Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ma's Cough Syrup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ma's Cough Syrup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2011

      Soothed the throat, but I'm still hacking. I thought it would taste horrible, but it wasn't bad. I'll use this next time I have a throat tickle. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Yes, I'll definitely be holding on to this recipe. It soothes the throat, gets rid of the tickle, and reduces the cough. Thanks for sharing...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      OH MY WORD!!!! IT WORKED! I gave this to my daughter, and was worried because we had somewhere we had to be today, and miracle of miracles it WORKED! She had to have about 10 teaspoons full, and also it took about 10 minutes, (and a little bit of honey) and I wasnt sure which it was that helped, but she didnt cough for over 2 hours (compared to the every 3-5 minutes, but really closer to 3). She didn't like the taste, and I don't blame her, not that it was bad, just different. The REAL test was when she went down to bed. The last two nights she spent 4 hours hacking every minute or so. She was so exhausted, and I was doing Vicks VapoRub, and a Humidifier, and Delsym... WELL, here is the verdict!!! We gave her a couple spoon fulls before she went to bed and IT WORKED LIKE A CHARM!!!!!!!! I am overjoyed at the fact that she did not cough ONCE!!! YAY! Thank you SO much! I will be using this over and over!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Stopped my 9 yr olds cough after over the counter cough syrups would not. Now he can sleep. He did make a funny face at the taste but did not complain. Will use this again and again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      The taste was 5 star, but the results were only 3 star, as it did not help my cough. Of course, nothing else is helping, either, so it could just be me! It's yummy and all-natural, so it would be great for kids - enough to make them forget about being sick! Great that it's made from on-hand ingredients! You must love molasses to take this, though! Thank you for posting an easy to make remedy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      This really did help with my nasty cough. It helped so much with my sore throat too. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This is very soothing and tastes REALLY good according to my sick DH. He wanted cough syrup, but I didn't want to run to the store and buy something full of garbage. And the best thing of all....no more coughing!!! Thanks Mimi for the peaceful night's sleep!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I'm adding this to mine! Will rate it once we use it, but wanted to share a not so natural remedy that has helped our household: mentholatum or vicks SLATHERED on the feet and covered with socks at bedtime. i'm assuming it along with this cough syrup would make for a more restful night. *grin* thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Mimi- Thank You! This is wonderful! The mixture is velvety smooth and it tastes so good. I microwaved my mixture for 30 seconds and then whisked with a mini whisk to blend the little bit of butter that wasn't quite melted. It was the perfect temperature for sampling. My cough was so bad I sounded like a seal. This really soothed my raw throat. Thanks so much for sharing. Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ma's Cough Syrup

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 346.8
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    30%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 132.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.9 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 46.7 g
    187%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites