Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maryland Crab Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maryland Crab Cakes

    Average Rating:

    154 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 154

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2002

      Nothing beats a MD crabcake! Yummmmy :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2002

      Made this but followed my Mom's recommendation, instead of saute I bake them in the oven for 10 minutes, then broil for another 5 minutes. They are really good, not greasy and make good appetizer. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Really great! I baked mine for 20 minutes at 425F on a greased cookie sheet instead of pan frying to cut down on the fat and they turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      These were very easy for my first attempt at crab cakes and very tasty as well. I doubled the recipe and served it with Butter and Herb Rice and Corn. It was a delicious, restaurant quality meal that my husband and kids really enjoyed. Thank you Leslie O.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

      Followed RedSoxInMD's suggestion to bake the crab cakes at 425F for 17 minutes and they turned out perfect! This recipe yielded 8 delicious crab cakes for me. Will definitely make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2013

      Great recipe! I tweaked it a bit. I used a container of Phillip's lump crabmeat and added some ingredients to the mix from their recipe (on the container): dried parsley, lemon juice, melted butter and mustard. Like another reviewer said, I baked them at 425 degrees for 20 minutes, but used parchment paper on a baking sheet instead of grease. The bottoms were a little dark, so I may cut the baking time if I make them again. My husband and I really enjoyed them. I had mine plain....he used cocktail sauce. I got 8 cakes out of the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      I have been making this recipe for years, and tonight to spice it up I made homemade breadcrumbs. Much easier than I thought and worth every minute. A few pieces of stale bread in a food processor and the some zest from a lemon. Heat up about half a stick of butter with the breadcrumbs, salt, pepper, and old bay. Stir on medium heat for about 10-15 minutes. Let cool. I used about 3/4 cup because it was lighter than dried. I chilled the crab mixture for a few hours then formed patties and dipped them in the leftover breadcrumbs. I refrigerated for another hour. I fired them in olive oil for about 8 minutes per side. This was already my favorite crab patties recipe, but the homemade breadcrumbs made it mind blowing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Sorry but I didn't like these at all. I guess I prefer the more bready crab cakes because the ratio of crab to bread crumbs seemed way off to me. The worchestershire taste was way too strong for my liking as well. However, my husband liked these as he does not care for the bready cakes. Oh well, guess there's no pleasing us both :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I worked for the Lobster Hpuse in Cape May. N.J.a lifetime ago. I made the crab cakes.amd your recipe comes sooooooo close. I added parsley, a little garlic and onion powder. and diced some green pepper. I also diced about three slices of soft bread (crust removed) to give the cakes a lighter texture. So Good! Thanks Leslie, I almost forgot just how good crab cakes were.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2014

      This has been my go-to recipe for many years now. Always a winner and always delicious. Very simple to put together and cooks quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      This recipe was so amazing! My husband and I had been going to a restaurant every Tuesday, for their expensive crab cake night. These were perfect, other than that I had to add a little more breadcrumbs. I had an almost empty bag of Pepperidge Farm Italian croutons, which I crushed up to use in addition to the plain crumbs. I also added a little cayenne pepper because we like things spicy. The cooking time suggestion was perfect. I used a griddle. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      5*'s all the way. I've never been to Maryland, but I want to go now if all their food tastes like this. I made this for my family and I wish I had made more. We all loved the flavor and texture of these cakes. Thank you for sharing with us a recipe I had never made before. Its a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      I made crab cakes with this recipe for Christmas Day dinner--totally delicious! I mixed up the ingredients ahead of time and relaxed for 2 hours while it chilled. They turned out restaurant quality and the flavor was so yummy! These are as good as any that we have eaten in some of the best places in our state (MD).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      Great recipe! I too would recommend upping the spices, and I chose to add diced raw onion and celery to mine for a bit of texture. I wavered between frying in butter (because that's how it done!) and baking. I'm a pescatarian and this was my Thanksgiving turkey replacement so I went for broke and fried them, next time though I'll try baking now that I know how good they are!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      I made these with 3 cans of crab meat and cooked in a non-stick pan with no oil.. Also used just 1T of worcestershire. The flavor was really good and they held together nicely. Very easy meal. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2012

      Would like to give it 4.75 stars -- darn good recipe! Read through most of the reviews and saw several comments about the crab not coming through and one that stuck out was a person that used canned crab. I've made this several times now and this past time I bought a cheap can of canned "white crab meat". Followed the recipe with the exception of increasing the old bay by 25% (love old bay)! Even with the canned crab meat this recipe shines. I do drizzle a little butter over it and prefer baking it as others have done...also followed the suggestions regarding chilling it for an hour or so before making the cakes.

      The only reason I fall a little short of the 5 stars is I'm use to something else in there. A very little bit of onion, little bell pepper..something. That being said - that I'm "use to that" -- I like the recipe the way it is and will continue to make it without adding anything other than butter. I know that sounds wrong to take a star off because it doesn't have something that I'm not going to add back in -- it's simply that I've never had a Maryland crab cake (in Maryland) that did not have a little something else in it.. but I do LOVE these!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      These were wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      Great recipe. My family really enjoyed these. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      I fried at medium heat in 1/4" vegetable oil and made approximately 9 cakes. Next time I'll slightly lower the heat to ensure they are cooked though slightly better.

      Doubled the Old Bay. These were delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      These were very good. Thanks Leslie O. My son (15) made them. We used Dijon and mayo for a dipping sauce and some scallions cut up too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maryland Crab Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 373.9
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    30%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 243.8 mg
    81%
    Sodium 1000.3 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 40.6 g
    81%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites