Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maryland Crab Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maryland Crab Cakes

    Average Rating:

    156 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 156

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2002

      Nothing beats a MD crabcake! Yummmmy :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2002

      Made this but followed my Mom's recommendation, instead of saute I bake them in the oven for 10 minutes, then broil for another 5 minutes. They are really good, not greasy and make good appetizer. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Really great! I baked mine for 20 minutes at 425F on a greased cookie sheet instead of pan frying to cut down on the fat and they turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I worked for the Lobster Hpuse in Cape May. N.J.a lifetime ago. I made the crab cakes.amd your recipe comes sooooooo close. I added parsley, a little garlic and onion powder. and diced some green pepper. I also diced about three slices of soft bread (crust removed) to give the cakes a lighter texture. So Good! Thanks Leslie, I almost forgot just how good crab cakes were.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      These were very easy for my first attempt at crab cakes and very tasty as well. I doubled the recipe and served it with Butter and Herb Rice and Corn. It was a delicious, restaurant quality meal that my husband and kids really enjoyed. Thank you Leslie O.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

      Followed RedSoxInMD's suggestion to bake the crab cakes at 425F for 17 minutes and they turned out perfect! This recipe yielded 8 delicious crab cakes for me. Will definitely make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2013

      Great recipe! I tweaked it a bit. I used a container of Phillip's lump crabmeat and added some ingredients to the mix from their recipe (on the container): dried parsley, lemon juice, melted butter and mustard. Like another reviewer said, I baked them at 425 degrees for 20 minutes, but used parchment paper on a baking sheet instead of grease. The bottoms were a little dark, so I may cut the baking time if I make them again. My husband and I really enjoyed them. I had mine plain....he used cocktail sauce. I got 8 cakes out of the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      I have been making this recipe for years, and tonight to spice it up I made homemade breadcrumbs. Much easier than I thought and worth every minute. A few pieces of stale bread in a food processor and the some zest from a lemon. Heat up about half a stick of butter with the breadcrumbs, salt, pepper, and old bay. Stir on medium heat for about 10-15 minutes. Let cool. I used about 3/4 cup because it was lighter than dried. I chilled the crab mixture for a few hours then formed patties and dipped them in the leftover breadcrumbs. I refrigerated for another hour. I fired them in olive oil for about 8 minutes per side. This was already my favorite crab patties recipe, but the homemade breadcrumbs made it mind blowing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Sorry but I didn't like these at all. I guess I prefer the more bready crab cakes because the ratio of crab to bread crumbs seemed way off to me. The worchestershire taste was way too strong for my liking as well. However, my husband liked these as he does not care for the bready cakes. Oh well, guess there's no pleasing us both :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      I used (3) cans of lump crab meat instead of fresh crab meat and the cakes still turned out great! My family really enjoyed this and it was very easy to make. They have already requested it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      These are the best crab cakes I have ever had! I 've made them with both fresh crab meat and canned and they are equally delicious. 3 cans (6oz) of lump crab meat is all it takes and it is much less expensive than buying the pricey fresh crab meat. Just make sure you get the "lump" crab meat. This has become a family favorite. Thanks, Leslie O, for sharing such a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      Easy to make. Great recipe for a first time making crab cakes. I was cheap and used canned crab and they were still fantastic. Can't wait to try with "real" crab meat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2014

      This is a very simple and delicious recipe. I made no changes to the recipe and they turned out perfectly. Served them up with some remoulade and everyone was highly pleased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2014

      I thought these were good, but a little bland for our taste. I will probably use this again and adjust the spices a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2014

      This has been my go-to recipe for many years now. Always a winner and always delicious. Very simple to put together and cooks quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      This recipe was so amazing! My husband and I had been going to a restaurant every Tuesday, for their expensive crab cake night. These were perfect, other than that I had to add a little more breadcrumbs. I had an almost empty bag of Pepperidge Farm Italian croutons, which I crushed up to use in addition to the plain crumbs. I also added a little cayenne pepper because we like things spicy. The cooking time suggestion was perfect. I used a griddle. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      5*'s all the way. I've never been to Maryland, but I want to go now if all their food tastes like this. I made this for my family and I wish I had made more. We all loved the flavor and texture of these cakes. Thank you for sharing with us a recipe I had never made before. Its a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      I made crab cakes with this recipe for Christmas Day dinner--totally delicious! I mixed up the ingredients ahead of time and relaxed for 2 hours while it chilled. They turned out restaurant quality and the flavor was so yummy! These are as good as any that we have eaten in some of the best places in our state (MD).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      Great recipe! I too would recommend upping the spices, and I chose to add diced raw onion and celery to mine for a bit of texture. I wavered between frying in butter (because that's how it done!) and baking. I'm a pescatarian and this was my Thanksgiving turkey replacement so I went for broke and fried them, next time though I'll try baking now that I know how good they are!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      I made these with 3 cans of crab meat and cooked in a non-stick pan with no oil.. Also used just 1T of worcestershire. The flavor was really good and they held together nicely. Very easy meal. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maryland Crab Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 297.5
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    18%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 238.7 mg
    79%
    Sodium 861.1 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 40.4 g
    80%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mayonnaise

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes