15 Reviews

I had company this week end, put the meat into the marinade Fri nite, grilled it Sat and it was PERFECT! 6 people for dinner all give it 5 stars AND had a recipe request. Loved the "being ready in advance" aspect of this recipe, our plans changed several times due to weather, but we were able to come home and relax and toss this on the grill when we were ready. I cooked a 3# broil on the grill for 10 minutes on low for each side (it was about 4" thick)and it was cooked perfectly. Thanks for a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawnab November 05, 2005

This recipe produced a really juicy, tender flank steak with a great color. I substituted agave nectar for the honey which is a little less sweet. Next time I think I'll add a little pepper flake. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tonydr58 May 19, 2015

Excellent marinade for London Broil. I cooked a top round steak labeled London Broil and used a lemon in the marinade as I didn't have a lime. It was very, very good. I cooked two steaks, one to 135F and the other 145 F as the guests like different degrees of doneness.<br/>Red

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Apple Guy July 15, 2014

My DSS (13) could not get enough of this. I think the honey really made this great, not too sweet but lovely. I might, next time, add a more contrast with a little red pepper flake. I also used fresh minced garlic and dried minced onions instead of powder bc it's what I had. I did not nuke the honey. I'll bet this is great for chicken or pork or shrimp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancygirl June 05, 2010

I had to use lemon juice in place of the lime, but it was fabulous! For the first time in my life I made a great steak. From now on, this is how I'll always do it. It was too easy and the family gobbled it up! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OKRaeRae May 10, 2010

Easy, quick and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TamiM June 11, 2009

I was skeptical about mixing the different flavors in this, but they actually blended really well and none of them were too overpowering. Skipped heating the honey (distracted) and made the marinade right in the ziptop bag for easy cleanup. I marinated my steak (1.5lbs, 1 1/2 in. thick) for 9 hrs and grilled it for a total of 15 minutes - it came out absolutely perfect (medium rare). I let it rest in a covered tupperware container about 15 minutes before slicing - perfect for preparing the cauliflower/cheese sauce and rolls I served with it. My husband kept voicing his concern over whether he would like "London broil" (his family is strictly a NY strip group), but after his first bite he said, "Mmmm! Honey, this is actually good!" Translation: 5 stars!! :) Thanks for sharing this simple, delicious recipe! We will definitely be using this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 April 24, 2009

I wouldn't change a thing, it made enough for two broils to marinade...one I cooked after 4 hrs and the other the next day. Over-marinating just deters from the surface quality of the meat....so your timing for marinating is spot on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lanibobonnie April 18, 2009

This was a very tasty marinade! My hubby really loved it! I like that it wasn't overpowering to the beef, yet added a very nice flavor - and the meat was nice and tender. Next time I'll probably add a bit more garlic, but this will be used often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heath*J March 30, 2009

This is a great marinade! It's flavors blend together subtly......so you don't have an overpowering flavor of marinade, and you still taste the BEEF......and let's face it.....why pay all that money for beef, if you're going to cover it up with marinade? I have made this one several times now, and it has become my "default" marinade. Thanks, Chris!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted August 26, 2007
Marvelous Marinated London Broil