13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This corn chowder is my absolute! The recipe was in Better Homes and Gardens, November 1995 issue which I am looking at as I type. This chowder, with or without the crabmeat is delicious and has become a Thanksgiving family favorite. I came online to see if it printed anywhere so I could easily share it with a friend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxscott1_11179723 November 16, 2014

Great recipe. I used "Chicken of the Sea" claw meat, and I added some of the potato to thicken as well. I also used sweet corn and yellow pepper. What an awesome chowder with great taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plottman33 June 17, 2012

We had to make a few modifications on the fly as we didn't quite have the ingredients as indicated. BUT - We LOVED it. That's me & my 8-year old son. Served it in a sourdough bowl to rave reviews! Son says 9 out of 10! And he wants it for dinner again tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaLa Crane April 29, 2011

YUM!!! I added celery and 1/2 potato to the mixture before puree, it made it really thick. Besides that I followed the directions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cul_de_sac_Barbie July 18, 2010

This was great! We don't have Old Bay seasoning where Im from, so I added some Emeril's Essence- and it was great. I also used red pepper for a little spice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JLBurnell January 25, 2009

This chowder has an awesome taste! I followed the recipe as is with the exception of adding a 1/2 tsp. of Old Bay seasoning and a Tbl. of Dry Sherry. Great for a winter night with a nice warm bread. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoneStar*Lori November 25, 2008

This a wonderful and easy recipe. I was afraid the 6oz of crab wouldn't be enough, but it was perfect. A sprinkling of Old Bay seasoning on top is the perfect touch. Yummy! Thanks to Mom of Five!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheryl #3 November 08, 2008

I've made this soup three times now using green and red peppers. It's very good, but it doesn't seem to keep well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deq July 22, 2007

I loved this chowder. I made it for dinner on our three year anniversary with a nice salad. My husband loved it. I have added it to my recipe book and will make it more often but maybe next time I'll use clam or shrimp. Mmmmmm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mel_charlene July 22, 2007

Very easy to make...I added shrimp since the crab was not enough...I will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jnowakowski October 16, 2006
Maryland Crab-Sweet Corn Chowder