Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ma's Lemon Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ma's Lemon Cake

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2011

      I've been making this cake since I got the recipe from a co-worker in 1964. Long time family favorite. My tweaks have been to use fresh lemon juice and the zest from the lemon in the glaze. I also poke holes in the cake with a bamboo skewer prior to pouring the glaze over the cake to help it soak in better. Works very well as a 9" x 13" cake as well as the Bundt style, just adjust the baking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      Love love love this cake. Big hit with my ladies lunch group. I don't understand why some of the reviews said that the instructions did not say to grease the pan. If you read direction # 3 it says "transfer the batter to a generously greased bunt pan". It's pretty clear to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      This has been my kids' favorite since they were little, and they're all grown up now with many kids of their own. They ALL still ask for it often. Now one of my daughters has taken over the baking traditions and she makes the cake when it's demanded. We have always used one tablespoon of lemon extract in the recipe. In fact whenever I write it down for anyone I always add (yes, that's ONE TABLESPOON) because it is questioned so often. Other than that, the only other thing different is that the icing is broiled on. You mix the powdered sugar together with the lemon juice, poke a few small holes in the top of the cake, pour the icing all over the top, and watch it as it goes under the broiler for a little less than a minute. When you see little bubbles all over the cake top you quickly take it out of the oven and allow it to cool. It's wonderful with a very good vanilla ice cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      Thanks for sharing!! My mom makes a similar one with just the yellow cake mix and we love it but I may surprise her using lemon and maybe add some of Trader Joe's delicious Lemon Curd to it...maybe as a layer cake or a poke cake?! I'll figure it out and report back! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      I made this for dessert Christmas day. Fantastic, and actually quite light. I baked it in a silicone Kugelhuph pan, and for some strange reason it took an additional 25 minutes. Not sure why though. In any case, that certainly won't stop me from making this one again. The flavour was perfect and the glaze created such a wonderful coating. I'm thinking I might also try adding a cup of chopped fresh cranberries next time. I'll keep you posted.:) Thanks celestial star.....what a find this recipe was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      This is a definate keeper! I sqeezed real lemons for the juice and did one with lemon cake mix and the other with yellow. They were both good, I think I like the lemon the best. I, too, poked holes with a baked potato tester I got from Tupperware years ago, this keeps the glaze from swimming on the bottom of the plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      Sooooo yummy ! I love to keep it in the fridge so it is nice and cold and just take a little piece now and then ! What a nice treat on a hot day . Someone I know has this recipe, but it call for orange jello and orange juice. She said it was very good too . I might try it one day .... but I love lemon. I now use a 9x13 pan for this cake , works out just fine. Thanks for the recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Awesome cake! Made it for Easter and was enjoyed by everyone! Will surely make this again! I poked holes in my cake when pouring the icing on it and it was wonderful! Would recommend this to anyone who loves lemon! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      This was easy to make. My family did not like the texture of the cake. I thought it would have more lemon flavor. I would not make this again. It did not say to grease the pan, I did not and the cake stuck in the pan. I would advise to grease and flour pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      I made this cake for a coworker's birthday. It was devoured before 10:00 in the morning! I even had some people trying to place orders for more cakes! Very good, moist and lemony. I will make this again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      This is SO good! Wow! This would be great for a Sunday afternoon cake. The glaze makes the perfect amount. I actually made too much because I had only a little bit of lemon juice left so I added it in. After pouring it over the cake, I realized that if I had left it alone it would have been the perfect amount. It didn't state whether or not to grease the pan, so I went ahead and did. The outer edge got this LOVELY little crunch to it! Wow again! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      This was my favorite growing up, I would beg my mom to make it, too! Many fantastic memories of midnight cake and milk when I "couldn't sleep"! Keeper for sure! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      My Mom always made this when we were little. I have made it and everyone still loves it. It is a definite 5 star recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      Very good & easy to make from ingredients I always have on hand. I used a pk. of sugar free jello because it was what I had. It game out moist & perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      Easy recipe to make and wonderful results! I didn't have a yellow cake the first time I made it so I used a golden vanilla and it was really good. The second time used yellow cake and it gave it a more yellow color but taste wise I almost preferred the golden vanilla. I definitely think that if the cake is made earlier in the day the flavors are better when you serve it but if you make it the day before the lemon flavor really shines. Of course you have to find a way to hide this cake from your family if you make it the day before!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      For it's simplicity and flavor I give this 5 stars - it was not super lemony but that works for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Excellent. I mistakenly bought a lemon cake instead of yellow but it was still great! It was tangy, with the perfect sweet touch. I didn't have powdered sugar so I made a simple syrup with regular sugar and lemon juice, boiled to dissolve the sugar. I used applesauce instead of oil. I poured it over the cake while it was still hot and the put the whole thing in the fridge overnight. Very moist too. Perfect spring dessert. Found it just in time for Easter. Hit with the kids and the adults! Thanks so much for sharing. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      Thanks for making celestial_star03 chef of the day, and pointing me in the direction of this lovely cake. I can see why it is a family favorite. It is a nice, light cake and the glaze is a perfect embellishment. I thank you and your grandma for sharing this easy, yet very tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      The original recipe, Lemon Jell-O Cake, emerged about 50 years ago. The recipe called for it to be baked in a 9x13 pan, holes poked in it while still warm and the lemon "icing" poured over to soak in and thereby keeping it moist. It has been one of my go-to desserts many times. I too have made alterations to suit my taste. It's always a hit with people of all ages.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      We love anything lemon, so when I saw this recipe, I had to try it. I don't love to bake, but the recipe looked very easy and straightforward. It could not have been easier to make, and it was delicious! The only problem was that it DID stick to my bundt pan, even though my pan is non-stick AND I greased it with butter. So, the cake did not look pretty at all, but it was amazingly yummy. Fortunately, my family did not care how this cake looked, but I could not have served it to company. I will try it again and either prep the pan with Pam or Crisco to keep it from sticking. It is very good with vanilla ice cream!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Lemon Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ma's Lemon Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 595.0
     
    Calories from Fat 272
    45%
    Total Fat 30.3 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 94.2 mg
    31%
    Sodium 508.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.6 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 52.0 g
    208%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon flavoring

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites