Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / masala chai (indian spiced tea) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    masala chai (indian spiced tea)

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2008

      This was a lovely chai that I will make again. I doubled the recipe but kept the milk the same for personal preference as we are not fans. I also only added 1/3 cup of sugar to the doubled recipe and still found it a touch too sweet - next time I think I will double the recipe and leave both the sugar and milk at the original levels. Thanks for posting! EDIT: I am updating this to 5 stars as this is the best chai recipe on 'zaar and I have tried a lot of them. The only thing I would change is adding peppercorns and ginger next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      Very tasty. I agree with other reviewers that it needs a dash more flavor, so I added more cloves and used honey to taste in place of sugar the second time I made this. Also, I added the milk at the end, since I feel the tea steeps better before the milk thickens the tea. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      I make a similar version given to me by my friend from India - only difference is that she adds a pinch of Fennel seeds and a crushed Bay Leaf. This adds another layer of delicious flavor. Great Recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      excellent; couldn't find cardamom in my grocery store, so I left it out & threw in one or two extra cloves after tripling the recipe in my opinion, tasted better than the chai tea lattes at starbucks. I made this and a few other kinds of teas for a birthday party & this was the overall favorite. also, it was very easy to make. tastes great with gingerbread cookies or some sugar cookies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Wonderful Chai Tea - I used 2 Tbs of Honey instead of sugar and used a paper coffee filter in the strainer. The results speak for themselves - Smooth, aromatic and delightful. Thank you for posting !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      I agree with Codychop. It definitely could use some more spice. Also not liking things overly sweet, I only used two tsp of honey in place of all the sugar and thought it was just sweet enough. Next time I will add more spices.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      I really liked this! Easier than the other recipe that I normally use and just as tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      Great tea and im not a tea lover ,the only thing i would change is the amount of sugar as it was way to sweet for us

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      Easy 5 stars - not being Indian have not had access to the family recipes. After making this (easy to make once you locate whole cardamom) my only question is why isn't Chai the global beverage of choice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      First let me say that I am not crazy about tea until I was introduce to Somalian tea. While in college I used to get this tea to boost my energy and mentality level. So I decided to make it at home when I have a craving for it. I used 2 cups of water, 3 black tea bags, 1 tsp of ground cardamom, 1 tsp of Ginger, 1 stick of cinnamon, 6 whole cloves, a dash of honey, a dash of cinnamon and sugar spice, raw sugar to taste, and milk to your liking. Remember not to forget to stray it before adding the milk. This tea is great to boost your immune system especially when you are fighting a COLD. Good luck hope you enjoy your tea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      I bought a DIY chai kit off Etsy with an assortment of spices and a couple different teas. This was my first time making chai, but it won't be the last! I lightly crushed two cardamom pods, a star anise, a couple peppercorns, and three cloves. I also added a cinnamon stick and sliver of ginger to the spices. I put them all in a small metal strainer and put it in the water to boil for five minutes. After that I added 2 T Darjeeling tea. I can't believe how much that expanded (yes, kind of new to using tea leaves)! I steeped for five minutes longer and then I added roughly 3/4 C sweetened condensed milk. That was a bit much, so next time I'll try 1/3-1/2 and see how that is. Thank you so much for posting such a flexible recipe-- and thanks to everyone else for your suggestions. I love how versatile this recipe is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      We thought this was amazing and will definitely be making it again!! I used 6 cloves and 4 cardamom pods. I meant to add ginger as another reviewer suggested but forgot; I'll try that next time! I also used a little over 1/8 cup Twin Sugar (like Splenda) and thought the sweetness was perfect. I didn't have any plain black looseleaf tea so I used 2 black tea bags and it worked fine but I'm definitely buying looseleaf next time I'm at the store. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This is good, closer to 5 stars than 4 but I think it had too many cloves. I'm not sure but I have had more flavour layers in chai which I liked. I used rice milk as always to be dairy free but I did not add it until the end because I have found boiling it makes it separate. I do think this can be considered the same if not better than Starbucks chai. I used demera sugar (dark, dark grainy brown) tea bags and a bit more cardamom pods hich should b bruised. I may make this again trying with fennel as another reviewer does and also with black pepper. Made for Comfort Cafe - Snow Queens Round 01/10.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I enjoyed this alot today. I used a decaf black tea and orange pekoe tea and used rice milk. Thanks for a great drink! Made for the Asian More Than Curries tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      I forgot to rate it earlier. 5 stars! This will be a regular in our house. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

    • on August 14, 2009

      This is my husbands favorite drink. I use 1 cup water and 2 cups whole milk to make it more "sinfully" good. I also use a few more cloves and throw few pepercorns then crush them a little (as another poster recommended.) because we like it spicy. I am a little allergic to cloves (trying to fight it...) so I tried it with vanilla instead of cloves as another poster sugested and it just didnt taste like a chai. I am curious if nutmeg would work, maybe I'll try it sometime. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Made this tonight as I am recovering from some kind of stomach virus. I thought it was very good. I am not a big fan of hot tea but will be making this alot. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      This made a really nice start to my day. Thank you very much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Been floating around here for months now reading all the wonderful recipes and reviews. And this is the recipe that I love SO MUCH that I just have to review. I make this every week. I am temporarily living In Shanghai, China right now and although they have tea everywhere, it is almost impossible to find chai. But this is better than anything I can buy. Note: After I strain out the chai, I also run it through a cheesecake cloth so the final mixture is really smooth. Xie xie (thank you), Bonnie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for masala chai (indian spiced tea)

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.5
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    23%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 11.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 44.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 16.6 g
    66%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    cardamom pods

    tea leaves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes