinds of teas for a birthday party & this was the overall favorite. also, it was very easy to make. tastes great with gingerbread cookies or some sugar cookies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookfamily7 February 12, 2008

Wonderful Chai Tea - I used 2 Tbs of Honey instead of sugar and used a paper coffee filter in the strainer. The results speak for themselves - Smooth, aromatic and delightful. Thank you for posting !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef RZ Fan October 29, 2007

I agree with Codychop. It definitely could use some more spice. Also not liking things overly sweet, I only used two tsp of honey in place of all the sugar and thought it was just sweet enough. Next time I will add more spices.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay September 22, 2007

Loved this iced. Used honey instead of sugar and added the milk last with the ice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound June 17, 2015

I really liked this! Easier than the other recipe that I normally use and just as tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swanddwarfs January 13, 2013

Great tea and im not a tea lover ,the only thing i would change is the amount of sugar as it was way to sweet for us

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobybaloony December 06, 2012

Easy 5 stars - not being Indian have not had access to the family recipes. After making this (easy to make once you locate whole cardamom) my only question is why isn't Chai the global beverage of choice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdod13 February 27, 2012
masala chai (indian spiced tea)