9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful, towering, light and fluffy biscuits, we served with pepper gravy and cheese fritata's, this is now my favorite SD biscuit recipe. Just be sure to plan ahead to start the night before.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 04, 2014

Delicious rolls! Cut in squares- really easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne March 31, 2014

Oh my goodness gracious! These are some yummy, light and fluffy treats! THey have wonderful texture that reminds me of a cross between a dinner roll and a biscuit. And they have tons of delicate sourdough flavor. Yum, yum and yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs February 21, 2012

I do not know why I have waited until now to make these biscuits because they are wonderful. The shortening was reduced to 1/4 cup and these biscuits turned our with a delicious texture. I got 9 beautiful biscuits. As it is just the 2 of us, I will wrap these when cool in foil packets of 2 and place in the freezer. When ready for fresh hot biscuits, a packet will be placed in a cold counter top oven with the temperature set at 425 degrees. The biscuits will gradually warm while the oven does and then once it reaches full temperature, the biscuits will remain in for about 5 minutes more to be completely thawed, warmed and ready to enjoy. I am sure I will use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 21, 2009

I made a double batch. I would consider putting more salt in next time. The texture was light and fluffy and the crust on top was perfect. I also did like Galley Wench and put it into glass pans directly and sliced. I'm going to freeze them to enjoy throughout the month. I think these would be perfect as is with biscuits and gravy due to the slight sweetness and texture since the gravy and sausages tend to be salty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
larajf May 30, 2009

Without a doubt the *best* biscuits I've ever had. And so very easy. Love that there is only one rising too. I made two batches (because I didn't read that you were to use only 1/2 cup of starter :)) The first batch was made as directed, only I don't have a 9x13 pan...imagine eh! So I spread it out in my rectangular roasting pan and cut as suggested by Galley Wench. Got 16 nice, light but obviously 'lower profile' biscuits. Very, very tasty. I experimented with the second batch... using the following exceptions to the original....1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp garlic powder, 2 tsp dried chives, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes. 11x7 glass pan @ 350* for 30 minutes. *Amazing*, only next time I will use the original 3/4 tsp salt, and increase the spices. I figured it was safer to go light the first time. Now I know!!! So now that we have all these biscuits....and there's only the two of us......who wants to come for supper???? Thanks for posting this wonderfully beautiful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 October 13, 2008

excellent. Mine sat for about 3 hours and rose for 30 minutes, but were still wonderful. I cut them like GalleyWench recommends, and even my 18 month old approved =) I do think this recipe makes more than 4 servings though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miramira December 31, 2007

5 Bright Stars for this one! I made them according to the recipe, however instead of using a biscuit cutter I put the sheet of dough in a cookie sheet and cut into squares. Much simpler method and they turned out tender and flavorful! Thanks Kim, you have winner here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench August 15, 2006

We really enjoyed these biscuits. I did make one change and that was to use 1/3 cup vegetable oil for the biscuits instead of lard or shortening. It therefore, made a stickier dough, so instead of kneading and rolling out, we had drop biscuits. They rose and baked up beautifully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen June 16, 2005
Mary Rogers's Sourdough Biscuits