156 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nothing beats a MD crabcake! Yummmmy :-)

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J e l i s a June 10, 2002

Made this but followed my Mom's recommendation, instead of saute I bake them in the oven for 10 minutes, then broil for another 5 minutes. They are really good, not greasy and make good appetizer. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Pan May 20, 2002

Really great! I baked mine for 20 minutes at 425F on a greased cookie sheet instead of pan frying to cut down on the fat and they turned out perfect.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedSoxInMD October 29, 2008

I worked for the Lobster Hpuse in Cape May. N.J.a lifetime ago. I made the crab cakes.amd your recipe comes sooooooo close. I added parsley, a little garlic and onion powder. and diced some green pepper. I also diced about three slices of soft bread (crust removed) to give the cakes a lighter texture. So Good! Thanks Leslie, I almost forgot just how good crab cakes were.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitelady December 31, 2007

These were very easy for my first attempt at crab cakes and very tasty as well. I doubled the recipe and served it with Butter and Herb Rice and Corn. It was a delicious, restaurant quality meal that my husband and kids really enjoyed. Thank you Leslie O.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely February 06, 2014

Followed RedSoxInMD's suggestion to bake the crab cakes at 425F for 17 minutes and they turned out perfect! This recipe yielded 8 delicious crab cakes for me. Will definitely make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen November 26, 2013

Great recipe! I tweaked it a bit. I used a container of Phillip's lump crabmeat and added some ingredients to the mix from their recipe (on the container): dried parsley, lemon juice, melted butter and mustard. Like another reviewer said, I baked them at 425 degrees for 20 minutes, but used parchment paper on a baking sheet instead of grease. The bottoms were a little dark, so I may cut the baking time if I make them again. My husband and I really enjoyed them. I had mine plain....he used cocktail sauce. I got 8 cakes out of the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinkysmama November 02, 2013

I have been making this recipe for years, and tonight to spice it up I made homemade breadcrumbs. Much easier than I thought and worth every minute. A few pieces of stale bread in a food processor and the some zest from a lemon. Heat up about half a stick of butter with the breadcrumbs, salt, pepper, and old bay. Stir on medium heat for about 10-15 minutes. Let cool. I used about 3/4 cup because it was lighter than dried. I chilled the crab mixture for a few hours then formed patties and dipped them in the leftover breadcrumbs. I refrigerated for another hour. I fired them in olive oil for about 8 minutes per side. This was already my favorite crab patties recipe, but the homemade breadcrumbs made it mind blowing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sabatini99 August 21, 2010

Sorry but I didn't like these at all. I guess I prefer the more bready crab cakes because the ratio of crab to bread crumbs seemed way off to me. The worchestershire taste was way too strong for my liking as well. However, my husband liked these as he does not care for the bready cakes. Oh well, guess there's no pleasing us both :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee June 08, 2010

I used (3) cans of lump crab meat instead of fresh crab meat and the cakes still turned out great! My family really enjoyed this and it was very easy to make. They have already requested it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PookieBearOfNJ December 04, 2008
Maryland Crab Cakes