Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maryland Crab-Sweet Corn Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maryland Crab-Sweet Corn Chowder

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2014

      This corn chowder is my absolute! The recipe was in Better Homes and Gardens, November 1995 issue which I am looking at as I type. This chowder, with or without the crabmeat is delicious and has become a Thanksgiving family favorite. I came online to see if it printed anywhere so I could easily share it with a friend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      Great recipe. I used "Chicken of the Sea" claw meat, and I added some of the potato to thicken as well. I also used sweet corn and yellow pepper. What an awesome chowder with great taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2011

      We had to make a few modifications on the fly as we didn't quite have the ingredients as indicated. BUT - We LOVED it. That's me & my 8-year old son. Served it in a sourdough bowl to rave reviews! Son says 9 out of 10! And he wants it for dinner again tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      YUM!!! I added celery and 1/2 potato to the mixture before puree, it made it really thick. Besides that I followed the directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      This was great! We don't have Old Bay seasoning where Im from, so I added some Emeril's Essence- and it was great. I also used red pepper for a little spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      This chowder has an awesome taste! I followed the recipe as is with the exception of adding a 1/2 tsp. of Old Bay seasoning and a Tbl. of Dry Sherry. Great for a winter night with a nice warm bread. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      This a wonderful and easy recipe. I was afraid the 6oz of crab wouldn't be enough, but it was perfect. A sprinkling of Old Bay seasoning on top is the perfect touch. Yummy! Thanks to Mom of Five!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      I've made this soup three times now using green and red peppers. It's very good, but it doesn't seem to keep well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      I loved this chowder. I made it for dinner on our three year anniversary with a nice salad. My husband loved it. I have added it to my recipe book and will make it more often but maybe next time I'll use clam or shrimp. Mmmmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Very easy to make...I added shrimp since the crab was not enough...I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      I liked how the soup came out with part of the corn pureed with onions and garlic. It was rich and hearty! I think my onion was a bit big (too much flavor for the corn), and next time I would use a smaller onion. Overall, a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      I used red pepper insted of white and it was great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      This was so good!! Everyone loved it. I used canned corn instead of frozen, but it still turned out wonderful. This will be something I will make at Thanksgiving from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maryland Crab-Sweet Corn Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (286 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 289.9
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    51%
    Total Fat 16.7 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 66.2 mg
    22%
    Sodium 531.6 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites