Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mary's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mary's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2010

      I didn't plan on having chicken for dinner today but after seeing this recipe featured as the Recipe of the Day, I took a Cornish Hen out of the freezer to thaw. The sauce is so simple to make with only 5 ingredients, and I had those few ingredients on hand. I had a wonderful dinner with the Cornish hen, rice, sautéed zucchini and onions, and Classic Dinner Rolls. The sauce was not overly sweet like I thought it would be. This would also make a wonderful dipping sauce for fried foods after simmering to cook and hydrate the onions in the soup mix. I could not resist adding some minced garlic and red pepper flakes. This was a little different but really tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      I frequently make a similar recipe using apricot jam instead of the cranberry sauce. My son said it reminded him of BBQ chicken. This will be made again I'm sure since it is so quick and easy and the ingredients are a staple in my pantry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Wow! The kids LOVED it! They even tried to sneak into the fridge to get the pieces I saved for my husband! I didn't have any whole chicken breasts, so I used chicken tenders. oh my that was good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      Wow. I was really leary of the combination of ingredients but the recipe turned out great!! The flavor is bold and delicious. I'm always looking for new ways to use boneless skinless chicken breasts and this recipe is a wonderful addition. I did serve it over rice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Very easy and tasty! I was concerned my kids were going to be hesitant when they saw me whisk the contents, but they were very happy. I would add another chx breat or two b/c I had plenty of sauce remaining. Served with rice and a salad. Quick, easy dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      I knew this would be good because I've used for years a similar recipe that called for apricot jam instead of cranberry -- but I didn't know just how good! I used whole berry sauce and tenders. The cranberry sauce made it a little less sweet (I like that!) and the whole berries just added to the tang. A major-league kick-up to an old recipe. Sooo good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Very good. Not difficult at all to throw together, and with all that sauce, even ten pieces of assorted chicken would be fine. I used thighs, because they're cheaper and that's what we like. A really good pass along recipe. Thank you (and thanks to Mary!!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      Absolutely delicious! Will be a repeat in my household! It was so refreshing to eat chicken that tasted completely different than "the usual". Thanks capncrunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      Great recipe- similar to quite a few other recipes called by various names (everyone seems to call their recipe something different), like cranberry chicken and mrs. o'brien's chicken. The only things that differ are whether the chicken has bones, etc., or using whole or jellied cranberry sauce. Any way you make it- this tastes great! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      Nice dish. I used Fat Free Catalina dressing. Everything turned out well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      After reading the other reviews I had to try this. The meat came out so moist and the leftover sauce was really good over rice. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2014

      I wasn't very wild about this chicken, but my husband, who is a very picky eater, LOVED it. He can't wait for me to make it again. I sliced my chicken breasts into strips so they would cook quicker, and added a little garlic powder to the sauce. Served it with the sauce over white rice and some broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      i love catalina dressing so i will definitely try this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

    • on August 13, 2009

    • on May 14, 2007

      My Mother used to make this and we loved it. Next time I might try it in the Crocpot. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      No one really loved this but it wasn't hated either. It was just ok. Sorry...different tastes I guess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      Followed recipe to the T...smelled great as it cooked. Flavors just didn't add up, for us..Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mary's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 418.4
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    58%
    Total Fat 27.3 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 68.9 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1333.7 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.9 g
    43%
    Protein 28.4 g
    56%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    jellied cranberry sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes