22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I ate the whole batch by myself. Don't judge me.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awiltsr April 28, 2012

LOVE IT! I doubled the recipe and altered it! Alterations: I used one small chopped sauted onion, 3 tablespoons of Old Bay, and used half and half instead of light. It makes it thicker, but when you are about it eat you can pour some milk in to cool and thin it out - your choice. I also use 16 oz of back fin or jumbo crab meat. YUM YUM YUM!!! I have made this twice already and can't get enough ;).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rc_mojica November 29, 2012

The consensus at the table was actually 4.5 stars, but I'll bump it up to 5 because it was great! Light cream was just right. It was a bit bland tasting, so I added some extra Old Bay and 2 tbsp of sherry. Perfect! Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zoesmama July 26, 2011

Because I had a 16 oz. can of crab meat, I doubled this recipe. It's a good thing I did because by the time my family of four was finished, there was not a bit left. I aside from using half and half, I followed the recipe exactly. Aside from the wonderful flavor, the best thing about this soup is that it was very fast to make. Short on time, I had almost stopped to get Chinese tonight. So glad I didn't !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wondrous Works December 14, 2010

OMG!! This recipe is the best. I can't believe that it is a restaurant quality soup. I added a little to it just to see how it came out, it was delicious! I added minced celery and carrots and milk I made four servings and instead of light cream I used heavy because I enjoy a thicker soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbwchef December 06, 2010

Delicious! I used about 2 tablespoons of onion but otherwise followed the recipe as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 March 21, 2015

DELICIOUS!!!! I have to say this was simple to make, real crabmeat is a must and wow, what flavor. Perfect for the light snow we are having! I used a little extra Old Bay and 2% milk. However, heavy cream just has that taste I need when a recipe calls for it so I cut a bit with the milk. If your soup is a bit thick for your liking, just add more milk a dash at a time until you are happy! Served with slices of crusty sour dough bread and voila! Happy Husband. This one is going in my book of bests!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy B. February 05, 2015

This was my first time making any kind of crab soup. We usually get it from a local market, and that soup is wonderful. I followed one reviewer's advice and added more Old
Bay, used 1/2&1/2. I had just shelled two pounds of shrimp, so I put their shells in the soup before I added the crab, simmering for about 20 minutes. Just fished them out with a strainer, easy to do. Boy, this soup is every bit as good as the local market's offerings, even better! Oh. The sherry added a nice touch, too--2 tablespoons. This is a fabulous recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pilgrimcook December 29, 2012

Superb! My partner compared it to Shoreline in Crofton, MD (ie. one of her faves). We both enjoyed it and will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CNJENOURE October 22, 2010

Quick and tasty crab soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lena678 August 14, 2010
Maryland Cream of Crab Soup